Windows Vista Tips

Windows Vista Tips > Newsgroups > Windows Vista Performance > computer freeze

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

computer freeze

 
 
justenuff
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      02-11-2007
So, my computer w/ Vista (came loaded) has froze up 13 times in the past
three days that I have had it. I'm not using it for games, just several,
regular applications. When it freezes, I can't ctrl+alt+del to get the
taskbar. The mouse also freezes, so I can't get to the taskbar to activate
task manager either. I think I ran across something that concerns a Windows
auto repair problems when programs have issues. Can I override this? Does
anyone know about this or have had a similar program?
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Malke
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      02-11-2007
justenuff wrote:
> So, my computer w/ Vista (came loaded) has froze up 13 times in the past
> three days that I have had it. I'm not using it for games, just several,
> regular applications. When it freezes, I can't ctrl+alt+del to get the
> taskbar. The mouse also freezes, so I can't get to the taskbar to activate
> task manager either. I think I ran across something that concerns a Windows
> auto repair problems when programs have issues. Can I override this? Does
> anyone know about this or have had a similar program?


I would do a couple of things:

1. You didn't mention any program names. I would go to the program
mftrs.' websites and make sure the programs you are using are
Vista-compatible. Check for patches, workarounds, known issues.

2. If these are common programs that should be Vista-compatible, you can
Google the Vista newsgroups from Google Groups Advanced Search and see
if anyone else is having a problem. You can also post here with the
names and versions of the programs.

3. If you can determine that the programs are probably not the issue,
then contact your computer mftr. because locking up like you describe is
often caused by flaky RAM or other hardware issues. Any hardware
problems will be covered under your warranty and you should not wait to
have the OEM address this. Generally if hardware is going to fail it
will do so very soon when new or go forever. So even though your
computer is new, that is no guarantee that the hardware isn't bad.


Malke
--
Elephant Boy Computers
www.elephantboycomputers.com
"Don't Panic!"
MS-MVP Windows - Shell/User
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
md
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      03-15-2007
same thing happening here since loading vista. dell is working with me on
the problem but no solution yet.


"justenuff" wrote:

> So, my computer w/ Vista (came loaded) has froze up 13 times in the past
> three days that I have had it. I'm not using it for games, just several,
> regular applications. When it freezes, I can't ctrl+alt+del to get the
> taskbar. The mouse also freezes, so I can't get to the taskbar to activate
> task manager either. I think I ran across something that concerns a Windows
> auto repair problems when programs have issues. Can I override this? Does
> anyone know about this or have had a similar program?

 
Reply With Quote
 
Aaron
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      04-05-2007
Anyone had any luck solving this problem?

I also have the exact same issue - built the computer myself with parts from
Newegg.

The freeze is, seemingly, completely random. No obvious pattern to when it
happens. I've gone two or three days with nothing, and then had three over
the course of three hours.

I have a hard time buying that it's bad hardware. It isn't impossible, but
it strikes me as unlikely.

"md" wrote:

> same thing happening here since loading vista. dell is working with me on
> the problem but no solution yet.
>
>
> "justenuff" wrote:
>
> > So, my computer w/ Vista (came loaded) has froze up 13 times in the past
> > three days that I have had it. I'm not using it for games, just several,
> > regular applications. When it freezes, I can't ctrl+alt+del to get the
> > taskbar. The mouse also freezes, so I can't get to the taskbar to activate
> > task manager either. I think I ran across something that concerns a Windows
> > auto repair problems when programs have issues. Can I override this? Does
> > anyone know about this or have had a similar program?

 
Reply With Quote
 
tater930
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      11-28-2007


"justenuff" wrote:

> So, my computer w/ Vista (came loaded) has froze up 13 times in the past
> three days that I have had it. I'm not using it for games, just several,
> regular applications. When it freezes, I can't ctrl+alt+del to get the
> taskbar. The mouse also freezes, so I can't get to the taskbar to activate
> task manager either. I think I ran across something that concerns a Windows
> auto repair problems when programs have issues. Can I override this? Does
> anyone know about this or have had a similar program?

 
Reply With Quote
 
MickyB
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      06-21-2008
Same. I got a brand new computer and it freezes about 90% of the time even
when I have nothing open at all.

"tater930" wrote:

>
>
> "justenuff" wrote:
>
> > So, my computer w/ Vista (came loaded) has froze up 13 times in the past
> > three days that I have had it. I'm not using it for games, just several,
> > regular applications. When it freezes, I can't ctrl+alt+del to get the
> > taskbar. The mouse also freezes, so I can't get to the taskbar to activate
> > task manager either. I think I ran across something that concerns a Windows
> > auto repair problems when programs have issues. Can I override this? Does
> > anyone know about this or have had a similar program?

