Windows Vista Tips

Windows Vista Tips > Newsgroups > Windows Server > Active Directory > DC VM

Reply
 
 
skip
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      04-15-2009
Hello

Are there any issues or special considerations for running a DC/GC on
VMware? My current environment is 4 DC's that are all physical boxes, 3 are
running Windows 2008, and 1 is running windows 2003 sp2. The FFL and DFL are
2003 native mode. All DC's are DNS servers.

Thanks

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Ace Fekay [Microsoft Certified Trainer]
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      04-15-2009
"skip" <> wrote in message
news:92693507-4995-4EAC-A17D-...
> Hello
>
> Are there any issues or special considerations for running a DC/GC on
> VMware? My current environment is 4 DC's that are all physical boxes, 3
> are running Windows 2008, and 1 is running windows 2003 sp2. The FFL and
> DFL are 2003 native mode. All DC's are DNS servers.
>
> Thanks



No, not really. You can run DCs in a VM. Good way to save on hardware costs.
One thing, I don't recommend running Exchange or SQL, or any other heavy
resource hitting application in a VM or expect complaints from users.

To setup a DC in a VM, it is a little difficult to get a copy of a physical
DC to a VM and would suggest to install a fresh copy of Windows (whichever
version) in the VM and promote it into the domain, then transfer FSMOs, make
it a GC, then demote the physical machines.

--
Ace

This posting is provided "AS-IS" with no warranties or guarantees and
confers no rights.

Ace Fekay, MCSE 2003 & 2000, MCSA 2003 & 2000, MCSA Messaging, MCT
Microsoft Certified Trainer


For urgent issues, you may want to contact Microsoft PSS directly. Please
check http://support.microsoft.com for regional support phone numbers.

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
skip
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      04-15-2009
cool, thanks ACE!
"Ace Fekay [Microsoft Certified Trainer]" <>
wrote in message news:...
> "skip" <> wrote in message
> news:92693507-4995-4EAC-A17D-...
>> Hello
>>
>> Are there any issues or special considerations for running a DC/GC on
>> VMware? My current environment is 4 DC's that are all physical boxes, 3
>> are running Windows 2008, and 1 is running windows 2003 sp2. The FFL and
>> DFL are 2003 native mode. All DC's are DNS servers.
>>
>> Thanks

>
>
> No, not really. You can run DCs in a VM. Good way to save on hardware
> costs. One thing, I don't recommend running Exchange or SQL, or any other
> heavy resource hitting application in a VM or expect complaints from
> users.
>
> To setup a DC in a VM, it is a little difficult to get a copy of a
> physical DC to a VM and would suggest to install a fresh copy of Windows
> (whichever version) in the VM and promote it into the domain, then
> transfer FSMOs, make it a GC, then demote the physical machines.
>
> --
> Ace
>
> This posting is provided "AS-IS" with no warranties or guarantees and
> confers no rights.
>
> Ace Fekay, MCSE 2003 & 2000, MCSA 2003 & 2000, MCSA Messaging, MCT
> Microsoft Certified Trainer
>
>
> For urgent issues, you may want to contact Microsoft PSS directly. Please
> check http://support.microsoft.com for regional support phone numbers.
>


 
Reply With Quote
 
Ace Fekay [Microsoft Certified Trainer]
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      04-15-2009
"skip" <> wrote in message
news:C85409CC-73DB-496E-BE14-...
> cool, thanks ACE!


My pleaasure!!

Ace

 
Reply With Quote
 
Meinolf Weber [MVP-DS]
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      04-15-2009
Hello skip,

No you can run DC's in a VM. Keep in mind for backup, that you can not just
save the virtual dsik file from a DC and use it later on. Then you will run
in USN rollback. You have to backup AD in the "Microsoft way".
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/875495

Additional see here:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/888794

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en

http://blogs.dirteam.com/blogs/sande...ts-part-1.aspx

http://blogs.dirteam.com/blogs/sande...ts-part-2.aspx

http://blogs.dirteam.com/blogs/sande...ts-part-3.aspx

Best regards

Meinolf Weber
Disclaimer: This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers
no rights.
** Please do NOT email, only reply to Newsgroups
** HELP us help YOU!!! http://www.blakjak.demon.co.uk/mul_crss.htm


> Hello
>
> Are there any issues or special considerations for running a DC/GC on
> VMware? My current environment is 4 DC's that are all physical boxes,
> 3 are running Windows 2008, and 1 is running windows 2003 sp2. The FFL
> and DFL are 2003 native mode. All DC's are DNS servers.
>
> Thanks
>



 
Reply With Quote
 
Marcin
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      04-15-2009
As Meinolf and Ace have stated, there are no technical obstacles to running
DC/GCs on VMware (with exception of potential USN rollbacks) - and there are
many companies that use this approach.
However, you should keep in mind supportability implications outlined in the
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/897615/

hth
Marcin

"skip" <> wrote in message
news:92693507-4995-4EAC-A17D-...
> Hello
>
> Are there any issues or special considerations for running a DC/GC on
> VMware? My current environment is 4 DC's that are all physical boxes, 3
> are running Windows 2008, and 1 is running windows 2003 sp2. The FFL and
> DFL are 2003 native mode. All DC's are DNS servers.
>
> Thanks



 
Reply With Quote
 
Florian Frommherz [MVP]
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      04-16-2009
Skip,

skip wrote:
> Are there any issues or special considerations for running a DC/GC on
> VMware? My current environment is 4 DC's that are all physical boxes, 3
> are running Windows 2008, and 1 is running windows 2003 sp2. The FFL and
> DFL are 2003 native mode. All DC's are DNS servers.


