Windows Vista Tips

Windows Vista Tips > Newsgroups > Windows Vista Networking > non-wireless home LAN

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

non-wireless home LAN

 
 
tomatocity
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-07-2009


I have a Vista Home Premium 32bit Desktop and just purchased a Vista
Home Preium 64bit Laptop and I would like to create a non-wireless (yes
I know, but I am not ready for a wireless network at this time) home
local area network. When I search my Laptop I don't find how to connect
the two computers using a cable. Also, I have AT&T DSL for internet
access.

Any assistance will be appreciated. Thank you.


--
tomatocity
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
whs
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-07-2009


tomatocity;1083630 Wrote:
> I have a Vista Home Premium 32bit Desktop and just purchased a Vista
> Home Preium 64bit Laptop and I would like to create a non-wireless (yes
> I know, but I am not ready for a wireless network at this time) home
> local area network. When I search my Laptop I don't find how to connect
> the two computers using a cable. Also, I have AT&T DSL for internet
> access.
>
> Any assistance will be appreciated. Thank you.



The easiest would be to buy an ethernet switch like this one (
'Dynex® - 4-Port 10 Mbps Ethernet Hub - DX-EHB4'
(http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage....=1110266457493)
). With that you can connect up to 4 systems for little money with
ethernet cables (max. lenght is 100 meters). I have the same setup in my
vacation home. It works a lot better than a wireless network. Those
switches come in various levels of sophistication, but anything in the
$15 to $25 range should do.


--
whs
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
GTS
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-07-2009
Assuming you want both computers to have Internet access:
- If your DSL modem is a modem / router (with single network port) you
need a switch. That will connect to the modem and both computers to the
switch.
- If the DSL modem does not have a built in router, then you need a wired
router. (These days that may cost more than a wireless one.) That will
connect to the modem and both computers to the router. The router will
have to be properly configured for your DSL connection.

If your not sure, please tell us the model of the DSL modem.
--

"tomatocity" <> wrote in message
news:...
>
> I have a Vista Home Premium 32bit Desktop and just purchased a Vista
> Home Preium 64bit Laptop and I would like to create a non-wireless (yes
> I know, but I am not ready for a wireless network at this time) home
> local area network. When I search my Laptop I don't find how to connect
> the two computers using a cable. Also, I have AT&T DSL for internet
> access.
>
> Any assistance will be appreciated. Thank you.
>
>
> --
> tomatocity


 
Reply With Quote
 
jtvista
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-07-2009

If you want both computers to connect to the internet, you really want a
router, not a hub. I would advise getting a wireless router, even if
you don't use the wireless part of it right now. Most (all?) wireless
routers allow you to connect four computers to them via an ethernet
connection and they can be had pretty cheaply, especially online. I
have AT&T DSL and use a D-Link wireless router and couldn't be happier
with the setup.

Just my 2 cents.
-JT


--
jtvista
Posted via http://www.vistaheads.com

 
Reply With Quote
 
truthkid
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-07-2009

whs;1083640 Wrote:
> > tomatocity;1083630 Wrote:
> > I have a Vista Home Premium 32bit Desktop and just purchased a Vista
> > Home Preium 64bit Laptop and I would like to create a non-wireless (yes
> > I know, but I am not ready for a wireless network at this time) home
> > local area network. When I search my Laptop I don't find how to connect
> > the two computers using a cable. Also, I have AT&T DSL for internet
> > access.
> >
> > Any assistance will be appreciated. Thank you.> >

>
>
> The easiest would be to buy an ethernet switch like this one (
> 'Dynex® - 4-Port 10 Mbps Ethernet Hub - DX-EHB4'
> (http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage....=1110266457493)
> ). With that you can connect up to 4 systems for little money with
> ethernet cables (max. lenght is 100 meters). I have the same setup in
> my vacation home. It works a lot better than a wireless network. Those
> switches come in various levels of sophistication, but anything in the
> $15 to $25 range should do.