 
Reply With Quote
 
Richard G. Harper
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      06-22-2008
Then return it for warranty repair or replacement. That's almost surely not
a Vista problem if the unit is brand new.

--
Richard G. Harper [MVP Shell/User]
* NEW! Catch my blog ... http://msmvps.com/blogs/rgharper/
* PLEASE post all messages and replies in the newsgroups
* The Website - http://rgharper.mvps.org/


"MickyB" <> wrote in message
news:E5629CBB-9DA8-4C20-B80C-...
> Same. I got a brand new computer and it freezes about 90% of the time even
> when I have nothing open at all.
>
> "tater930" wrote:
>
>>
>>
>> "justenuff" wrote:
>>
>> > So, my computer w/ Vista (came loaded) has froze up 13 times in the
>> > past
>> > three days that I have had it. I'm not using it for games, just
>> > several,
>> > regular applications. When it freezes, I can't ctrl+alt+del to get the
>> > taskbar. The mouse also freezes, so I can't get to the taskbar to
>> > activate
>> > task manager either. I think I ran across something that concerns a
>> > Windows
>> > auto repair problems when programs have issues. Can I override this?
>> > Does
>> > anyone know about this or have had a similar program?


 
Reply With Quote
 
MickyB
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      06-24-2008
Found the problem on mine. It was vista. I simply did a freash install of
vista and unchecked the box about installing updates. It was one of the
update things that was causing it.

"Richard G. Harper" wrote:

> Then return it for warranty repair or replacement. That's almost surely not
> a Vista problem if the unit is brand new.
>
> --
> Richard G. Harper [MVP Shell/User]
> * NEW! Catch my blog ... http://msmvps.com/blogs/rgharper/
> * PLEASE post all messages and replies in the newsgroups
> * The Website - http://rgharper.mvps.org/
>
>
> "MickyB" <> wrote in message
> news:E5629CBB-9DA8-4C20-B80C-...
> > Same. I got a brand new computer and it freezes about 90% of the time even
> > when I have nothing open at all.
> >
> > "tater930" wrote:
> >
> >>
> >>
> >> "justenuff" wrote:
> >>
> >> > So, my computer w/ Vista (came loaded) has froze up 13 times in the
> >> > past
> >> > three days that I have had it. I'm not using it for games, just
> >> > several,
> >> > regular applications. When it freezes, I can't ctrl+alt+del to get the
> >> > taskbar. The mouse also freezes, so I can't get to the taskbar to
> >> > activate
> >> > task manager either. I think I ran across something that concerns a
> >> > Windows
> >> > auto repair problems when programs have issues. Can I override this?
> >> > Does
> >> > anyone know about this or have had a similar program?

>

 
Reply With Quote
 
ScribblingJan
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      01-26-2009
Same thing is happening to me (and hundreds/thousands of others if you google
and each with different machines... only commonality is Vista) on all 3 of my
new Vista PCs... 2 laptops and a desktop (Sony Vaio, Acer, etc).

All machines are different, only run MS products yet still the OS keeps
freezing as described by all these Vista users.

When are MS going to admit there's a problem and fix it?

Jan

"Malke" wrote:

> justenuff wrote:
> > So, my computer w/ Vista (came loaded) has froze up 13 times in the past
> > three days that I have had it. I'm not using it for games, just several,
> > regular applications. When it freezes, I can't ctrl+alt+del to get the
> > taskbar. The mouse also freezes, so I can't get to the taskbar to activate
> > task manager either. I think I ran across something that concerns a Windows
> > auto repair problems when programs have issues. Can I override this? Does
> > anyone know about this or have had a similar program?

>
> I would do a couple of things:
>
> 1. You didn't mention any program names. I would go to the program
> mftrs.' websites and make sure the programs you are using are
> Vista-compatible. Check for patches, workarounds, known issues.
>
> 2. If these are common programs that should be Vista-compatible, you can
> Google the Vista newsgroups from Google Groups Advanced Search and see
> if anyone else is having a problem. You can also post here with the
> names and versions of the programs.
>
> 3. If you can determine that the programs are probably not the issue,
> then contact your computer mftr. because locking up like you describe is
> often caused by flaky RAM or other hardware issues. Any hardware
> problems will be covered under your warranty and you should not wait to
> have the OEM address this. Generally if hardware is going to fail it
> will do so very soon when new or go forever. So even though your
> computer is new, that is no guarantee that the hardware isn't bad.
>
>
> Malke
> --
> Elephant Boy Computers
> www.elephantboycomputers.com
> "Don't Panic!"
> MS-MVP Windows - Shell/User
>

 
Reply With Quote
 
jim jc
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      11-25-2010
strongly suggest you to have a try at tuneup360. i've been using it for several months, and my computer never get freezed since then~.

