XP Mode Newb Questions

Discussion in 'Virtual PC' started by Karl E. Peterson, Nov 24, 2009.

  1. Can you have more than one "XP Mode" VMs? Or are all other VMs of the
    old-fasioned variety?

    Can an application installed under "XP Mode" be set to startup at
    login? (How?)

    Can an association be made between a Windows 7-hosted filetype and an
    application installed to run under "XP Mode"?

    --
    [.NET: It's About Trust!]
     
    Karl E. Peterson, Nov 24, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertising

  2. Karl E. Peterson

    Robert Comer Guest

    >Can you have more than one "XP Mode" VMs? Or are all other VMs of the
    >old-fasioned variety?


    Yes, you can have more than one that act like XP Mode, but I think you
    only get one license.

    >Can an application installed under "XP Mode" be set to startup at
    >login? (How?)


    Drop the app icon into the startup folder? (I never tried that, but
    it should work)

    >Can an association be made between a Windows 7-hosted filetype and an
    >application installed to run under "XP Mode"?


    Kind of a reverse XP mode? (if type X, shell back to win 7 and open
    it?) I don't think so.

    --
    Bob Comer


    On Tue, 24 Nov 2009 09:24:00 -0800, Karl E. Peterson <>
    wrote:

    >Can you have more than one "XP Mode" VMs? Or are all other VMs of the
    >old-fasioned variety?
    >
    >Can an application installed under "XP Mode" be set to startup at
    >login? (How?)
    >
    >Can an association be made between a Windows 7-hosted filetype and an
    >application installed to run under "XP Mode"?
     
    Robert Comer, Nov 24, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertising

  3. Robert Comer submitted this idea :
    >> Can you have more than one "XP Mode" VMs? Or are all other VMs of the
    >> old-fasioned variety?

    >
    > Yes, you can have more than one that act like XP Mode, but I think you
    > only get one license.


    MSDN would seem to cover that. It's unclear how you might set them up,
    though? I guess I should experiment more. (So much to learn!)

    >> Can an application installed under "XP Mode" be set to startup at
    >> login? (How?)

    >
    > Drop the app icon into the startup folder? (I never tried that, but
    > it should work)


    Huh. Okay, I'll try that, too.

    >> Can an association be made between a Windows 7-hosted filetype and an
    >> application installed to run under "XP Mode"?

    >
    > Kind of a reverse XP mode? (if type X, shell back to win 7 and open
    > it?) I don't think so.


    Yeah, this one's actually a proxy question. Someone was asking me if a
    VBP file, as part of the host file system, could be associated with
    VB6.EXE running in the guest.

    --
    [.NET: It's About Trust!]
     
    Karl E. Peterson, Nov 24, 2009
    #3
  4. Karl E. Peterson

    Robert Comer Guest

    >MSDN would seem to cover that.

    Yepper.

    >It's unclear how you might set them up,
    >though? I guess I should experiment more. (So much to learn!)


    Just set up a new Windows XP VM, install SP3, then the integration
    components, log in with the integration components enabled and then
    it's just the same.

    >Yeah, this one's actually a proxy question. Someone was asking me if a
    >VBP file, as part of the host file system, could be associated with
    >VB6.EXE running in the guest.


    Yes, you can do that, I though you meant the other way around. (data
    file in VM, app on the host.) It should be automatic as long as you
    get it to publish the icon into the "VMName - Applications folder".

    --
    Bob Comer



    On Tue, 24 Nov 2009 10:16:53 -0800, Karl E. Peterson <>
    wrote:

    >Robert Comer submitted this idea :
    >>> Can you have more than one "XP Mode" VMs? Or are all other VMs of the
    >>> old-fasioned variety?

    >>
    >> Yes, you can have more than one that act like XP Mode, but I think you
    >> only get one license.

    >
    >MSDN would seem to cover that. It's unclear how you might set them up,
    >though? I guess I should experiment more. (So much to learn!)
    >
    >>> Can an application installed under "XP Mode" be set to startup at
    >>> login? (How?)

    >>
    >> Drop the app icon into the startup folder? (I never tried that, but
    >> it should work)

    >
    >Huh. Okay, I'll try that, too.
    >
    >>> Can an association be made between a Windows 7-hosted filetype and an
    >>> application installed to run under "XP Mode"?

    >>
    >> Kind of a reverse XP mode? (if type X, shell back to win 7 and open
    >> it?) I don't think so.

