Windows Vista Tips

Windows Vista Tips > Newsgroups > Windows Server > DNS Server > first level domain non find by dns

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

first level domain non find by dns

 
 
alex
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      04-29-2009
I have a win2008 dc with a first level windows domain name: myjob-domain
with nslookup, if I query myjob-domain I get en error "not existing domain"
but If I add . (dot) at the end (myjob-domain.) I correclty get the dc ip
address. This cause the client at start up not to download GPO, with an
error because they don't find \\myjob-domain\sysvol\....
What is wrong?
Thank you.
Alex



 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Meinolf Weber [MVP-DS]
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      04-29-2009
Hello Alex,

You use a single label domain name like myjob-domain which is a bad decision.
This creates lots of problems.

See here about DNS configuration for single label domain names:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/300684

You should reaally think to use a domain name like mydomain.loc or mydomain.local(do
not use .local with MAC computers)

Best regards

Meinolf Weber
Disclaimer: This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers
no rights.
** Please do NOT email, only reply to Newsgroups
** HELP us help YOU!!! http://www.blakjak.demon.co.uk/mul_crss.htm


> I have a win2008 dc with a first level windows domain name:
> myjob-domain
> with nslookup, if I query myjob-domain I get en error "not existing
> domain"
> but If I add . (dot) at the end (myjob-domain.) I correclty get the
> dc ip
> address. This cause the client at start up not to download GPO, with
> an
> error because they don't find \\myjob-domain\sysvol\....
> What is wrong?
> Thank you.
> Alex



 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      04-29-2009
thank you.
Can I try to rename the domain under w 2008 srv? Is this risky?
Alex
"Meinolf Weber [MVP-DS]" <meiweb(nospam)@gmx.de> ha scritto nel messaggio
news: .com...
> Hello Alex,
>
> You use a single label domain name like myjob-domain which is a bad
> decision. This creates lots of problems.
>
> See here about DNS configuration for single label domain names:
> http://support.microsoft.com/kb/300684
>
> You should reaally think to use a domain name like mydomain.loc or
> mydomain.local(do not use .local with MAC computers)
>
> Best regards
>
> Meinolf Weber
> Disclaimer: This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and
> confers no rights.
> ** Please do NOT email, only reply to Newsgroups
> ** HELP us help YOU!!! http://www.blakjak.demon.co.uk/mul_crss.htm
>
>> I have a win2008 dc with a first level windows domain name:
>> myjob-domain
>> with nslookup, if I query myjob-domain I get en error "not existing
>> domain"
>> but If I add . (dot) at the end (myjob-domain.) I correclty get the
>> dc ip
>> address. This cause the client at start up not to download GPO, with
>> an
>> error because they don't find \\myjob-domain\sysvol\....
>> What is wrong?
>> Thank you.
>> Alex

>
>



 
Reply With Quote
 
Meinolf Weber [MVP-DS]
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      04-29-2009
Hello Alex,

You can, but first check this one's(expand the + in the left pane for all
info's):
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/l.../cc816848.aspx

Especially this check list when you have also exchange installed:
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/l.../cc816631.aspx


Best regards

Meinolf Weber
Disclaimer: This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers
no rights.
** Please do NOT email, only reply to Newsgroups
** HELP us help YOU!!! http://www.blakjak.demon.co.uk/mul_crss.htm