Generally unless you are performing some sort of packet monitoring, you
wouldn't want a hub as it is limited to the physical layer and is going
to retransmit the signal from the uplink port to all the ports on the
hub. You would want a layer 2 switch if the modem can act as a
router/perform NAT


--
truthkid
 
Reply With Quote
 
Mike Hall - MVP
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-07-2009

"tomatocity" <> wrote in message
news:...
>
> I have a Vista Home Premium 32bit Desktop and just purchased a Vista
> Home Preium 64bit Laptop and I would like to create a non-wireless (yes
> I know, but I am not ready for a wireless network at this time) home
> local area network. When I search my Laptop I don't find how to connect
> the two computers using a cable. Also, I have AT&T DSL for internet
> access.
>
> Any assistance will be appreciated. Thank you.
>
>
> --
> tomatocity



Laptop external ports are usually found on the back panel (same part as the
power cable is inserted). One of them should be labeled 'ETHERNET'..

Re connecting to the Internet:

If you have a DSL modem which is USB only

Connect the laptop to the desktop using a CROSSOVER patch cable. This will
connect to the ETHERNET ports of both desktop and laptop

OR

Call your ISP and ask if they can supply a modem/router or wireless modem

--

Mike Hall - MVP Windows Experience
http://msmvps.com/blogs/mikehall/

 
Reply With Quote
 
tomatocity
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-08-2009


Mike Hall - MVP;1083775 Wrote:
> "tomatocity" <> wrote in message
> news:...> > >
> > >
> > > I have a Vista Home Premium 32bit Desktop and just purchased a Vista
> > > Home Preium 64bit Laptop and I would like to create a non-wireless

> > (yes
> > > I know, but I am not ready for a wireless network at this time) home
> > > local area network. When I search my Laptop I don't find how to

> > connect
> > > the two computers using a cable. Also, I have AT&T DSL for internet
> > > access.
> > >
> > > Any assistance will be appreciated. Thank you.
> > >
> > >
> > > --
> > > tomatocity > >

>
>
> Laptop external ports are usually found on the back panel (same part
> as the
> power cable is inserted). One of them should be labeled 'ETHERNET'..
>
> Re connecting to the Internet:
>
> If you have a DSL modem which is USB only
>
> Connect the laptop to the desktop using a CROSSOVER patch cable. This
> will
> connect to the ETHERNET ports of both desktop and laptop
>
> OR
>
> Call your ISP and ask if they can supply a modem/router or wireless
> modem
>
> --
>
> Mike Hall - MVP Windows Experience
> 'Mike's Window - MSMVPS.COM' (http://msmvps.com/blogs/mikehall/)


My DSL Modem is RJ45 jacks and no USB jacks. Thanks for reminding me
about the Crossover cable to connect the computers. Now I need to find a
way to connect DSL modem to the Desktop computer.

What I want to share between the Laptop and Desktop computrers are
files, common calendar, printers, photos, etc.


--
tomatocity
 
Reply With Quote
 
Mike Hall - MVP
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-08-2009
"tomatocity" <> wrote in message
news:...
>
> Mike Hall - MVP;1083775 Wrote:
>> "tomatocity" <> wrote in message
>> news:...> > >
>> > >
>> > > I have a Vista Home Premium 32bit Desktop and just purchased a Vista
>> > > Home Preium 64bit Laptop and I would like to create a non-wireless
>> > (yes
>> > > I know, but I am not ready for a wireless network at this time) home
>> > > local area network. When I search my Laptop I don't find how to
>> > connect
>> > > the two computers using a cable. Also, I have AT&T DSL for internet
>> > > access.
>> > >
>> > > Any assistance will be appreciated. Thank you.
>> > >
>> > >
>> > > --
>> > > tomatocity > >

