Windows Vista Tips

Windows Vista Tips > Newsgroups > Windows Media Center > Restricted Content - The video playback device does not support playback

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

Restricted Content - The video playback device does not support playback

 
 
Knox
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      04-10-2007
I get that incredibly frustrating message:

Restricted Content - The video playback device does not support playback
for restricted content

From the extender. I had this situation two years ago and now it is
re-occuring on HBO. Of course, rollup 1 fixed it the first time around.

My setup is up-to-date. I have a single Linksys Extender with firmware
1.01. Media Center is at Rollup 2. I only have the problem on HBO and it
only occurs when they actually are broadcasting the show. In other words,
when The Sopranos starts playing. I can see the content just fine on the
Media Center computer. If the cable operator, Comcast, or HBO is setting
the bit, which I assume they are, then does that mean by design I'm not
supposed to be able to see restricted content in an extender?

I tried reflashing the extender with 1.01 which did not help.

I also tried searching this group for this problem, but everyone that seemed
to have it was lacking rollup 1.

TIA,

Knox




 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Knox
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      04-10-2007
I found this interesting blog post by Aaron Stebner:
http://blogs.msdn.com/astebner/archi...25/484995.aspx

I applied rollup 2 after having the problem, but I will investigate this
license crap. I had backed up my licenses but only after the problem
occurred. It also seems like most of the problems described in that post
cause the Media Center not to be able to play the protected stuff. However,
in my case only the extender can not play the stuff.

Knox


"Knox" <> wrote in message
news:2FAA675B-E262-4002-97E5-...
>I get that incredibly frustrating message:
>
> Restricted Content - The video playback device does not support
> playback for restricted content
>
> From the extender. I had this situation two years ago and now it is
> re-occuring on HBO. Of course, rollup 1 fixed it the first time around.
>
> My setup is up-to-date. I have a single Linksys Extender with firmware
> 1.01. Media Center is at Rollup 2. I only have the problem on HBO and it
> only occurs when they actually are broadcasting the show. In other words,
> when The Sopranos starts playing. I can see the content just fine on the
> Media Center computer. If the cable operator, Comcast, or HBO is setting
> the bit, which I assume they are, then does that mean by design I'm not
> supposed to be able to see restricted content in an extender?
>
> I tried reflashing the extender with 1.01 which did not help.
>
> I also tried searching this group for this problem, but everyone that
> seemed to have it was lacking rollup 1.
>
> TIA,
>
> Knox
>
>
>
>


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Knox
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      04-10-2007
Bizarrely enough, it fixed its self overnight. I had rebooted and tested
everything and it was still failing, but today it's ok.


"Knox" <> wrote in message
news:2FAA675B-E262-4002-97E5-...
>I get that incredibly frustrating message:
>
> Restricted Content - The video playback device does not support
> playback for restricted content
>
> From the extender. I had this situation two years ago and now it is
> re-occuring on HBO. Of course, rollup 1 fixed it the first time around.
>
> My setup is up-to-date. I have a single Linksys Extender with firmware
> 1.01. Media Center is at Rollup 2. I only have the problem on HBO and it
> only occurs when they actually are broadcasting the show. In other words,
> when The Sopranos starts playing. I can see the content just fine on the
> Media Center computer. If the cable operator, Comcast, or HBO is setting
> the bit, which I assume they are, then does that mean by design I'm not
> supposed to be able to see restricted content in an extender?
>
> I tried reflashing the extender with 1.01 which did not help.
>
> I also tried searching this group for this problem, but everyone that
> seemed to have it was lacking rollup 1.
>
> TIA,
>
> Knox
>
>
>
>


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Restricted Site...but is not on Restricted Sites list! Pls Help kitty Internet Explorer 4 10-16-2007 09:12 PM
VISTA MC PLAYBACK ERROR: RESTRICTED CONTENT JacKSProuT Windows Vista General Discussion 11 01-05-2007 09:56 PM
"Restricted Content" error message in playback Craig Windows Media Center 7 03-11-2006 06:32 PM
Add 200+ non-restricted IPs to a restricted website on IIS????? tom of the east Windows Server 0 06-04-2005 01:44 AM
XBox v1.01 Update not showing "Restricted Content" & MusicNet Prob Jason Walters Windows Media Center 7 03-24-2005 12:48 AM