> On Sunday, February 11, 2007 12:45 AM justenuf wrote:


> So, my computer w/ Vista (came loaded) has froze up 13 times in the past
> three days that I have had it. I'm not using it for games, just several,
> regular applications. When it freezes, I can't ctrl+alt+del to get the
> taskbar. The mouse also freezes, so I can't get to the taskbar to activate
> task manager either. I think I ran across something that concerns a Windows
> auto repair problems when programs have issues. Can I override this? Does
> anyone know about this or have had a similar program?



>> On Sunday, February 11, 2007 8:48 AM Malke wrote:


>> justenuff wrote:
>>
>> I would do a couple of things:
>>
>> 1. You didn't mention any program names. I would go to the program
>> mftrs.' websites and make sure the programs you are using are
>> Vista-compatible. Check for patches, workarounds, known issues.
>>
>> 2. If these are common programs that should be Vista-compatible, you can
>> Google the Vista newsgroups from Google Groups Advanced Search and see
>> if anyone else is having a problem. You can also post here with the
>> names and versions of the programs.
>>
>> 3. If you can determine that the programs are probably not the issue,
>> then contact your computer mftr. because locking up like you describe is
>> often caused by flaky RAM or other hardware issues. Any hardware
>> problems will be covered under your warranty and you should not wait to
>> have the OEM address this. Generally if hardware is going to fail it
>> will do so very soon when new or go forever. So even though your
>> computer is new, that is no guarantee that the hardware isn't bad.
>>
>>
>> Malke
>> --
>> Elephant Boy Computers
>> www.elephantboycomputers.com
>> "Don't Panic!"
>> MS-MVP Windows - Shell/User



>>> On Wednesday, March 14, 2007 8:55 PM m wrote:


>>> same thing happening here since loading vista. dell is working with me on
>>> the problem but no solution yet.
>>>
>>>
>>> "justenuff" wrote:



>>>> On Wednesday, April 04, 2007 9:00 PM Aaro wrote:


>>>> Anyone had any luck solving this problem?
>>>>
>>>> I also have the exact same issue - built the computer myself with parts from
>>>> Newegg.
>>>>
>>>> The freeze is, seemingly, completely random. No obvious pattern to when it
>>>> happens. I've gone two or three days with nothing, and then had three over
>>>> the course of three hours.
>>>>
>>>> I have a hard time buying that it's bad hardware. It isn't impossible, but
>>>> it strikes me as unlikely.
>>>>
>>>> "md" wrote:



>>>>> On Tuesday, November 27, 2007 10:23 PM tater93 wrote:


>>>>> "justenuff" wrote:



>>>>>> On Monday, January 26, 2009 1:22 PM ScribblingJa wrote:


>>>>>> Same thing is happening to me (and hundreds/thousands of others if you google
>>>>>> and each with different machines... only commonality is Vista) on all 3 of my
>>>>>> new Vista PCs... 2 laptops and a desktop (Sony Vaio, Acer, etc).
>>>>>>
>>>>>> All machines are different, only run MS products yet still the OS keeps
>>>>>> freezing as described by all these Vista users.
>>>>>>
>>>>>> When are MS going to admit there's a problem and fix it?
>>>>>>
>>>>>> Jan
>>>>>>
>>>>>> "Malke" wrote:



>>>>>> Submitted via EggHeadCafe
>>>>>> Using DataList to List Category/Subcategory with expand - collapse facility via javascript
>>>>>> http://www.eggheadcafe.com/tutorials...avascript.aspx

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
atikmdag error message/computer freeze. casey Windows Vista General Discussion 42 03-23-2009 01:21 AM
file causes computer to freeze when scanned for virus bpteach Windows Vista General Discussion 0 01-16-2008 03:41 AM
Gadgets freeze up computer Chad Nelson Windows Vista General Discussion 0 04-14-2007 07:24 AM
After booting, many operations freeze computer for about 15 minute A L Windows Vista General Discussion 12 01-08-2007 04:11 AM
Re: Remote reboot on freeze / autoreboot on freeze of server application Michael Jenkin [SBS-MVP] Windows Small Business Server 1 10-15-2006 02:09 AM