Windows Vista Tips

Windows Vista Tips > Newsgroups > Windows Vista Printing / Faxing / Scanning > Scanner Not Recognized - but it is.

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

Scanner Not Recognized - but it is.

 
 
Daniel L. Lieberman
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      03-29-2007
Canon LIDE 60 scanner is installed and works to scan. OS is Vista Business.
The scanner appears in the Scanners and Cameras section of Control Panel. In
fax and scan I get a "No scanners were detected" message under the tools
section.

I can scan by scanning to disk and then inserting the scan but this is
inconvenient. Faxing works.

Any suggestions?

TIA

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Cari \(MS-MVP\)
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      03-29-2007
Did you try uninstalling and reinstalling using the Vista drivers from the
Canon website?
http://www.usa.canon.com/opd/control...upportVistaAct
--
Cari (MS-MVP)
Windows Technologies - Printing & Imaging
http://www.coribright.com/windows

"Daniel L. Lieberman" <> wrote in message
news:...
> Canon LIDE 60 scanner is installed and works to scan. OS is Vista
> Business. The scanner appears in the Scanners and Cameras section of
> Control Panel. In fax and scan I get a "No scanners were detected" message
> under the tools section.
>
> I can scan by scanning to disk and then inserting the scan but this is
> inconvenient. Faxing works.
>
> Any suggestions?
>
> TIA


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Daniel L. Lieberman
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      03-29-2007
Cari,

I have uninstalled and reinstalled it three times.
Per Canon the driver is a Vista Driver.

It shows as being properly installed in System|Device Manager|Imaging
Devices.

That is why I think the problem is with Fax and Scan

Daniel




"Cari (MS-MVP)" <> wrote in message
news:...
> Did you try uninstalling and reinstalling using the Vista drivers from the
> Canon website?
> http://www.usa.canon.com/opd/control...upportVistaAct
> --
> Cari (MS-MVP)
> Windows Technologies - Printing & Imaging
> http://www.coribright.com/windows
>
> "Daniel L. Lieberman" <> wrote in message
> news:...
>> Canon LIDE 60 scanner is installed and works to scan. OS is Vista
>> Business. The scanner appears in the Scanners and Cameras section of
>> Control Panel. In fax and scan I get a "No scanners were detected"
>> message under the tools section.
>>
>> I can scan by scanning to disk and then inserting the scan but this is
>> inconvenient. Faxing works.
>>
>> Any suggestions?
>>
>> TIA

>


 
Reply With Quote
 
tkiehl
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      03-29-2007
I have the same problem with my HP 6310 all-in-one connected as a network
connected printer/scan/fax machine... I can scan into other applications
(twain) but Windows Vista Fax and Scan doesn't see it.

"Cari (MS-MVP)" wrote:

> Did you try uninstalling and reinstalling using the Vista drivers from the
> Canon website?
> http://www.usa.canon.com/opd/control...upportVistaAct
> --
> Cari (MS-MVP)
> Windows Technologies - Printing & Imaging
> http://www.coribright.com/windows
>
> "Daniel L. Lieberman" <> wrote in message
> news:...
> > Canon LIDE 60 scanner is installed and works to scan. OS is Vista
> > Business. The scanner appears in the Scanners and Cameras section of
> > Control Panel. In fax and scan I get a "No scanners were detected" message
> > under the tools section.
> >
> > I can scan by scanning to disk and then inserting the scan but this is
> > inconvenient. Faxing works.
> >
> > Any suggestions?
> >
> > TIA

>
>

 
Reply With Quote
 
Sandbanker
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      03-31-2007
I also have a Canon Canoscan N124ou and when I got my new Vista (Home
Premium) PC and installed an updated Canon driver it worked within the
Microsoft
Office(2003) Document Scanning program. However since trying to install a
web cam it is not working ( No TWAIN source found in any complementary
software). I've uninstalled the web cam drivers, re-installed the scanner
driver. The scanner is picked up in control panel and in device manager. it
will successfully complete a test when you select properties within control
panel. Any advice

"tkiehl" wrote:

> I have the same problem with my HP 6310 all-in-one connected as a network
> connected printer/scan/fax machine... I can scan into other applications
> (twain) but Windows Vista Fax and Scan doesn't see it.
>
> "Cari (MS-MVP)" wrote:
>
> > Did you try uninstalling and reinstalling using the Vista drivers from the
> > Canon website?
> > http://www.usa.canon.com/opd/control...upportVistaAct
> > --
> > Cari (MS-MVP)
> > Windows Technologies - Printing & Imaging
> > http://www.coribright.com/windows
> >
> > "Daniel L. Lieberman" <> wrote in message
> > news:...
> > > Canon LIDE 60 scanner is installed and works to scan. OS is Vista
> > > Business. The scanner appears in the Scanners and Cameras section of
> > > Control Panel. In fax and scan I get a "No scanners were detected" message
> > > under the tools section.
> > >
> > > I can scan by scanning to disk and then inserting the scan but this is
> > > inconvenient. Faxing works.
> > >
> > > Any suggestions?
> > >
> > > TIA

> >
> >

 
Reply With Quote
 
ES
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      03-31-2007
I also have the same problem with the HP 6310 connected to the network. There
is a clear disconnect between the Windows Fax and Scanner app and what
devices are loaded.

