Windows Vista Tips

Windows Vista Tips > Newsgroups > Windows Vista Drivers > Correct version of DPInst.exe to use for Windows/Vista 32/64 bit

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

Correct version of DPInst.exe to use for Windows/Vista 32/64 bit

 
 
GK
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-17-2009
I am new to drivers and driver installers, so excuse me if this question is
too basic

We use the FTDI driver version 2.4.16 that supports both 32-bit and 64-bit
Windows. For installing this driver we are using DPInst.exe

According to this website:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms790308.aspx

DPInst version 2.1 supports later Windows and Vista versions. Does this mean
64-bit Windows/Vista also?

Or should I download one version for 32 bit and another for 64-bit
Windows/Vista, as said here:

http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/driver...t_install.mspx

I would appreciate any help on this.

Thanks.


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Tim Roberts
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-20-2009
GK <> wrote:

>I am new to drivers and driver installers, so excuse me if this question is
>too basic
>
>We use the FTDI driver version 2.4.16 that supports both 32-bit and 64-bit
>Windows.


Well, it's not the SAME driver. 32-bit and 64-bit require different driver
binaries.

>For installing this driver we are using DPInst.exe
>...
>DPInst version 2.1 supports later Windows and Vista versions. Does this mean
>64-bit Windows/Vista also?
>
>Or should I download one version for 32 bit and another for 64-bit
>Windows/Vista, as said here:


You should use a 64-bit DPInst on a 64-bit system. I don't have actual
evidence that the 32-bit DPInst does not work, but I *do* know that
installing drivers with the 32-bit DevCon causes confusing results. It
appears to work, but the setup is not complete. Some parts of the install
process only work from a 64-bit process.

Both come with the WDK, so it's not a hardship.
--
Tim Roberts,
Providenza & Boekelheide, Inc.
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
GK
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-20-2009


"Tim Roberts" wrote:

> GK <> wrote:
>
> >I am new to drivers and driver installers, so excuse me if this question is
> >too basic
> >
> >We use the FTDI driver version 2.4.16 that supports both 32-bit and 64-bit
> >Windows.

>
> Well, it's not the SAME driver. 32-bit and 64-bit require different driver
> binaries.
>
> >For installing this driver we are using DPInst.exe
> >...
> >DPInst version 2.1 supports later Windows and Vista versions. Does this mean
> >64-bit Windows/Vista also?
> >
> >Or should I download one version for 32 bit and another for 64-bit
> >Windows/Vista, as said here:

>
> You should use a 64-bit DPInst on a 64-bit system. I don't have actual
> evidence that the 32-bit DPInst does not work, but I *do* know that
> installing drivers with the 32-bit DevCon causes confusing results. It
> appears to work, but the setup is not complete. Some parts of the install
> process only work from a 64-bit process.
>
> Both come with the WDK, so it's not a hardship.
> --
> Tim Roberts,
> Providenza & Boekelheide, Inc.


Tim,
Thanks for responding. This answers my question fully.

Where can I download the 64-bit DPInst.exe from?

Thanks,
GK.

 
Reply With Quote
 
Mike [MSFT]
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-20-2009
It should be provided with the WDK.

-Mike

"GK" <> wrote in message
news:2832BEEF-7EA2-4992-98B6-...
>
>
> "Tim Roberts" wrote:
>
>> GK <> wrote:
>>
>> >I am new to drivers and driver installers, so excuse me if this question
>> >is
>> >too basic
>> >
>> >We use the FTDI driver version 2.4.16 that supports both 32-bit and
>> >64-bit
>> >Windows.

>>
>> Well, it's not the SAME driver. 32-bit and 64-bit require different
>> driver
>> binaries.
>>
>> >For installing this driver we are using DPInst.exe
>> >...
>> >DPInst version 2.1 supports later Windows and Vista versions. Does this
>> >mean
>> >64-bit Windows/Vista also?
>> >
>> >Or should I download one version for 32 bit and another for 64-bit
>> >Windows/Vista, as said here:

>>
>> You should use a 64-bit DPInst on a 64-bit system. I don't have actual
>> evidence that the 32-bit DPInst does not work, but I *do* know that
>> installing drivers with the 32-bit DevCon causes confusing results. It
>> appears to work, but the setup is not complete. Some parts of the
>> install
>> process only work from a 64-bit process.
>>
>> Both come with the WDK, so it's not a hardship.
>> --
>> Tim Roberts,
>> Providenza & Boekelheide, Inc.