    >
    >Yeah, this one's actually a proxy question. Someone was asking me if a
    >VBP file, as part of the host file system, could be associated with
    >VB6.EXE running in the guest.
     
    Robert Comer, Nov 24, 2009
    #4
  5. After serious thinking Robert Comer wrote :
    >> MSDN would seem to cover that.

    >
    > Yepper.
    >
    >> It's unclear how you might set them up,
    >> though? I guess I should experiment more. (So much to learn!)

    >
    > Just set up a new Windows XP VM, install SP3, then the integration
    > components, log in with the integration components enabled and then
    > it's just the same.


    Cool! So there's nothing special at all about the one that you
    download, other than they give it to you?

    Bonus round... What about getting a Win9x VM going? My first attempt
    was very discouraging. But then, I got distracted with other stuff.
    <g>

    >> Yeah, this one's actually a proxy question. Someone was asking me if a
    >> VBP file, as part of the host file system, could be associated with
    >> VB6.EXE running in the guest.

    >
    > Yes, you can do that, I though you meant the other way around. (data
    > file in VM, app on the host.) It should be automatic as long as you
    > get it to publish the icon into the "VMName - Applications folder".


    Ahhhh... Excellent! I'll pass that along to my friend.

    --
    [.NET: It's About Trust!]
     
    Karl E. Peterson, Nov 24, 2009
    #5
  6. Karl E. Peterson

    Robert Comer Guest

    >Cool! So there's nothing special at all about the one that you
    >download, other than they give it to you?


    It's kind of minimized a bit for space reasons, but that's it as far
    as I know. I'll do some testing to make sure.

    >Bonus round... What about getting a Win9x VM going? My first attempt
    >was very discouraging. But then, I got distracted with other stuff.
    ><g>


    I have one that works, but I brought it over from VPC 2007. Setup
    might be a bit iffy because of the floppy. You actually need to use
    VB script to attach a floppy image, and WVPC doesn't support floppies
    with the UI.

    --
    Bob Comer




    On Tue, 24 Nov 2009 12:10:11 -0800, Karl E. Peterson <>
    wrote:

    >After serious thinking Robert Comer wrote :
    >>> MSDN would seem to cover that.

    >>
    >> Yepper.
    >>
    >>> It's unclear how you might set them up,
    >>> though? I guess I should experiment more. (So much to learn!)

    >>
    >> Just set up a new Windows XP VM, install SP3, then the integration
    >> components, log in with the integration components enabled and then
    >> it's just the same.

    >
    >Cool! So there's nothing special at all about the one that you
    >download, other than they give it to you?
    >
    >Bonus round... What about getting a Win9x VM going? My first attempt
    >was very discouraging. But then, I got distracted with other stuff.
    ><g>
    >
    >>> Yeah, this one's actually a proxy question. Someone was asking me if a
    >>> VBP file, as part of the host file system, could be associated with
    >>> VB6.EXE running in the guest.

    >>
    >> Yes, you can do that, I though you meant the other way around. (data
    >> file in VM, app on the host.) It should be automatic as long as you
    >> get it to publish the icon into the "VMName - Applications folder".

    >
    >Ahhhh... Excellent! I'll pass that along to my friend.
     
    Robert Comer, Nov 24, 2009
    #6
  7. on 11/24/2009, Robert Comer supposed :
    >> Cool! So there's nothing special at all about the one that you
    >> download, other than they give it to you?

    >
    > It's kind of minimized a bit for space reasons, but that's it as far
    > as I know. I'll do some testing to make sure.


    So one could probably copy that VHD, create a new VM, and point at the
    copy for the disk, huh? Hypothetically speaking, if one were to want
    the "minimized for space reasons" type setup.

    >> Bonus round... What about getting a Win9x VM going? My first attempt
    >> was very discouraging. But then, I got distracted with other stuff.
    >> <g>

    >
    > I have one that works, but I brought it over from VPC 2007. Setup
    > might be a bit iffy because of the floppy. You actually need to use
    > VB script to attach a floppy image, and WVPC doesn't support floppies
    > with the UI.


    Yeah, I miss the ability to just drag images onto the status bar. That
    was cool. There seems to be no (easy) way to change them when the VM
    is up and running?

    I have one built, actually from back in VPC 2004, but when I tried
    starting it in W7 it popped an ugly little error:

    Error Message: Initializing Device IOS Windows Protection Error

    Ugh! And the "fix" appears to be one I'll need to actually find a
    spare afternoon to sort out:

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/263466 :-(

    --
    [.NET: It's About Trust!]
     
