Windows Vista Tips

Windows Vista Tips > Newsgroups > Windows Server > Active Directory > Resolve Printer long names mapping by FQDN name

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

Resolve Printer long names mapping by FQDN name

 
 
chua
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      12-01-2008
My network is running on AD2003 r2 and XP clients. I'm using .vbs script to
map network printers during clients login to network. However, i have errors
when the users logon to windows.

Error shown on client:

Scripts: sysvol\path….
Line: 2
Char: 1
Error:
Code:
Source: Microsft VBScript runtime error.

My scripts looks like this:
Set objNetwork = CreateObject("WScript.Network")
objNetwork.AddWindowsPrinterConnection "\\ServerName\PrinterName".

However, if i change the UNC path to "\\ServerName.DomainFQDN\PrinterName".
it works perfectly OK. But the thing is , it will cause long names. I want to
know why i cant mapped printers using the Netbios in .Vbs.. i tried typing
\\servername or \\servername\printer on the clients, it works OK... please
assist. i need the mapping printers to work.


regards,

steve

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Meinolf Weber
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      12-01-2008
Hello chua,

Make sure that your machines use only domain internal DNS servers. No external
ip's on the NIC configuration. Are all machines registered correctly in DNS
forward/reverse lookup zone.

Best regards

Meinolf Weber
Disclaimer: This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers
no rights.
** Please do NOT email, only reply to Newsgroups
** HELP us help YOU!!! http://www.blakjak.demon.co.uk/mul_crss.htm


> My network is running on AD2003 r2 and XP clients. I'm using .vbs
> script to map network printers during clients login to network.
> However, i have errors when the users logon to windows.
>
> Error shown on client:
>
> Scripts: sysvol\path..
> Line: 2
> Char: 1
> Error:
> Code:
> Source: Microsft VBScript runtime error.
> My scripts looks like this:
> Set objNetwork = CreateObject("WScript.Network")
> objNetwork.AddWindowsPrinterConnection "\\ServerName\PrinterName".
> However, if i change the UNC path to
> "\\ServerName.DomainFQDN\PrinterName". it works perfectly OK. But the
> thing is , it will cause long names. I want to know why i cant mapped
> printers using the Netbios in .Vbs.. i tried typing \\servername or
> \\servername\printer on the clients, it works OK... please assist. i
> need the mapping printers to work.
>
> regards,
>
> steve
>



 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
chua
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      12-01-2008
Yes i did, the clients is pointing to the internal DNS only. Clients machine
is registering in the DNS and Reverse Zone has been configured n registered
as well.. i cant think of what caused it.. Will enabled WINS solve the issue?

"Meinolf Weber" wrote:

> Hello chua,
>
> Make sure that your machines use only domain internal DNS servers. No external
> ip's on the NIC configuration. Are all machines registered correctly in DNS
> forward/reverse lookup zone.
>
> Best regards
>
> Meinolf Weber
> Disclaimer: This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers
> no rights.
> ** Please do NOT email, only reply to Newsgroups
> ** HELP us help YOU!!! http://www.blakjak.demon.co.uk/mul_crss.htm
>
>
> > My network is running on AD2003 r2 and XP clients. I'm using .vbs
> > script to map network printers during clients login to network.
> > However, i have errors when the users logon to windows.
> >
> > Error shown on client:
> >
> > Scripts: sysvol\path..
> > Line: 2
> > Char: 1
> > Error:
> > Code:
> > Source: Microsft VBScript runtime error.
> > My scripts looks like this:
> > Set objNetwork = CreateObject("WScript.Network")
> > objNetwork.AddWindowsPrinterConnection "\\ServerName\PrinterName".
> > However, if i change the UNC path to
> > "\\ServerName.DomainFQDN\PrinterName". it works perfectly OK. But the
> > thing is , it will cause long names. I want to know why i cant mapped
> > printers using the Netbios in .Vbs.. i tried typing \\servername or
> > \\servername\printer on the clients, it works OK... please assist. i
> > need the mapping printers to work.
> >
> > regards,
> >
> > steve
> >

>
>
>

 
Reply With Quote
 
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1

 
      04-12-2011
Hello Steve,

Did you ever solve this problem? We are experiencing the same thing and we can't figure it out. Thanks.

Isaac
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Re: Mapping drive using fqdn fails, but netbios name ok. Meinolf Weber [MVP-DS] Windows Server 2 01-10-2010 06:17 PM
Re: Mapping drive using FQDN gives error, but NETBIOS name is ok.. Meinolf Weber [MVP-DS] Server Networking 0 01-06-2010 02:17 PM
Resolve items.. Resolve items.. Resolve items.. YES?! CJSnet ActiveSync 2 12-19-2005 06:48 PM