My fellows here did a great job outlining considerations you should make
before starting to put a DC into a VM.

The main topics you should look at are:
- Backup/Restore (it is a DC, man - so backup and restore it as you
would with physical machines!)
- VM-Security (although it's VM, it doesn't mean it's less worth
protecting than others -- it holds the keys to your castle!)
- Use a _supported_ method/read Microsoft Best Practices.
- don't mess with the hardware -- although it's a VM, you might want
to take a look at performance. Depending on what your environment looks
and how keen you are on performance/search performance/read+write, you'd
have to look into putting the virtual HD on a seperate physical HD.
Memory is also a performance killer - make sure the size of your DIT
could fit well into the VM's RAM.

Cheers,
Florian
--
Microsoft MVP - Group Policy
eMail: prename [at] frickelsoft [dot] net.
blog: http://www.frickelsoft.net/blog.
Maillist (german): http://frickelsoft.net/cms/index.php?page=mailingliste
 
Reply With Quote
 
Paul Bergson [MVP-DS]
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      04-16-2009
Whoops. Slow down a bit, there are some considerations and things to watch
for. You can't treat this dc like other vm's and restore a snapshot (For
example). There are some good specifics in the link below. I would caution
you to read those and make sure you can live up to them or not virtualize
any of your dc's.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/888794


--
Paul Bergson
MVP - Directory Services
MCTS, MCT, MCSE, MCSA, Security+, BS CSci
2008, 2003, 2000 (Early Achiever), NT4

http://www.pbbergs.com

Please no e-mails, any questions should be posted in the NewsGroup This
posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.


"Ace Fekay [Microsoft Certified Trainer]" <>
wrote in message news:...
> "skip" <> wrote in message
> news:92693507-4995-4EAC-A17D-...
>> Hello
>>
>> Are there any issues or special considerations for running a DC/GC on
>> VMware? My current environment is 4 DC's that are all physical boxes, 3
>> are running Windows 2008, and 1 is running windows 2003 sp2. The FFL and
>> DFL are 2003 native mode. All DC's are DNS servers.
>>
>> Thanks

>
>
> No, not really. You can run DCs in a VM. Good way to save on hardware
> costs. One thing, I don't recommend running Exchange or SQL, or any other
> heavy resource hitting application in a VM or expect complaints from
> users.
>
> To setup a DC in a VM, it is a little difficult to get a copy of a
> physical DC to a VM and would suggest to install a fresh copy of Windows
> (whichever version) in the VM and promote it into the domain, then
> transfer FSMOs, make it a GC, then demote the physical machines.
>
> --
> Ace
>
> This posting is provided "AS-IS" with no warranties or guarantees and
> confers no rights.
>
> Ace Fekay, MCSE 2003 & 2000, MCSA 2003 & 2000, MCSA Messaging, MCT
> Microsoft Certified Trainer
>
>
> For urgent issues, you may want to contact Microsoft PSS directly. Please
> check http://support.microsoft.com for regional support phone numbers.
>


 
Reply With Quote
 
Ace Fekay [Microsoft Certified Trainer]
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      04-16-2009
"Paul Bergson [MVP-DS]" <pbbergs@nopspam_msn.com> wrote in message
news:...
> Whoops. Slow down a bit, there are some considerations and things to
> watch for. You can't treat this dc like other vm's and restore a snapshot
> (For example). There are some good specifics in the link below. I would
> caution you to read those and make sure you can live up to them or not
> virtualize any of your dc's.
>
> http://support.microsoft.com/kb/888794
>
>


Nice link. I wasn't aware of this link or that Microsoft addressed this
issue.

Cheers!

Ace


 
Reply With Quote
 
Florian Frommherz [MVP]
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      04-16-2009
Ace,

Ace Fekay [Microsoft Certified Trainer] wrote:
> Nice link. I wasn't aware of this link or that Microsoft addressed this
> issue.


Yeah, this is actually great. I think they changed their policy 180
degrees. I remember there was a time when they didn't really supported
third party virtualization technologies. You could get support if you
were able to reproduce the issue on real hardware, if I remember right.

Great to see they loosened that a bit.

Cheerio!
Florian
--
Microsoft MVP - Group Policy
eMail: prename [at] frickelsoft [dot] net.
blog: http://www.frickelsoft.net/blog.
Maillist (german): http://frickelsoft.net/cms/index.php?page=mailingliste
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off