Windows Vista Tips

Windows Vista Tips > Newsgroups > Windows Server > File Systems > Adding additional namespace servers...

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

Adding additional namespace servers...

 
 
Adam
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      08-28-2008
Hello. I recently transitioned my 3 DC's from Windows 2003 R2 to Windows
2008 Standard. I was able to create a DFS namespace on my primary DC, but
not able to add additional namespaces on either of my other two DC's. When
I do "Add Namespace Server..." option, it lets me go through the process, but
fails at "commit changes".

The tasks popup, has green check box with "contacting the server", "verify
server name", "validate shared folder", "check Distributed File System
service status", "create the shared folder if it does not exisit", but red X
on "commit changes".

Any ideas appreciated. Thanks.

-Adam
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
HonorPaladin
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      09-14-2008
Hi,

this is surely because you have choose the windows 2008 mode and your
server is 'only' a windows 2008 standard edition. Choose the windows 2000
mixt mode and this is good (i have verifiy this in virtual environement).

Bye,
Bruno V - Honorpaladin
Between France and Luxemburg


"Adam" wrote:

> Hello. I recently transitioned my 3 DC's from Windows 2003 R2 to Windows
> 2008 Standard. I was able to create a DFS namespace on my primary DC, but
> not able to add additional namespaces on either of my other two DC's. When
> I do "Add Namespace Server..." option, it lets me go through the process, but
> fails at "commit changes".
>
> The tasks popup, has green check box with "contacting the server", "verify
> server name", "validate shared folder", "check Distributed File System
> service status", "create the shared folder if it does not exisit", but red X
> on "commit changes".
>
> Any ideas appreciated. Thanks.
>
> -Adam

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Adam
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      09-15-2008
Hello Bruno,

Thanks for replying.

I do not think I change my DFS mode back to 2000 after upgrading to 2008
(unless I rebuild my domain). :-(

-Adam

"HonorPaladin" wrote:

> Hi,
>
> this is surely because you have choose the windows 2008 mode and your
> server is 'only' a windows 2008 standard edition. Choose the windows 2000
> mixt mode and this is good (i have verifiy this in virtual environement).
>
> Bye,
> Bruno V - Honorpaladin
> Between France and Luxemburg
>
>
> "Adam" wrote:
>
> > Hello. I recently transitioned my 3 DC's from Windows 2003 R2 to Windows
> > 2008 Standard. I was able to create a DFS namespace on my primary DC, but
> > not able to add additional namespaces on either of my other two DC's. When
> > I do "Add Namespace Server..." option, it lets me go through the process, but
> > fails at "commit changes".
> >
> > The tasks popup, has green check box with "contacting the server", "verify
> > server name", "validate shared folder", "check Distributed File System
> > service status", "create the shared folder if it does not exisit", but red X
> > on "commit changes".
> >
> > Any ideas appreciated. Thanks.
> >
> > -Adam

 
Reply With Quote
 
HonorPaladin
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      09-16-2008
Hi,

the problem is that windows 2008 standard don't accept to create a DFS in
a domain mode (windows 2008 mode) that can permitted to create after many
namespaces... is only possible with 2008 Entreprise edition,

i have this error in my test network when i would choose to create my
first namespace in 2008 mode,

you is a bit different because you would create a second namespace but in
the fact the more important here is that you have some 'standard' editions of
Windows server and it's not possible to create more than one namespace :/

Bruno V - Honorpaladin

"Adam" wrote:

