On Sun, 25 Oct 2009 21:34:41 -0400, cranheim wrote:
> I could not find a way to contact SBC Global, but I did report it to
> and . In looking at the message
> detail, it looks like it may have come from overseas. I wish sbcglobal.net
> had an address available that I could have forwarded it to, but I had no
> luck trying to find one.
> Thanks for your input. Charles Ranheim
"Abuse at sbcglobal.net" should work, if you are still inclined. However,
they have already sent out a warning to their user base about that letter,
and it is actually what is known as a "phish". Ever since SBC put a block on
outbound port 25, spammers have found it hard to send spam through
compromised customer computers. The purpose of this "phish" is to obtain
user login credentials so that spammers can authenticate to the AT&T
(formerly SBC) SMTP message submission servers, in order to get their spam
out. This is, apparently a very effective "phish", because the AT&T servers
have been blocked by Comcast, Embarq, and Hotmail (among others) for spam.
--
Norman
~Oh Lord, why have you come
~To Konnyu, with the Lion and the Drum