"Sandbanker" wrote:

> I also have a Canon Canoscan N124ou and when I got my new Vista (Home
> Premium) PC and installed an updated Canon driver it worked within the
> Microsoft
> Office(2003) Document Scanning program. However since trying to install a
> web cam it is not working ( No TWAIN source found in any complementary
> software). I've uninstalled the web cam drivers, re-installed the scanner
> driver. The scanner is picked up in control panel and in device manager. it
> will successfully complete a test when you select properties within control
> panel. Any advice
>
> "tkiehl" wrote:
>
> > I have the same problem with my HP 6310 all-in-one connected as a network
> > connected printer/scan/fax machine... I can scan into other applications
> > (twain) but Windows Vista Fax and Scan doesn't see it.
> >
> > "Cari (MS-MVP)" wrote:
> >
> > > Did you try uninstalling and reinstalling using the Vista drivers from the
> > > Canon website?
> > > http://www.usa.canon.com/opd/control...upportVistaAct
> > > --
> > > Cari (MS-MVP)
> > > Windows Technologies - Printing & Imaging
> > > http://www.coribright.com/windows
> > >
> > > "Daniel L. Lieberman" <> wrote in message
> > > news:...
> > > > Canon LIDE 60 scanner is installed and works to scan. OS is Vista
> > > > Business. The scanner appears in the Scanners and Cameras section of
> > > > Control Panel. In fax and scan I get a "No scanners were detected" message
> > > > under the tools section.
> > > >
> > > > I can scan by scanning to disk and then inserting the scan but this is
> > > > inconvenient. Faxing works.
> > > >
> > > > Any suggestions?
> > > >
> > > > TIA
> > >
> > >

 
Reply With Quote
 
Robert Ortego
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      04-02-2007
Does anyone have a Canon U670 USB scanner. Vista tells me it will not work
with vista. Canon doesn't have an updated driver listed. I just wonder if
anyone has gotten it to work anyway?

--
Bob
"Daniel L. Lieberman" <> wrote in message
news:...
> Canon LIDE 60 scanner is installed and works to scan. OS is Vista
> Business. The scanner appears in the Scanners and Cameras section of
> Control Panel. In fax and scan I get a "No scanners were detected" message
> under the tools section.
>
> I can scan by scanning to disk and then inserting the scan but this is
> inconvenient. Faxing works.
>
> Any suggestions?
>
> TIA



 
Reply With Quote
 
RyanHirst
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      04-19-2007

*I have no third party imaging software installed.
*I do not have another TWAIN device or video/photo input device
atttached.
*Clean install of Vista; WHQL Vista x64 drivers directly off Canon's
website. Never had any other drivers.
_____
The most straigtforward disconnect WITHIN VISTA that I can demonstrate
is the following:

1) *Control Panel>System>Device Manager* [oops, that shortcut is
broken....]
*Control Panel>Device Manager>Imaging Devices*
LiDE 500F is listed.
*Properties:* This device is working correctly.


2)* Settings>Control Panel>Scanners and Cameras*
LiDE 500F is listed.
*Properties>*
*Status:* Device Ready
*Test Scanner or Camera:*
Scanner initializes -(bwuuUUP! Rrrrrrrrrrrr...)-
Completes test scan. Click "Ok"
*Scan Profiles *-(in the same control panel)-:
"No scanners were detected. If a scanner is installed,
please make sure that it is powered on and connected....."


The only program I have tried to scan into is Windows Photo Gallery:
File>Import from Scanner or Camera> -(device list is empty)-
"If you do not see your device in the list, make sure it is connected
to the computer and turned on, then choose refresh."

I have Vista x64 WHQL drivers, and the problem is demonstrated within
the Control Panel and Windows Photo Gallery. I have no other imaging
software or hardware. So, you see, the problem is contained entirely
within Vista itself.
Now what?


--
RyanHirst
 
Reply With Quote
 
Dan [MSFT]
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      06-19-2007
Daniel,

I can't find this model on the Canon website. My guess, based on your
description, is that the driver you are installing is TWAIN. WFS doesn't
work with TWAIN drivers.

Basically you've got two options:
1) Convince Canon to build a WIA 1 or 2 driver for the device
2) Use an older TWAIN application to do the scanning.

Dan

"Daniel L. Lieberman" <> wrote in message
news:...
> Canon LIDE 60 scanner is installed and works to scan. OS is Vista
> Business. The scanner appears in the Scanners and Cameras section of
> Control Panel. In fax and scan I get a "No scanners were detected" message
> under the tools section.
>
> I can scan by scanning to disk and then inserting the scan but this is
> inconvenient. Faxing works.
>
> Any suggestions?
>
> TIA



 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Minolta F-2900 Film scanner not recognized garryej Windows Vista Hardware 0 06-28-2009 03:54 AM
Scanner not Recognized "Unknown Device in USB list" Foxbat Windows Vista Hardware 1 04-10-2008 04:27 PM
USB Scanner not Recognized Frank Windows Media Center 1 04-13-2007 05:31 PM
USB Scanner not Recognized Frank Windows Media Center 0 04-13-2007 05:32 AM
Scanner is installed but Scanner Center says no scanner installed SheridanChico Windows Vista Printing / Faxing / Scanning 0 11-22-2006 08:34 PM