"Matthew" <> wrote in message
news:...
> Hello Newsgroup,
>
> We've had this problem happen twice in two weeks:
>
> No incoming external email is being delivered. Senders do not receive
> NDRs.
>
> In Current Sessions of our Default SMTP Virtual Server, there are 500
> items (which happens to be the default limit). The sessions all go to the
> same domain name, which I'll call "domain", and I'll call their IP
> "xx.xx.xx.xx" They are listed as such:
>
> User From
> Connected Time
> mail1014.mail.domain.com xx.xx.xx.14 267281 seconds
>
> The rest of the entries are all from the same domain.com, but with a
> handful of variations on the last IP number.
>
> I right-click and select Terminate All.
>
> Then I restart the SMTP service.
>
> This allows incoming external email to be delivered. Two weeks later, the
> same problem recurred.
>
> Can anyone tell me what's happening, and how to stop it?
>
> Small Business Server 2003, Exchange Server Version 6.5, SP2.
>
> The following are already set:
>
> Sender Filtering: Check Filter messages with a blank sender and Drop
> connection if address filter matches filter.
>
> Connection Filtering: Using zen.spamhaus.org.
>
> Intelligent Messaging Filtering: Set to Block (reject) at 7 and Junk at 6.
>
> Recipient Filtering: Filter recipients who are not in the Directory.
>
> Default SMTP Virtual Server/Advanced/Edit: I check everything.
>
> Default SMTP Virtual Server/Access/Relay: Only the list below may relay:
> 192.168.16.3 (255.255.255.0)
> 127.0.0.1
> 192.168.1.2
> Allow all computers which successfully authenticate to relay IS checked.
>
> Should I enter *.domain.com in Default SMTP Virtual
> Server/Access/Connection: All except the list below?
>
>
> Many thanks in advance for your thoughts!
>
> Matthew
>
Your server may have been subject to an NDR attack. If that happened, it
could have possibly been initiated by a rogue mass-mailer virus opened by
someone internally.
Have you checked
http://mxtoolbox.com to see if you are on any blacklists?
Do you have an SPF record for your domain?
I don't see why there are any entries in the allow to relay list, especially
the server itself (the loopback address). Did you put in theose current
entries in (> 192.168.16.3 & 192.168.1.2)? They appear to be on different
subnets. How many subnets do you have? Curious, what are those machines, and
may I ask their purpose of allowing them to relay?
--
Ace
This posting is provided "AS-IS" with no warranties or guarantees and
confers no rights.
Please reply back to the newsgroup or forum for collaboration benefit among
responding engineers, and to help others benefit from your resolution.
Ace Fekay, MCT, MCITP EA, MCTS Windows 2008 & Exchange 2007, MCSE & MCSA
2003/2000, MCSA Messaging 2003
Microsoft Certified Trainer
For urgent issues, please contact Microsoft PSS directly. Please check
http://support.microsoft.com for regional support phone numbers.