Windows Vista Tips

Windows Vista Tips > Newsgroups > Windows Live Messenger > Fishy email to download emoticons

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

Fishy email to download emoticons

 
 
Edgar
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      10-06-2008
just wondering if the email sent from
to download 30 emoticons for
free (Message-Id: <20081003134813.5771.2892592->
) is authentic. It points to the following web page:
http://www.livemessenger-emoticons.com/

looks fishy to me
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
mansrm81
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      10-06-2008

I wouldn't download it

--
mansrm8

If you think I helped you fix your problem give me some rep . Click o
the scales.
 
Reply With Quote
 
Sameer Halai [MSFT]
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      10-06-2008
Hi Edgar

Thanks for checking. It is a legitimate website with no malware. And it does
give you 30 free emoticons.

Sameer Halai
Windows Live Messenger Team

> just wondering if the email sent from
> to download 30 emoticons for
> free (Message-Id: <20081003134813.5771.2892592->
> ) is authentic. It points to the following web page:
> http://www.livemessenger-emoticons.com/
>
> looks fishy to me


 
Reply With Quote
 
Jonathan Kay [MVP]
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      10-08-2008
Hi,

It's legit. It doesn't look legit because it's not a Microsoft site per-say, it's contracted
out by one of the Microsoft offices and some marketing company.

If you look at that autosearch.exe file, you'll find it is digitally signed by Microsoft.

--
Jonathan Kay
Microsoft MVP - Windows Live Messenger
MSN Messenger/Windows Messenger
MessengerGeek Blog: http://www.messengergeek.com
Messenger Resources: http://messenger.jonathankay.com
(c) 2008 Jonathan Kay - If redistributing, you must include this signature or citation
--


"TheCroW" <> wrote in message
news:b-...
>> just wondering if the email sent from
>> to download 30 emoticons for
>> free (Message-Id: <20081003134813.5771.2892592->
>> ) is authentic. It points to the following web page:
>> http://www.livemessenger-emoticons.com/
>>
>> looks fishy to me
>>

>
> Think you are right ... it looks fishy. The download of the emoticons is
> called "autosearch.exe"? ... way to weird. Also the site lacks *any* kind
> of info on who they are and so on. Right not to trust this, anybody can
> claim free emoticons and can put some links to Microsoft sites on their
> page.
> The site itself also is not connected to Microsoft in any way ... it's
> hosted by www.sil.at, it's in Austria.
>
> Menno
>
>
>


 
Reply With Quote
 
Jonathan Kay [MVP]
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      10-09-2008
Hi,

I admit the last time one of them even barely struck my interest, I just installed it in a VM
and copied them over

--
Jonathan Kay
Microsoft MVP - Windows Live Messenger
MSN Messenger/Windows Messenger
MessengerGeek Blog: http://www.messengergeek.com
Messenger Resources: http://messenger.jonathankay.com
(c) 2008 Jonathan Kay - If redistributing, you must include this signature or citation
--


"TheCroW" <> wrote in message
news: m...
> Ok ... actually it's not about looking legit ... it's about looking like ... well, nothing
> at all ... no explanation on who they are or whatever ... I believe you that's its okay but
> for me I wouldn't download something from a site that looks and acts like that in a
> lifetime ...
>
> Menno
>
>> Hi,
>>
>> It's legit. It doesn't look legit because it's not a Microsoft site per-say, it's
>> contracted out by one of the Microsoft offices and some marketing company.
>>
>> If you look at that autosearch.exe file, you'll find it is digitally signed by Microsoft.
>>
>> --
>> Jonathan Kay
>> Microsoft MVP - Windows Live Messenger
>> MSN Messenger/Windows Messenger
>> MessengerGeek Blog: http://www.messengergeek.com
>> Messenger Resources: http://messenger.jonathankay.com
>> (c) 2008 Jonathan Kay - If redistributing, you must include this signature or citation
>> --
>>
>>
>> "TheCroW" <> wrote in message
>> news:b-...
>>>> just wondering if the email sent from
>>>> to download 30 emoticons for
>>>> free (Message-Id: <20081003134813.5771.2892592->
>>>> ) is authentic. It points to the following web page:
>>>> http://www.livemessenger-emoticons.com/
>>>>
>>>> looks fishy to me
>>>>
>>>
>>> Think you are right ... it looks fishy. The download of the emoticons is
>>> called "autosearch.exe"? ... way to weird. Also the site lacks *any* kind
>>> of info on who they are and so on. Right not to trust this, anybody can
>>> claim free emoticons and can put some links to Microsoft sites on their
>>> page.
>>> The site itself also is not connected to Microsoft in any way ... it's
>>> hosted by www.sil.at, it's in Austria.
>>>
>>> Menno
>>>
>>>
>>>

>>

>
>


 
Reply With Quote
 
prasanna
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      05-12-2009
Hi.....


"mansrm81" wrote:

>
> I wouldn't download it.
>
>
> --
> mansrm81
>
> If you think I helped you fix your problem give me some rep . Click on
> the scales.
>

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
download only 1 or 2 email at a time pswanie Windows Vista Mail 5 06-16-2009 09:48 PM
Email Not Showing up after download osufan Windows Vista Mail 4 06-17-2008 01:13 PM
KB940510 sounds fishy to me.. Zilla Windows Vista General Discussion 2 03-01-2008 12:55 AM
Email Download Tink Windows Live Mail 18 11-19-2007 09:31 AM
Vista, Otlook 2007 and Windows email. Cant download email when wir Cant download emails when wireless Windows Vista Networking 2 08-24-2007 07:46 AM



1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59