Windows Vista Tips

Windows Vista Tips > Newsgroups > Windows Update > Re: What does this mean?

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

Re: What does this mean?

 
 
Bernd
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-11-2009


-------- Original-Nachricht --------

> I found a cheap copy of XP Pro sp2 on the web but it has this...
>
> ...Attention:
>
> By pressing this button you agree that you are purchasing the software
> that does NOT include any COA label or a sticker from the manufacturer
> & comes on a CD ,There is no technical support provided by the
> software manufacturer. You can still get automatic updates. You will
> receive the Full version on CD & a volume license key number only. All
> the software we offer in the English language only....
>
> it's at this site:
> http://www.cdsfu.com/index.php?categoryID=87
>
> look's honest enough, it is in the sponsored links at the very top of
> Google search for "Windows XP"


There is just another reason, why it is probably a pirated copy:

the website you mentioned is hosted in Johor Bahru in Malaysia.

Bernd
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
G. R. Woodring
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-12-2009
"Certificate Of Authenticity"
From: http://www.acronymfinder.com/COA.html
It's also under the *Microsoft* name on the copy resistant, bar coded,
hologramed label on my copy of WindowsXP Home.

Next to the label is the text:
<quote>
This label indicates that the pack-
age contains genuine Microsoft
product. If the label is missing or
appears to have been tampered
with, please e-mail Microsoft
at or
Business Software Alliance at
, or call your
local Microsoft sales office.
</quote>

--
G. R. Woodring

Date: 7/11/2009 6:51 PM, Author: espee2 Wrote:
> I knew it was too good to be true. really wanted to know what COA
> Label meant Thanks all.. you too MG
>
>
> On Jul 11, 9:18 am, Bernd <f...@gmx.de> wrote:
>> -------- Original-Nachricht --------
>>
>>
>>
>>> I found a cheap copy of XP Pro sp2 on the web but it has this...
>>> ...Attention:
>>> By pressing this button you agree that you are purchasing the software
>>> that does NOT include any COA label or a sticker from the manufacturer
>>> & comes on a CD ,There is no technical support provided by the
>>> software manufacturer. You can still get automatic updates. You will
> > > receive the Full version on CD & a volume license key number

> only. All
>>> the software we offer in the English language only....
>>> it's at this site:
>>> http://www.cdsfu.com/index.php?categoryID=87
>>> look's honest enough, it is in the sponsored links at the very top of
>>> Google search for "Windows XP"

>> There is just another reason, why it is probably a pirated copy:
>>
>> the website you mentioned is hosted in Johor Bahru in Malaysia.
>>
>> Bernd

>

 
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59