Windows Vista Tips

Windows Vista Tips > Newsgroups > Windows Vista General Discussion > strange web page

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

strange web page

 
 
marty
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-30-2007
hi there
is there any body out there who can tell me what this web page is
http://auth.microbillsys.com:1003/3/isvalid.php it keeps
opening up without my permision in a new tab I have tried to open it up by
typing the address but i just get a blank page .I scanned with windows
defender and my anti virus (norton 2007)but they both say my laptop is
clean.any help appreciated thanks
--
martyb

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Richard Urban
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-30-2007
If you have a web page that you feel is suspicious DO NOT POST IT'S URL
HERE!

People who do not know may go to the page and become infected because of
YOU.

--


Regards,

Richard Urban
Microsoft MVP Windows Shell/User
(For email, remove the obvious from my address)

Quote from George Ankner:
If you knew as much as you think you know,
You would realize that you don't know what you thought you knew!

 
Reply With Quote
 
marty
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-30-2007
sorry about that didn't think ,realised what what i'd done after i'd posted
it ihave put that url in the restricted sites of my browser will that be
enough?
--
martyb


"Richard Urban" wrote:

> If you have a web page that you feel is suspicious DO NOT POST IT'S URL
> HERE!
>
> People who do not know may go to the page and become infected because of
> YOU.
>
> --
>
>
> Regards,
>
> Richard Urban
> Microsoft MVP Windows Shell/User
> (For email, remove the obvious from my address)
>
> Quote from George Ankner:
> If you knew as much as you think you know,
> You would realize that you don't know what you thought you knew!
>
>

 
Reply With Quote
 
Peter
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-30-2007
Try running this tool:
http://www.superantispyware.com/supe...freevspro.html
Free version is fine. There is a better tool but only works in XP and 2K.
If that doesn't help then use Hijackthis and post its log on any of the
firums below for analkysis and help:
Download HiJackThis:
http://www.trendsecure.com/portal/en...hijackthis.php

Post the logs at a specialist Forum:

http://forum.aumha.org/index.php

http://www.geekstogo.com/forum/forums.html

http://forums.spywareinfo.com/

http://forums.techguy.org/

http://forums.tomcoyote.org/

http://forum.malwareremoval.com/

These tools are fine, I Moderate an anti-virus forum and it would appear
that you have spyware.

--
Peter
Toronto, Canada
"marty" <> wrote in message
news4E2C750-F592-48FA-B2D9-...
> sorry about that didn't think ,realised what what i'd done after i'd
> posted
> it ihave put that url in the restricted sites of my browser will that be
> enough?
> --
> martyb
>
>
> "Richard Urban" wrote:
>
>> If you have a web page that you feel is suspicious DO NOT POST IT'S URL
>> HERE!
>>
>> People who do not know may go to the page and become infected because of
>> YOU.
>>
>> --
>>
>>
>> Regards,
>>
>> Richard Urban
>> Microsoft MVP Windows Shell/User
>> (For email, remove the obvious from my address)
>>
>> Quote from George Ankner:
>> If you knew as much as you think you know,
>> You would realize that you don't know what you thought you knew!
>>
>>


 
Reply With Quote
 
Alias
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-30-2007
Richard Urban wrote:
> If you have a web page that you feel is suspicious DO NOT POST IT'S URL
> HERE!
>
> People who do not know may go to the page and become infected because of
> YOU.
>


So, you're contradicting Frank's statement that a properly protected
install of Vista can get infected?

--
Alias
To email me, remove what's invalid
 
Reply With Quote
 
Julian
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-30-2007


"marty" <> wrote in message
news:E83C6A57-A0A9-4841-B5D3-...
> hi there
> is there any body out there who can tell me what this web page
> is
> http://auth.microbillsys.com:1003/3/isvalid.php it keeps
> opening up without my permision in a new tab I have tried to open it up by
> typing the address but i just get a blank page .I scanned with windows
> defender and my anti virus (norton 2007)but they both say my laptop is
> clean.any help appreciated thanks


It's malware.

See the discussion here...
http://www.theanswerbank.co.uk/Techn...ion408110.html

Moreover...
Norton av is not compatible with Vista and will screw your email eventually
so replace it with a free, tried and tested compatible alternative such as
Avast http://www.avast.com/eng/avast_4_home.html
AVG is another suitable free alternative.

note. AV email scanning is superfluous and the component should be disabled
or better yet not installed. see.. http://www.oehelp.com/OETips.aspx#3

 
Reply With Quote
 
Richard Urban
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-30-2007
You don't need Vista to read these newsgroups. But, being short sighted, as
you are, you fail to take this into consideration in your blasting of Vista.
Lord, if only you could moderate yourself a bit......................

--


Regards,

Richard Urban
Microsoft MVP Windows Shell/User
(For email, remove the obvious from my address)

Quote from George Ankner:
If you knew as much as you think you know,
You would realize that you don't know what you thought you knew!

 
Reply With Quote
 
marty
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-30-2007
YES I AM
--
martyb


"Alias" wrote:

> Richard Urban wrote:
> > If you have a web page that you feel is suspicious DO NOT POST IT'S URL
> > HERE!
> >
> > People who do not know may go to the page and become infected because of
> > YOU.
> >

>
> So, you're contradicting Frank's statement that a properly protected
> install of Vista can get infected?
>
> --
> Alias
> To email me, remove what's invalid
>

 
Reply With Quote
 
Frank
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-30-2007
Alias wrote:

> Richard Urban wrote:
>
>> If you have a web page that you feel is suspicious DO NOT POST IT'S
>> URL HERE!
>>
>> People who do not know may go to the page and become infected because
>> of YOU.
>>

>
> So, you're contradicting Frank's statement that a properly protected
> install of Vista can get infected?
>


Only in you're lying delusional mine.
Frank
 
Reply With Quote
 
Pooh-Man
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      07-30-2007
"Richard Urban" <> wrote in message
news:...
> If you have a web page that you feel is suspicious DO NOT POST IT'S URL
> HERE!
>
> People who do not know may go to the page and become infected because of
> YOU.


No fear. I have FF+noscript plugin so it can't touch my PC. But I don't feel
like clicking it anyway.

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error Message - Page error in non page area Don Windows Vista Hardware 3 08-04-2008 03:20 PM
Strange!!! please help! :( stuart Windows Vista General Discussion 2 11-12-2007 12:49 AM
RE: IE7 Crashes when loading home page-any home page Kasmar Windows Vista General Discussion 1 04-14-2007 07:29 PM
Strange lindabeilia Windows Vista General Discussion 0 03-27-2007 11:13 PM
Re: IE7 Crashes when loading home page-any home page Andre Da Costa[ActiveWin] Windows Vista General Discussion 0 01-04-2007 08:20 PM



1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59