Windows Vista Tips

Windows Vista Tips > Newsgroups > Windows Server > how to enable "open command box here" in Win2k3?

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

how to enable "open command box here" in Win2k3?

 
 
Denys Wang
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-20-2005
thanks for replying.
--
Denys
MCSD for .Net, MCDBA
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Giuseppe Nacci
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-20-2005
Denys Wang wrote:
> thanks for replying.


Sorry, but what do u're talking about?
--
---
Giuseppe Nacci
Microsoft Certified System Engineer
Security Manager

--------------------------------------------------------------------
CONFIDENTIALITY NOTICE
This message and its attachments are addressed solely to the persons
above and may contain confidential information. If you have received
the message in error, be informed that any use of the content hereof
is prohibited. Please return it immediately to the sender and delete
the message. Should you have any questions, please contact us by
replying to
Thank you
--------------------------------------------------------------------



 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Hank Arnold
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-20-2005
Haven't tried it, but how about using the MS Power Toys?

--
Regards,
Hank Arnold

"Denys Wang" <> wrote in message
news:...
> thanks for replying.
> --
> Denys
> MCSD for .Net, MCDBA



 
Reply With Quote
 
Denys Wang
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-20-2005
CmdHerePowertoySetup.exe does not support win2k3.

Hank Arnold wrote:
> Haven't tried it, but how about using the MS Power Toys?
>


--
Denys
MCSD for .Net, MCDBA
 
Reply With Quote
 
Denys Wang
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-20-2005
Giuseppe Nacci wrote:
> Denys Wang wrote:
>
>>thanks for replying.

>
>
> Sorry, but what do u're talking about?

sorry for not putting things clear.

in windows explore, right click on a folder, there will appear a contect
menu item "open command box here". after clicking it, you'll get a
command console in which the working folder is the folder you
right-click in the explore. this is an enhanced feature in windows xp
after powertoy is installed. very convenient if you need to interact
with the command line very often.

--
Denys
MCSD for .Net, MCDBA
 
Reply With Quote
 
Hank Arnold
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-21-2005
Doesn't "support" it, but does it work??

--
Regards,
Hank Arnold

"Denys Wang" <> wrote in message
news:O8Wa$...
> CmdHerePowertoySetup.exe does not support win2k3.
>
> Hank Arnold wrote:
>> Haven't tried it, but how about using the MS Power Toys?
>>

>
> --
> Denys
> MCSD for .Net, MCDBA



 
Reply With Quote
 
Diane McCorkle
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-25-2005
It's only an inf file that the EXE creates, the inf file is named
DOSHERE.INF.. I've pasted the contents below this paragraph. RT-Clicking it
and choosing install has given me a command prompt here on my 2003 servers.
Diane

;
; "Command Prompt Here" PowerToy
;
; Copyright 1996 Microsoft Corporation
;
[version]
signature="$CHICAGO$"

[DosHereInstall]
CopyFiles = DosHere.Files.Inf
AddReg = DosHere.Reg

[DefaultInstall]
CopyFiles = DosHere.Files.Inf
AddReg = DosHere.Reg

[DefaultInstall.ntx86]
CopyFiles = DosHere.Files.Inf
AddReg = DosHere.Reg.NT

[DefaultUnInstall]
DelFiles = DosHere.Files.Inf
DelReg = DosHere.Reg

[DefaultUnInstall.ntx86]
DelFiles = DosHere.Files.Inf
DelReg = DosHere.Reg.NT

[SourceDisksNames]
55="DOS Prompt Here","",1

[SourceDisksFiles]
DOSHERE.INF=55

[DestinationDirs]
DosHere.Files.Inf = 17

[DosHere.Files.Inf]
DOSHERE.INF

[DosHere.Reg]
HKLM,%UDHERE%
HKLM,%UDHERE%,DisplayName,,"%DosHereName%"
HKLM,%UDHERE%,UninstallString,,"%10%\rundll.exe
setupx.dll,InstallHinfSection DefaultUninstall 132 %17%\DosHere.inf"
HKCR,Directory\Shell\DosHere,,,"%DosHereAccel%"
HKCR,Directory\Shell\DosHere\command,,,"%10%\comma nd.com /k cd ""%1"""
HKCR,Drive\Shell\DosHere,,,"%DosHereAccel%"
HKCR,Drive\Shell\DosHere\command,,,"%10%\command.c om /k cd ""%1"""

[DosHere.Reg.NT]
HKLM,%UDHERE%
HKLM,%UDHERE%,DisplayName,,"%DosHereName%"
HKLM,%UDHERE%,UninstallString,,"rundll32.exe
syssetup.dll,SetupInfObjectInstallAction DefaultUninstall 132
%17%\DosHere.inf"
HKCR,Directory\Shell\DosHere,,,"%DosHereAccel%"
HKCR,Directory\Shell\DosHere\command,,,"%11%\cmd.e xe /k cd ""%1"""
HKCR,Drive\Shell\DosHere,,,"%DosHereAccel%"
HKCR,Drive\Shell\DosHere\command,,,"%11%\cmd.exe /k cd ""%1"""

[Strings]
DosHereName="Command Prompt Here PowerToy"
DosHereAccel="Command &Prompt Here"
UDHERE="Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\ Uninstall\DosHere"



"Denys Wang" <> wrote in message
news:O8Wa$...
> CmdHerePowertoySetup.exe does not support win2k3.
>
> Hank Arnold wrote:
>> Haven't tried it, but how about using the MS Power Toys?
>>

>
> --
> Denys
> MCSD for .Net, MCDBA



 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
x64 XP BSOD on read of statics on driver enable/disable/enable dhmot Windows Vista Drivers 1 08-21-2009 08:54 PM
difference between 'Enable write cache ' & 'Enable advanced' Mick Windows Vista Performance 2 04-22-2008 02:44 AM
Command to enable wireless radio? TimR49 Windows Vista Networking 0 12-13-2007 10:57 AM
How do I enable admin for command window? Chris Windows Vista Administration 2 09-29-2007 06:33 PM
Enable/Disable NIC from command line? harryajh Windows Vista General Discussion 4 09-20-2007 04:22 PM