> Hello Bruno,
>
> Thanks for replying.
>
> I do not think I change my DFS mode back to 2000 after upgrading to 2008
> (unless I rebuild my domain). :-(
>
> -Adam
>
> "HonorPaladin" wrote:
>
> > Hi,
> >
> > this is surely because you have choose the windows 2008 mode and your
> > server is 'only' a windows 2008 standard edition. Choose the windows 2000
> > mixt mode and this is good (i have verifiy this in virtual environement).
> >
> > Bye,
> > Bruno V - Honorpaladin
> > Between France and Luxemburg
> >
> >
> > "Adam" wrote:
> >
> > > Hello. I recently transitioned my 3 DC's from Windows 2003 R2 to Windows
> > > 2008 Standard. I was able to create a DFS namespace on my primary DC, but
> > > not able to add additional namespaces on either of my other two DC's. When
> > > I do "Add Namespace Server..." option, it lets me go through the process, but
> > > fails at "commit changes".
> > >
> > > The tasks popup, has green check box with "contacting the server", "verify
> > > server name", "validate shared folder", "check Distributed File System
> > > service status", "create the shared folder if it does not exisit", but red X
> > > on "commit changes".
> > >
> > > Any ideas appreciated. Thanks.
> > >
> > > -Adam

 
Reply With Quote
 
Adam
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      09-16-2008
Bruno,

Do I have to upgrade all my versions of "Windows 2008 Standard" to "Windows
2008 Enterprise"? Or can I just upgrade one of them?

Thanks.

-Adam

"HonorPaladin" wrote:

> Hi,
>
> the problem is that windows 2008 standard don't accept to create a DFS in
> a domain mode (windows 2008 mode) that can permitted to create after many
> namespaces... is only possible with 2008 Entreprise edition,
>
> i have this error in my test network when i would choose to create my
> first namespace in 2008 mode,
>
> you is a bit different because you would create a second namespace but in
> the fact the more important here is that you have some 'standard' editions of
> Windows server and it's not possible to create more than one namespace :/
>
> Bruno V - Honorpaladin


 
Reply With Quote
 
DaveMills
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      09-16-2008
On Tue, 16 Sep 2008 11:52:09 -0700, Adam <> wrote:

>Bruno,
>
>Do I have to upgrade all my versions of "Windows 2008 Standard" to "Windows
>2008 Enterprise"? Or can I just upgrade one of them?


Interestingly there was a patch for W2003 standard to get round this.
http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;903651
I wonder if it works on W2008 or there is a new patch, or none :-(
>
>Thanks.
>
>-Adam
>
>"HonorPaladin" wrote:
>
>> Hi,
>>
>> the problem is that windows 2008 standard don't accept to create a DFS in
>> a domain mode (windows 2008 mode) that can permitted to create after many
>> namespaces... is only possible with 2008 Entreprise edition,
>>
>> i have this error in my test network when i would choose to create my
>> first namespace in 2008 mode,
>>
>> you is a bit different because you would create a second namespace but in
>> the fact the more important here is that you have some 'standard' editions of
>> Windows server and it's not possible to create more than one namespace :/
>>
>> Bruno V - Honorpaladin

--
Dave Mills
There are 10 types of people, those that understand binary and those that don't.
 
Reply With Quote
 
Adam
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      09-18-2008
The "patch" might be upgrading to Windows Server 2008 Enterprise. :=(

So if I want DFS namespace redundancy (on two different servers), those
servers have to be the Enterprise version?

Thanks.

-Adam

"DaveMills" wrote:

> On Tue, 16 Sep 2008 11:52:09 -0700, Adam <> wrote:
>
> >Bruno,
> >
> >Do I have to upgrade all my versions of "Windows 2008 Standard" to "Windows
> >2008 Enterprise"? Or can I just upgrade one of them?

>
> Interestingly there was a patch for W2003 standard to get round this.
> http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;903651
> I wonder if it works on W2008 or there is a new patch, or none :-(
> >
> >Thanks.
> >
> >-Adam
> >
> >"HonorPaladin" wrote:
> >
> >> Hi,
> >>
> >> the problem is that windows 2008 standard don't accept to create a DFS in
> >> a domain mode (windows 2008 mode) that can permitted to create after many
> >> namespaces... is only possible with 2008 Entreprise edition,
> >>
> >> i have this error in my test network when i would choose to create my
> >> first namespace in 2008 mode,
> >>
> >> you is a bit different because you would create a second namespace but in
> >> the fact the more important here is that you have some 'standard' editions of
> >> Windows server and it's not possible to create more than one namespace :/
> >>
> >> Bruno V - Honorpaladin

> --
> Dave Mills
> There are 10 types of people, those that understand binary and those that don't.
>

 
Reply With Quote
 
Adam
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      09-18-2008
I just upgraded my test server to Windows Server 2008 Enterprise and tried to
put a second DFSroot on that server. Unfortunately, I get the same error
(from my first post). So its it safe to assume that the two servers with
DFSroots both need to be the Enterprise version?

