Hi,
Yep. You are actually being redirected to newspi.com
They don't appear on any site Advisory lists as malware yet and are rated
safe by siteadvisor.com, but
Google legal should be able to catch up with them when they come back from
holidays. (what are holidays for anyway, a chance for the scammers and
Nigerians to make some coin - Alkieda isn't cheap to run)
The malware and virus scanners probably won't pick up their malware hijack
of your IE Settings yet either.
You could try a Reset of ALL IE settings. Press the 'Reset' button on the
Advanced tab of Internet Options or
add
*.mini20.com and *.newspi.com to your IE's Restricted Sites. This will stop
the redirection in its tracks because Active Scripting is disabled by
default in the Restricted Zone by default.
On looking at the page source code though, they are using Google's custom
search services (
http://www.google.com/cse/ ) which is a breach of G's Terms
of Use. Nothing illegal, but certainly something Google Inc will be
interested in. The page itself has nothing malicious on it, so it is safe,
but not legitimate.
They are trying to block Google's spiders from viewing their site, but G is
smarter than that. Like I said they should be caught out soon.
Regards.
"mark" </> wrote in message
news:eZ6cy#...
> hi, i just got ie8 and when i open it always start with google.mini20.com
> and shows a search box similar to google. Is this malware?
>
> ---
> frmsrcurl: http://msgroups.net/microsoft.public...lorer.general/
>