    Karl E. Peterson, Nov 24, 2009
    #7
  8. Karl E. Peterson

    Robert Comer Guest

    >So one could probably copy that VHD, create a new VM, and point at the
    >copy for the disk, huh? Hypothetically speaking, if one were to want
    >the "minimized for space reasons" type setup.


    Or just install XP Mode again, it wont name it the same. Might be
    better...

    >Yeah, I miss the ability to just drag images onto the status bar. That
    >was cool. There seems to be no (easy) way to change them when the VM
    >is up and running?


    Unfortunately not. They went a different direction and for pretty
    good reasons (RAIL), but they did lose some things too.

    >Error Message: Initializing Device IOS Windows Protection Error


    The old too fast a computer problem. <g>

    --
    Bob Comer




    On Tue, 24 Nov 2009 13:47:30 -0800, Karl E. Peterson <>
    wrote:

    >on 11/24/2009, Robert Comer supposed :
    >>> Cool! So there's nothing special at all about the one that you
    >>> download, other than they give it to you?

    >>
    >> It's kind of minimized a bit for space reasons, but that's it as far
    >> as I know. I'll do some testing to make sure.

    >
    >So one could probably copy that VHD, create a new VM, and point at the
    >copy for the disk, huh? Hypothetically speaking, if one were to want
    >the "minimized for space reasons" type setup.
    >
    >>> Bonus round... What about getting a Win9x VM going? My first attempt
    >>> was very discouraging. But then, I got distracted with other stuff.
    >>> <g>

    >>
    >> I have one that works, but I brought it over from VPC 2007. Setup
    >> might be a bit iffy because of the floppy. You actually need to use
    >> VB script to attach a floppy image, and WVPC doesn't support floppies
    >> with the UI.

    >
    >Yeah, I miss the ability to just drag images onto the status bar. That
    >was cool. There seems to be no (easy) way to change them when the VM
    >is up and running?
    >
    >I have one built, actually from back in VPC 2004, but when I tried
    >starting it in W7 it popped an ugly little error:
    >
    >Error Message: Initializing Device IOS Windows Protection Error
    >
    >Ugh! And the "fix" appears to be one I'll need to actually find a
    >spare afternoon to sort out:
    >
    >http://support.microsoft.com/kb/263466 :-(
     
    Robert Comer, Nov 24, 2009
    #8
  9. Robert Comer laid this down on his screen :
    >> So one could probably copy that VHD, create a new VM, and point at the
    >> copy for the disk, huh? Hypothetically speaking, if one were to want
    >> the "minimized for space reasons" type setup.

    >
    > Or just install XP Mode again, it wont name it the same. Might be
    > better...


    So it'll just append one of those lovely (2)'s to the end?

    Is renaming a machine the same as before, where you just rename all the
    files, then hand edit the VMC?

    >> Yeah, I miss the ability to just drag images onto the status bar. That
    >> was cool. There seems to be no (easy) way to change them when the VM
    >> is up and running?

    >
    > Unfortunately not. They went a different direction and for pretty
    > good reasons (RAIL), but they did lose some things too.


    WTH's a RAIL?

    >> Error Message: Initializing Device IOS Windows Protection Error

    >
    > The old too fast a computer problem. <g>


    Heh, crap. It was working just fine on the same computer when XP was
    the host! Serious?

    --
    [.NET: It's About Trust!]
     
    Karl E. Peterson, Nov 24, 2009
    #9
  10. Karl E. Peterson

    Robert Comer Guest

    > So it'll just append one of those lovely (2)'s to the end?

    Yep. The second one will be 1 though. <g>

    > WTH's a RAIL?


    I really don't know what it stands for but it's what gives you the seamless
    app capability.

    > Heh, crap. It was working just fine on the same computer when XP was
    > the host! Serious?


    Most likely, yep, performance is better. and you said it was VPC2004, that
    didn't have hw virtualization capabilities.

    --
    Bob Comer




    Karl E. Peterson wrote:
    > Robert Comer laid this down on his screen :
    >>> So one could probably copy that VHD, create a new VM, and point at
    >>> the copy for the disk, huh? Hypothetically speaking, if one were to
    >>> want the "minimized for space reasons" type setup.

    >>
    >> Or just install XP Mode again, it wont name it the same. Might be
    >> better...

