Windows Vista Tips

Windows Vista Tips > Newsgroups > Internet Explorer > Can't Enter Password in IE10

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

Can't Enter Password in IE10

 
 
Tinkerer
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      05-06-2013
A friend lives 90 miles away and orders his groceries on line. All of
a sudden, for the past week or so, he can enter his email address on
the login page but IE will not accept anything he tries to type into
the password field. However, if I use Crossloop to connect to his
computer I can type in the password and log him in. I then disconnect
and he is able to go through the ordering process without any problem.
In all other respects IE is working fine. This one has me stumped.
Any ideas out there?

--
Tinkerer
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
SC Tom
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      05-06-2013


"Tinkerer" <> wrote in message
news:...
> A friend lives 90 miles away and orders his groceries on line. All of
> a sudden, for the past week or so, he can enter his email address on
> the login page but IE will not accept anything he tries to type into
> the password field. However, if I use Crossloop to connect to his
> computer I can type in the password and log him in. I then disconnect
> and he is able to go through the ordering process without any problem.
> In all other respects IE is working fine. This one has me stumped.
> Any ideas out there?
>

Other than maybe his caps lock is on, I got nothing. I've never seen that
behavior in any version of IE.
--
SC Tom


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Rodney Pont
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      05-07-2013
On Mon, 6 May 2013 19:39:25 +0000 (UTC), Tinkerer wrote:

>A friend lives 90 miles away and orders his groceries on line. All of
>a sudden, for the past week or so, he can enter his email address on
>the login page but IE will not accept anything he tries to type into
>the password field. However, if I use Crossloop to connect to his
>computer I can type in the password and log him in. I then disconnect
>and he is able to go through the ordering process without any problem.
>In all other respects IE is working fine. This one has me stumped.
>Any ideas out there?


Use notepad and get him to type his password into that so that you can
make sure all of his keys are working.

--
Regards - Rodney Pont
The from address exists but is mostly dumped,
please send any emails to the address below
e-mail rpont (at) gmail (dot) com


 
Reply With Quote
 
Tinkerer
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      05-07-2013
Rodney Pont wrote:

> On Mon, 6 May 2013 19:39:25 +0000 (UTC), Tinkerer wrote:
>
> > A friend lives 90 miles away and orders his groceries on line. All
> > of a sudden, for the past week or so, he can enter his email
> > address on the login page but IE will not accept anything he tries
> > to type into the password field. However, if I use Crossloop to
> > connect to his computer I can type in the password and log him in.
> > I then disconnect and he is able to go through the ordering process
> > without any problem. In all other respects IE is working fine.
> > This one has me stumped. Any ideas out there?

>
> Use notepad and get him to type his password into that so that you can
> make sure all of his keys are working.


I will certainly suggest that but, as he is still able to carry out all
his ordering and type his sermon (he is a deacon) it is unlikely to be
the keyboard. I will report back.

--
Tinkerer
 
Reply With Quote
 
Tinkerer
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      05-20-2013
Tinkerer wrote:

> A friend lives 90 miles away and orders his groceries on line. All of
> a sudden, for the past week or so, he can enter his email address on
> the login page but IE will not accept anything he tries to type into
> the password field. However, if I use Crossloop to connect to his
> computer I can type in the password and log him in. I then
> disconnect and he is able to go through the ordering process without
> any problem. In all other respects IE is working fine. This one
> has me stumped. Any ideas out there?


I have found the cause of the problem and will post it here in case
others experience it. The culprit was Kaspersky Internet Security.
They have introduced a new feature called Safe Money which also
includes the option of using their virtual keyboard to enter passwords
and this option is set as the default. However it failed to display
the virtual keyboard and disabled the real one when attempts were made
to enter the password. We tried activating the virtual keyboard
manually but it still wouldn't play ball. The answer was to disable
Safe Money. A shame but if it is going to prevent the machine working
properly then it becomes a liability rather than a benefit.

--
Tinkerer
 
Reply With Quote
 
Mark F
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      05-22-2013
On Mon, 20 May 2013 17:05:24 +0000 (UTC), "Tinkerer"
<> wrote:

> Tinkerer wrote:
>
> > A friend lives 90 miles away and orders his groceries on line. All of
> > a sudden, for the past week or so, he can enter his email address on
> > the login page but IE will not accept anything he tries to type into
> > the password field. However, if I use Crossloop to connect to his
> > computer I can type in the password and log him in.

So, if I understand correctly, the real in person user can't enter the
password, but a remote user that might possibly be connected to the
computer without the presence of an actual in person user, can enter
the password. Isn't that what the security software is supposed to
be providing protection for?
> > I then
> > disconnect and he is able to go through the ordering process without
> > any problem. In all other respects IE is working fine. This one
> > has me stumped. Any ideas out there?

>
> I have found the cause of the problem and will post it here in case
> others experience it. The culprit was Kaspersky Internet Security.
> They have introduced a new feature called Safe Money which also
> includes the option of using their virtual keyboard to enter passwords
> and this option is set as the default. However it failed to display
> the virtual keyboard and disabled the real one when attempts were made
> to enter the password. We tried activating the virtual keyboard
> manually but it still wouldn't play ball. The answer was to disable
> Safe Money. A shame but if it is going to prevent the machine working
> properly then it becomes a liability rather than a benefit.

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IE10 _ Removing Unwanted Addresses From Login Dropdown? charliec@email.com Internet Explorer 4 04-21-2013 10:31 PM
no possibility to enter the administrator password when asked for jaap Windows Vista Administration 2 10-03-2007 02:36 AM
How to change enter to ctrl-enter ? Tong Windows Live Messenger 3 10-01-2007 03:34 AM
Cannot Enter A Password On Logon Screen Andyroo79 Windows Vista Administration 3 06-12-2007 02:26 AM
Vista Ultimate x64 Will Not Enter Sleep Mode but will Enter Hibern reductant Windows Vista General Discussion 4 05-07-2007 09:41 AM