>>
>>
>> Laptop external ports are usually found on the back panel (same part
>> as the
>> power cable is inserted). One of them should be labeled 'ETHERNET'..
>>
>> Re connecting to the Internet:
>>
>> If you have a DSL modem which is USB only
>>
>> Connect the laptop to the desktop using a CROSSOVER patch cable. This
>> will
>> connect to the ETHERNET ports of both desktop and laptop
>>
>> OR
>>
>> Call your ISP and ask if they can supply a modem/router or wireless
>> modem
>>
>> --
>>
>> Mike Hall - MVP Windows Experience
>> 'Mike's Window - MSMVPS.COM' (http://msmvps.com/blogs/mikehall/)

>
> My DSL Modem is RJ45 jacks and no USB jacks. Thanks for reminding me
> about the Crossover cable to connect the computers. Now I need to find a
> way to connect DSL modem to the Desktop computer.
>
> What I want to share between the Laptop and Desktop computrers are
> files, common calendar, printers, photos, etc.
>
>
> --
> tomatocity



If you don't buy a router, be it wireless or not, you will have buy another
network card for the desktop, connect the laptop to it and set up Internet
Connection Sharing.

For simplicity, it is easier to buy and set up a wireless router..

--

Mike Hall - MVP Windows Experience
http://msmvps.com/blogs/mikehall/

 
Reply With Quote
 
truthkid
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-08-2009


Mike Hall - MVP;1083919 Wrote:
> "tomatocity" <> wrote in message
> news:...> > >
> > >
> > > Mike Hall - MVP;1083775 Wrote:> > > > >
> > > >> "tomatocity" <> wrote in message
> > > >> news:...> > >
> > > >>
> > > >>
> > > >> Laptop external ports are usually found on the back panel (same
> > > part
> > > >> as the
> > > >> power cable is inserted). One of them should be labeled
> > > 'ETHERNET'..
> > > >>
> > > >> Re connecting to the Internet:
> > > >>
> > > >> If you have a DSL modem which is USB only
> > > >>
> > > >> Connect the laptop to the desktop using a CROSSOVER patch cable.
> > > This
> > > >> will
> > > >> connect to the ETHERNET ports of both desktop and laptop
> > > >>
> > > >> OR
> > > >>
> > > >> Call your ISP and ask if they can supply a modem/router or wireless
> > > >> modem
> > > >>
> > > >> --
> > > >>
> > > >> Mike Hall - MVP Windows Experience
> > > >> 'Mike's Window - MSMVPS.COM' ('Mike's Window - MSMVPS.COM'
> > > (http://msmvps.com/blogs/mikehall/))> > > >
> > >
> > > My DSL Modem is RJ45 jacks and no USB jacks. Thanks for reminding

> > me
> > > about the Crossover cable to connect the computers. Now I need to

> > find a
> > > way to connect DSL modem to the Desktop computer.
> > >
> > > What I want to share between the Laptop and Desktop computrers

> > are
> > > files, common calendar, printers, photos, etc.
> > >
> > >
> > > --
> > > tomatocity > >

>
>
> If you don't buy a router, be it wireless or not, you will have buy
> another
> network card for the desktop, connect the laptop to it and set up
> Internet
> Connection Sharing.
>
> For simplicity, it is easier to buy and set up a wireless router..
>
> --
>
> Mike Hall - MVP Windows Experience
> 'Mike's Window - MSMVPS.COM' (http://msmvps.com/blogs/mikehall/)


+1
If your modem cannot act as a router, your best bet is to buy a
wireless router. You can leave the wireless turned off if you'd rather
not use it, but if you feel inclined to take the internet around the
house with you on your laptop you can easily turn it on.


--
truthkid
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 LAN, 2 WAN - 2 LAN use 1 WAN, last LAN uses other WAN ZaneB Server Networking 9 02-26-2008 03:17 PM
Lan Drive / Lan Server Camera Windows Vista General Discussion 3 02-11-2008 09:52 AM
LAN Users can't access LAN Printers LarryF Windows Vista General Discussion 1 03-06-2007 04:00 PM
configure windowsupdate of lan computers to look on lan Jurgen Oerlemans Windows Update 1 05-04-2004 10:11 AM
Audio from one lan to a remote LAN via ISP Sean Haffey Windows MSN Messenger 0 10-12-2003 07:06 PM