>
> Tim,
> Thanks for responding. This answers my question fully.
>
> Where can I download the 64-bit DPInst.exe from?
>
> Thanks,
> GK.
>

 
Reply With Quote
 
GK
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-22-2009


"Mike [MSFT]" wrote:

> It should be provided with the WDK.
>
> -Mike
>



Thank you, Mike. I ran the Kitsetup program to set up WDK. I have three
directories - amd64, ia64 and x86, with a dpinst.exe in each.

Which one should I use for 64-bit Windows/Vista? I am guessing the
amd64/ia64. I tried searching the web for information on this, but found
nothing.

For some background I am a build/packaging engineer with no idea about
device drivers. So excuse the extremely basic questions.

Regards,
GK.
 
Reply With Quote
 
Maxim S. Shatskih
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-22-2009
> Which one should I use for 64-bit Windows/Vista? I am guessing the
> amd64/ia64


amd64

--
Maxim S. Shatskih
Windows DDK MVP

http://www.storagecraft.com

 
Reply With Quote
 
GK
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-22-2009
Maxim,
Thank you VERY much!

Regards,
GK.

"Maxim S. Shatskih" wrote:

> > Which one should I use for 64-bit Windows/Vista? I am guessing the
> > amd64/ia64

>
> amd64
>
> --
> Maxim S. Shatskih
> Windows DDK MVP
>
> http://www.storagecraft.com
>
>

 
Reply With Quote
 
Tim Roberts
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-24-2009
GK <> wrote:
>
>Thank you, Mike. I ran the Kitsetup program to set up WDK. I have three
>directories - amd64, ia64 and x86, with a dpinst.exe in each.
>
>Which one should I use for 64-bit Windows/Vista? I am guessing the
>amd64/ia64. I tried searching the web for information on this, but found
>nothing.


Really? The Server editions of Windows run on three different
architectures: x86 (32-bit), x64/AMD64/EM64, and ia64 (Itanium). The
client editions (like Vista) do not support Itanium, nor does anyone else,
really.

Unless you are working in a specialty environment, when you say "64-bit
Windows", you mean the amd64 choice.
--
Tim Roberts,
Providenza & Boekelheide, Inc.
 
Reply With Quote
 
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2

 
      10-21-2012
Hi, I also having difficulties to run my hardware, Hi, when i select dpins_x86, the message appear as" YOU HAVE RUN THE 64-BIT VERSION OF DPInst.exe on this machine". Than |I choose dpinst_ia64.exe. Than the message appears as " PPP\dpinst_ia64.exe is valid, but is for a machine type other than the current machine" I really not undrstand...Can any one help me please?
 
Reply With Quote
 
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2

 
      10-21-2012
Another message appears when I select dpins_x86.exe showing "you have to run the 64-bit version of DPInst.exe on this machine. Contact the vendor that provided you this package." Does anybody have this version?
 

Last edited by Sufre; 10-21-2012 at 10:11 PM..
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Download Correct 64 bit OS Version Scott Windows Server 2 04-11-2008 01:27 PM
Re: Where to get stand alone Dot Net Framework version 1.1, version2.0, version 3.0, version 3.5, version 2.0 SP1, version 3.0 SP1 ? MowGreen [MVP] Windows Update 6 02-09-2008 01:55 AM
Re: Where to get stand alone Dot Net Framework version 1.1, version 2.0, version 3.0, version 3.5, version 2.0 SP1, version 3.0 SP1 ? PA Bear [MS MVP] Windows Update 0 02-05-2008 03:28 AM
Re: Where to get stand alone Dot Net Framework version 1.1, version 2.0, version 3.0, version 3.5, version 2.0 SP1, version 3.0 SP1 ? V Green Windows Update 0 02-05-2008 02:45 AM
Upgrade from Vista Ultimate (32 bit version) to 64 bit version? Jack Windows Vista General Discussion 24 06-21-2007 07:34 AM