> thank you.
> Can I try to rename the domain under w 2008 srv? Is this risky?
> Alex
> "Meinolf Weber [MVP-DS]" <meiweb(nospam)@gmx.de> ha scritto nel
> messaggio
> news: .com...
>> Hello Alex,
>>
>> You use a single label domain name like myjob-domain which is a bad
>> decision. This creates lots of problems.
>>
>> See here about DNS configuration for single label domain names:
>> http://support.microsoft.com/kb/300684
>>
>> You should reaally think to use a domain name like mydomain.loc or
>> mydomain.local(do not use .local with MAC computers)
>>
>> Best regards
>>
>> Meinolf Weber
>> Disclaimer: This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and
>> confers no rights.
>> ** Please do NOT email, only reply to Newsgroups
>> ** HELP us help YOU!!! http://www.blakjak.demon.co.uk/mul_crss.htm
>>> I have a win2008 dc with a first level windows domain name:
>>> myjob-domain
>>> with nslookup, if I query myjob-domain I get en error "not existing
>>> domain"
>>> but If I add . (dot) at the end (myjob-domain.) I correclty get the
>>> dc ip
>>> address. This cause the client at start up not to download GPO, with
>>> an
>>> error because they don't find \\myjob-domain\sysvol\....
>>> What is wrong?
>>> Thank you.
>>> Alex



 
Reply With Quote
 
alex
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      04-29-2009
Thank you all for all indication.
I have no exchange, only a small network with 1 server. I will read and
then decide what to do
"Ace Fekay [Microsoft Certified Trainer]" <>
ha scritto nel messaggio news:...
> <> wrote in message
> news:...
>> thank you.
>> Can I try to rename the domain under w 2008 srv? Is this risky?
>> Alex

