Windows Vista Tips

Windows Vista Tips > Newsgroups > Windows Server > Active Directory > Running dsa.msc from a computer not joined into domain

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

Running dsa.msc from a computer not joined into domain

 
 
Matt
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      10-12-2004
I'm trying to figure out if this is possible:

I have a laptop that I take to numerous clients, and I
really don't like to join it to the domain because it's a
pain to do that constantly and deal with user accounts,
etc.

But, I would still like to use dsa.msc (AD Users and
Computers) and related tools to manage domains from my
laptop. Is there a way to do this?

I have tried all combinations of runas.
Additionally, "Connect To Another Computer/Domain:" (i.e.
from compmgmt.msc or something) only works on non-DC's
near as I can tell, so in this configuration it's useless
for dsa.msc. It just says, "Access is Denied" without
possibility of prompting for credentials.

I think it all boils down to the domain not trusting my
computer and vice versa. This is why I think this may
not be possible. But, I'm hoping some of you can think
of a way around this problem.

Thanks in advance,

Matt
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Brian Desmond [MVP]
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      10-13-2004
You need to be joined to a domain. If the laptop has enough horsepower, load
Virtual PC and create a XP imeage which you just join to client domains.

--
--
Brian Desmond
Windows Server MVP


Http://www.briandesmond.com


"Matt" <> wrote in message
news:343a01c4b0b0$46be8440$...
> I'm trying to figure out if this is possible:
>
> I have a laptop that I take to numerous clients, and I
> really don't like to join it to the domain because it's a
> pain to do that constantly and deal with user accounts,
> etc.
>
> But, I would still like to use dsa.msc (AD Users and
> Computers) and related tools to manage domains from my
> laptop. Is there a way to do this?
>
> I have tried all combinations of runas.
> Additionally, "Connect To Another Computer/Domain:" (i.e.
> from compmgmt.msc or something) only works on non-DC's
> near as I can tell, so in this configuration it's useless
> for dsa.msc. It just says, "Access is Denied" without
> possibility of prompting for credentials.
>
> I think it all boils down to the domain not trusting my
> computer and vice versa. This is why I think this may
> not be possible. But, I'm hoping some of you can think
> of a way around this problem.
>
> Thanks in advance,
>
> Matt



 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Wayne Tilton
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      10-13-2004
"Brian Desmond [MVP]" <> wrote in
news::

> You need to be joined to a domain. If the laptop has enough
> horsepower, load Virtual PC and create a XP imeage which you just join
> to client domains.
>


No you don't. Assuming you've installed the adminpak.msi on the XP
machine, you can:

runas /netonly /user:somedomain\someuserid "mmc dsa.msc"

Wayne

--
Standard Disclaimer: I said it, they didn't, so blame me, not them!
Spam Avoidance: My reply address is invalid to confuse the spambots.
You can reach me at 'Wayne_Tilton at yahoo dot com'
 
Reply With Quote
 
Brian Desmond [MVP]
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      10-18-2004
Cool. Thanks for the tip, Wayne!

--
--
Brian Desmond
Windows Server MVP


Http://www.briandesmond.com


"Wayne Tilton" <> wrote in message
news:Xns9581843A32D6ENWDCLMIT@207.46.248.16...
> "Brian Desmond [MVP]" <> wrote in
> news::
>
> > You need to be joined to a domain. If the laptop has enough
> > horsepower, load Virtual PC and create a XP imeage which you just join
> > to client domains.
> >

>
> No you don't. Assuming you've installed the adminpak.msi on the XP
> machine, you can:
>
> runas /netonly /user:somedomain\someuserid "mmc dsa.msc"
>
> Wayne
>
> --
> Standard Disclaimer: I said it, they didn't, so blame me, not them!
> Spam Avoidance: My reply address is invalid to confuse the spambots.
> You can reach me at 'Wayne_Tilton at yahoo dot com'



 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
your computer could not be joined to the domain because the follow takman_777 Windows Small Business Server 4 12-26-2009 09:16 AM
Odd behaviour from Client Computer Joined to SBS 2003 Domain Chris Gaillard Windows Small Business Server 1 10-19-2007 07:44 PM
Re: How to tell when a computer was joined to the domain? neo [mvp outlook] Windows Server 3 07-15-2007 04:31 PM
Cannot connect to computer not joined to domain Erik Tamminga Server Networking 15 06-30-2004 08:10 PM
How to tell if Computer is Joined to Domain Kiddstyle Scripting 1 02-03-2004 04:28 PM