Windows Vista Tips

Windows Vista Tips > Newsgroups > Windows Live Messenger > MSN Status application

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

MSN Status application

 
 
Rage Skywolfe
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      09-13-2009
I have gotten this e mail from three of my contacts and I am curious as to
where it is comming from.

Greetings!
lists their address here invited you to check who has deleted or blocked
you from their contact list on MSN Messenger.

It's Easy, Secure and Free!

Try it Now, Click Here

Thanks
Status Checker Team.


______
This mail is sent by their address here using MSN status checker Application.
This is NOT Spam.

there doesn't seem to be any links on it on google that actualy identify it
but the link when you hover over it is i-saw-you-blocked.com has anyone else
seen this?


--
Four Generations Of Trust And Betrayal...One Legacy

Skywolfe
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Jonathan Kay [MVP]
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      09-13-2009
Hi Skywolfe,

Just yet another phishing scam. They just send e-mails out now.

Your contacts need to get their passwords changed ASAP (and optionally, a knock over the
head).

--
Jonathan Kay
Microsoft MVP - Windows Live Messenger
MSN Messenger/Windows Messenger
MessengerGeek Blog: http://www.messengergeek.com
Messenger Resources: http://messenger.jonathankay.com
(c) 2009 Jonathan Kay - If redistributing, you must include this signature or citation
--


"Rage Skywolfe" <> wrote in message
news:0272E030-2B95-4A34-9443-...
> I have gotten this e mail from three of my contacts and I am curious as to
> where it is comming from.
>
> Greetings!
> lists their address here invited you to check who has deleted or blocked
> you from their contact list on MSN Messenger.
>
> It's Easy, Secure and Free!
>
> Try it Now, Click Here
>
> Thanks
> Status Checker Team.
>
>
> ______
> This mail is sent by their address here using MSN status checker Application.
> This is NOT Spam.
>
> there doesn't seem to be any links on it on google that actualy identify it
> but the link when you hover over it is i-saw-you-blocked.com has anyone else
> seen this?
>
>
> --
> Four Generations Of Trust And Betrayal...One Legacy
>
> Skywolfe



 
Reply With Quote
 
lorx
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      09-13-2009


Looks like spam to me. Heck, not even in proper english really.

Ignore it, block it, do whatever. It could be chain-mail, it could be
simple spam. Either way it's of no use to you.


--
lorx
 
Reply With Quote
 
Rage Skywolfe
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      09-13-2009
lol sometimes I wish I could do that and that is what I thought it was.
--
Four Generations Of Trust And Betrayal...One Legacy

Skywolfe


"Jonathan Kay [MVP]" wrote:

> Hi Skywolfe,
>
> Just yet another phishing scam. They just send e-mails out now.
>
> Your contacts need to get their passwords changed ASAP (and optionally, a knock over the
> head).
>
> --
> Jonathan Kay
> Microsoft MVP - Windows Live Messenger
> MSN Messenger/Windows Messenger
> MessengerGeek Blog: http://www.messengergeek.com
> Messenger Resources: http://messenger.jonathankay.com
> (c) 2009 Jonathan Kay - If redistributing, you must include this signature or citation
> --
>
>
> "Rage Skywolfe" <> wrote in message
> news:0272E030-2B95-4A34-9443-...
> > I have gotten this e mail from three of my contacts and I am curious as to
> > where it is comming from.
> >
> > Greetings!
> > lists their address here invited you to check who has deleted or blocked
> > you from their contact list on MSN Messenger.
> >
> > It's Easy, Secure and Free!
> >
> > Try it Now, Click Here
> >
> > Thanks
> > Status Checker Team.
> >
> >
> > ______
> > This mail is sent by their address here using MSN status checker Application.
> > This is NOT Spam.
> >
> > there doesn't seem to be any links on it on google that actualy identify it
> > but the link when you hover over it is i-saw-you-blocked.com has anyone else
> > seen this?
> >
> >
> > --
> > Four Generations Of Trust And Betrayal...One Legacy
> >
> > Skywolfe

>
>
>

 
Reply With Quote
 
Jonathan Kay [MVP]
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      09-15-2009
Hi,

No you should not ignore it. You need to tell your contacts that they've given out their
username and password out and that they need to change it immediately.

And that goes for anywhere else they use the same e-mail address and password (Facebook,
etc.).

--
Jonathan Kay
Microsoft MVP - Windows Live Messenger
MSN Messenger/Windows Messenger
MessengerGeek Blog: http://www.messengergeek.com
Messenger Resources: http://messenger.jonathankay.com
(c) 2009 Jonathan Kay - If redistributing, you must include this signature or citation
--


"lorx" <> wrote in message
news:...
>
> Looks like spam to me. Heck, not even in proper english really.
>
> Ignore it, block it, do whatever. It could be chain-mail, it could be
> simple spam. Either way it's of no use to you.
>
>
> --
> lorx



 
Reply With Quote
 
Lupetta
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      09-23-2009



"Rage Skywolfe" wrote:

> I have gotten this e mail from three of my contacts and I am curious as to
> where it is comming from.
>
> Greetings!
> lists their address here invited you to check who has deleted or blocked
> you from their contact list on MSN Messenger.
>
> It's Easy, Secure and Free!
>
> Try it Now, Click Here
>
> Thanks
> Status Checker Team.
>
>
> ______
> This mail is sent by their address here using MSN status checker Application.
> This is NOT Spam.
>
> there doesn't seem to be any links on it on google that actualy identify it
> but the link when you hover over it is i-saw-you-blocked.com has anyone else
> seen this?
>
>
> --
> Four Generations Of Trust And Betrayal...One Legacy
>
> Skywolfe

 
Reply With Quote
 
Lupetta
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      09-23-2009
Apparently, it's junk. I received it today and there is no viable link to
connect to. Some kind of SPAM or cyber trash.

"Rage Skywolfe" wrote:

> I have gotten this e mail from three of my contacts and I am curious as to
> where it is comming from.
>
> Greetings!
> lists their address here invited you to check who has deleted or blocked
> you from their contact list on MSN Messenger.
>
> It's Easy, Secure and Free!
>
> Try it Now, Click Here
>
> Thanks
> Status Checker Team.
>
>
> ______
> This mail is sent by their address here using MSN status checker Application.
> This is NOT Spam.
>
> there doesn't seem to be any links on it on google that actualy identify it
> but the link when you hover over it is i-saw-you-blocked.com has anyone else
> seen this?
>
>
> --
> Four Generations Of Trust And Betrayal...One Legacy
>
> Skywolfe

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to join memberserver from remote location Robin Turpijn Windows Server 7 07-10-2008 12:27 PM
where is netdiag for 2008? ulyses_96 Windows Server 14 05-23-2008 10:34 PM
Cluster Nodes Not Failing Over - Physical Disk Resource gtlscot Windows Server 2 04-24-2007 08:12 PM
Unable to join domain Richard Mueller [MVP] Windows Server 4 04-22-2007 07:37 PM
Group Policy Failure Scott Emick Windows Server 3 01-05-2006 11:29 PM



1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59