>
> Not that it's risky, but there's some things behind it to be aware of.
> Follow the links Meinolf supplied. If using Exchange 2003, it complicates
> it.
>
> However, if using Exchange 2007, it is NOT possible to change the domain
> and you would need to migrate to a brand new domain, perform a mailbox
> move for all mailboxes to the new Exchange 2007 org inthe new domain.
>
> Here are some additional links and resources.
>
> ================================================== ================================================== ==
> ================================================== ================================================== ==
> Domain Rename Procedure and Notes:
>
> First, are you sure you want to rename the domain? Read up on it first:
> How Domain Rename Works:
> http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/l.../cc738208.aspx
>
> Note: The Domain and Forest functional levels must be set to minimal 2003.
> This means no Windows 2000 domain controllers can exist in the Forest.
> Also, if you have Exchange 2003, make sure it is minimal SP1 in order to
> support a domain rename. If Exchange 2000, either upgrade to 2003, or
> Exmerge all of your mailboxes to PSTs, uninstall Exchange 2000, run the
> domain rename operation, then reinstall Exchange 2000, and use Exmerge to
> pump the mailboxes back in the user's newly created mailbox accounts.
> How to raise domain and forest functional levels in Windows Server ...The
> attribute is msDS-Behavior-Version on the CN=Partitions, CN=Configuration,
> DC=ForestRootDom, DC=tld object. Value of 0 or not set=mixed level forest
> ...
> http://support.microsoft.com/kb/322692
>
> Also, if a PKI infrastructure was installed (Certificate Services), it
> will need to be removed first prior to a domain rename:
>
> How to decommission a Windows enterprise certification authority:
> http://support.microsoft.com/kb/889250
>
> 819145 - Support WebCast Microsoft Windows Server 2003 Implementing an
> Active Directory Domain Rename Operation:
> http://support.microsoft.com/default...uct=winsvr2003
>
> Windows Server 2003 Active Directory Domain Rename Tools:
> http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/w.../bb405948.aspx
>
> Domain Rename – Rename a Windows 2003 Forest with Exchange 2003 installed
> (ifyou don't have Exchange, you can ignore the Exchange part)
> http://www.msexchange.org/tutorials/Domain-Rename.html
>
> Domain Rename Part 1 - Setup
> http://thelazyadmin.com/blogs/thelaz...00_-Setup.aspx
>
> Domain Rename Part 2 - Renaming
> http://thelazyadmin.com/blogs/thelaz...-Renaming.aspx
>
> Domain Rename Part 3 - Exchange 2003
> http://thelazyadmin.com/blogs/thelaz...ange-2003.aspx
>
> Now if you have Exchange 2003, here is what you need as well:
> Supplemental steps for using the Exchange Server Domain Rename Fixup tool
> together with the Windows Server 2003 domain rename tools:
> http://support.microsoft.com/kb/842116/
>
> Domain Rename – Rename a Windows 2003 Forest with Exchange 2003 installed
> http://www.msexchange.org/tutorials/Domain-Rename.html
>
> Error messages encountered on renaming domain
> http://support.microsoft.com/kb/891370
>
>
>
> The following was quoted from:
> http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/l.../cc738208.aspx
>
> Keep in mind after a rename procedure, the DC's Primary DNS Suffix is not
> automatically changed to match the new domain name. You are required to
> change the Primary DNS Suffix to match the new name. In other words,
> unlike the names of member computers, the DNS names of domain controllers
> in a renamed domain will remain unchanged. The domain controllers can be
> renamed in a separate step, using a special domain controller rename
> procedure, after the domain rename operation is complete. You must
> double-check ALL domain members to insure that their Primary DNS Suffix
> matches the new domain name.
>
> 257623 The DNS suffix of the computer name of a new domain controller may
> not match the name of the domain after you upgrade a Windows NT 4.0
> primary
> domain controller to Windows 2000
> http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;EN-US;257623
>
> If Exchange 2007 is involved, it is not supported at this time. You must
> uninstall Exchange 2007, then rename the domain, then reinstall Exchange
> 2007. I know it is easier said then done, but that seems to be the only
> option at this time.
>
> Exchange 2007 installed is not supported:
> The Microsoft Exchange System Attendant service does not start on a
> computer that is running Exchange Server 2007 after you rename a Windows
> Server 2003 domain
> http://support.microsoft.com/kb/925822
>
> Exchange 2007 and Domain Rename
> http://theessentialexchange.com/blog...in-rename.aspx
>
>
> ---
>
> ADMT to migrate into a new forest/domain:
>
> For 2003:
> ADMT v3 Migration Guide
> http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en
>
> Active Directory Migration Tool v3.0
> http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en
>
> For 2008:
>
> ADMT v3.1 Guide: Migrating and Restructuring Active Directory Domains
> http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en
>
> Active Directory Migration Tool version 3.1
> http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en
>
> Password Export Server version 3.1 (x86)
> http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en
>
> Password Export Server version 3.1 (x64)
> http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en
>
> Domain Migration Cookbook - Index and Cover:
> http://www.microsoft.com/technet/pro.../cookintr.mspx
>
> ================================================== ================================================== ==
> ================================================== ================================================== ==
>
> --
> Ace
>
> This posting is provided "AS-IS" with no warranties or guarantees and
> confers no rights.
>
> Ace Fekay, MCSE 2003 & 2000, MCSA 2003 & 2000, MCSA Messaging, MCT
> Microsoft Certified Trainer
>
>
> For urgent issues, you may want to contact Microsoft PSS directly. Please
> check http://support.microsoft.com for regional support phone numbers.
>
> "Efficiency is doing things right; effectiveness is doing the right
> things." - Peter F. Drucker
> http://twitter.com/acefekay
>



 
Reply With Quote
 
Ace Fekay [Microsoft Certified Trainer]
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      04-29-2009
"alex" <> wrote in message news:uYcP5$...

> Thank you all for all indication.
> I have no exchange, only a small network with 1 server. I will read and
> then decide what to do


Ok. Let us know if you have any further questions.

Ace

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to select root level security principal from root level domain in Forest trust BW Active Directory 3 02-11-2007 12:19 PM
Re: Forest level is 2000, domain level is 2003 Mike C. Active Directory 6 12-15-2006 12:03 AM
Group Policy - Domain Security level or OU level?? hockeytown_rox Active Directory 0 10-20-2005 01:58 PM
Returning to Win2000 Native Domain Functional Level from Win2003 Server Domain Functional Level Aleksandr Active Directory 5 05-28-2004 03:45 PM
domain functional level to forest functional level mjs Active Directory 0 11-21-2003 12:35 AM