-Adam

"Adam" wrote:

> The "patch" might be upgrading to Windows Server 2008 Enterprise. :=(
>
> So if I want DFS namespace redundancy (on two different servers), those
> servers have to be the Enterprise version?
>
> Thanks.
>
> -Adam


 
Reply With Quote
 
DaveMills
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      09-20-2008
On Thu, 18 Sep 2008 12:15:02 -0700, Adam <> wrote:

>The "patch" might be upgrading to Windows Server 2008 Enterprise. :=(
>
>So if I want DFS namespace redundancy (on two different servers), those
>servers have to be the Enterprise version?

Clarify what is it you want, two different name spaces i.e. \\domain\rootA and
\\domain\rootB or one name space \\domain\rootA replicated onto more than one
server. The former requires the Enterprise version, the latter does not.

>
>Thanks.
>
>-Adam
>
>"DaveMills" wrote:
>
>> On Tue, 16 Sep 2008 11:52:09 -0700, Adam <> wrote:
>>
>> >Bruno,
>> >
>> >Do I have to upgrade all my versions of "Windows 2008 Standard" to "Windows
>> >2008 Enterprise"? Or can I just upgrade one of them?

>>
>> Interestingly there was a patch for W2003 standard to get round this.
>> http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;903651
>> I wonder if it works on W2008 or there is a new patch, or none :-(
>> >
>> >Thanks.
>> >
>> >-Adam
>> >
>> >"HonorPaladin" wrote:
>> >
>> >> Hi,
>> >>
>> >> the problem is that windows 2008 standard don't accept to create a DFS in
>> >> a domain mode (windows 2008 mode) that can permitted to create after many
>> >> namespaces... is only possible with 2008 Entreprise edition,
>> >>
>> >> i have this error in my test network when i would choose to create my
>> >> first namespace in 2008 mode,
>> >>
>> >> you is a bit different because you would create a second namespace but in
>> >> the fact the more important here is that you have some 'standard' editions of
>> >> Windows server and it's not possible to create more than one namespace :/
>> >>
>> >> Bruno V - Honorpaladin

>> --
>> Dave Mills
>> There are 10 types of people, those that understand binary and those that don't.
>>

--
Dave Mills
There are 10 types of people, those that understand binary and those that don't.
 
Reply With Quote
 
Adam
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      09-21-2008
Just one namespace replicated on two servers for redundancy.

Ie. \\server1\shares and \\server2\shares both pointing to dfs
\\domain\shares

Thanks.

-Adam


"DaveMills" wrote:

> On Thu, 18 Sep 2008 12:15:02 -0700, Adam <> wrote:
>
> >The "patch" might be upgrading to Windows Server 2008 Enterprise. :=(
> >
> >So if I want DFS namespace redundancy (on two different servers), those
> >servers have to be the Enterprise version?

> Clarify what is it you want, two different name spaces i.e. \\domain\rootA and
> \\domain\rootB or one name space \\domain\rootA replicated onto more than one
> server. The former requires the Enterprise version, the latter does not.
>
> >
> >Thanks.
> >
> >-Adam


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error when adding additional Namespace Server (Server 2003 R2) Steve File Systems 2 09-03-2009 04:05 PM
SBS 2003 with additional terminalserver and additional dwh-server Andy Windows Small Business Server 7 02-07-2008 09:42 AM
i cant create a new namespace, one namespace exist and i have deleted before okey File Systems 3 10-16-2006 03:42 PM
Re: Unable to add additional namespace servers Jill Zoeller [MSFT] File Systems 2 08-01-2006 08:55 PM