    >
    > So it'll just append one of those lovely (2)'s to the end?
    >
    > Is renaming a machine the same as before, where you just rename all the
    > files, then hand edit the VMC?
    >
    >>> Yeah, I miss the ability to just drag images onto the status bar.
    >>> That was cool. There seems to be no (easy) way to change them when
    >>> the VM is up and running?

    >>
    >> Unfortunately not. They went a different direction and for pretty
    >> good reasons (RAIL), but they did lose some things too.

    >
    > WTH's a RAIL?
    >
    >>> Error Message: Initializing Device IOS Windows Protection Error

    >>
    >> The old too fast a computer problem. <g>

    >
    > Heh, crap. It was working just fine on the same computer when XP was
    > the host! Serious?
    >
     
    Robert Comer, Nov 25, 2009
    #10
  11. Robert Comer wrote :
    >>>> Error Message: Initializing Device IOS Windows Protection Error
    >>>
    >>> The old too fast a computer problem. <g>

    >>
    >> Heh, crap. It was working just fine on the same computer when XP was
    >> the host! Serious?

    >
    > Most likely, yep, performance is better. and you said it was VPC2004, that
    > didn't have hw virtualization capabilities.


    Right, I didn't turn on Virtualization until updating to w7. Jeeez, so
    is there anything a guy can do about that? I was thinking it might be
    a good place to load up the old Win16 stuff I wanted to keep around.

    --
    [.NET: It's About Trust!]
     
    Karl E. Peterson, Nov 25, 2009
    #11
  12. Karl E. Peterson

    Robert Comer Guest

    There's got to be a way, I'll get back to you...

    --
    Bob Comer




    Karl E. Peterson wrote:
    > Robert Comer wrote :
    >>>>> Error Message: Initializing Device IOS Windows Protection Error
    >>>>
    >>>> The old too fast a computer problem. <g>
    >>>
    >>> Heh, crap. It was working just fine on the same computer when XP was
    >>> the host! Serious?

    >>
    >> Most likely, yep, performance is better. and you said it was VPC2004,
    >> that didn't have hw virtualization capabilities.

    >
    > Right, I didn't turn on Virtualization until updating to w7. Jeeez, so
    > is there anything a guy can do about that? I was thinking it might be a
    > good place to load up the old Win16 stuff I wanted to keep around.
    >
     
    Robert Comer, Nov 25, 2009
    #12
  13. Robert Comer formulated on Tuesday :
    > There's got to be a way, I'll get back to you...


    The VHD is small (476M), if you'd like to try loading it directly?

    --
    [.NET: It's About Trust!]
     
    Karl E. Peterson, Nov 25, 2009
    #13
  14. Karl E. Peterson

    Robert Comer Guest

    I could do that, but it's kind of big for email. Got an FTP server or
    a web link? (just email me back and remove the "-removeme-" part of
    my address)

    --
    Bob Comer


    On Wed, 25 Nov 2009 09:30:52 -0800, Karl E. Peterson <>
    wrote:

    >Robert Comer formulated on Tuesday :
    >> There's got to be a way, I'll get back to you...

    >
    >The VHD is small (476M), if you'd like to try loading it directly?
     
    Robert Comer, Nov 25, 2009
    #14
  15. Robert Comer was thinking very hard :
    >> So one could probably copy that VHD, create a new VM, and point at the
    >> copy for the disk, huh? Hypothetically speaking, if one were to want
    >> the "minimized for space reasons" type setup.

    >
    > Or just install XP Mode again, it wont name it the same. Might be
    > better...


    Jest tried that, but both pieces (WindowsXPMode_en-us.exe &
    Windows6.1-KB958559-x64.msu) balked saying they were already installed.
    Ah well...

    --
    [.NET: It's About Trust!]
     
    Karl E. Peterson, Nov 30, 2009
    #15
  16. Another one:

    * Can an application be setup in a VM such that it does /not/ show up
    in the XP Mode Applications folder on the start menu?

    --
    [.NET: It's About Trust!]
     
    Karl E. Peterson, Nov 30, 2009
    #16
  17. Karl E. Peterson

    Robert Comer Guest

    Interesting. I meant only the exe, and I supposed you could copy the .vhd's
    and the vmcx to another place temporarily, uninstall XP Mode in the programs
    section of control panel, install the XP mode again with the exe again, then
    copy them back.

    --
    Bob Comer




    Karl E. Peterson wrote:
    > Robert Comer was thinking very hard :
    >>> So one could probably copy that VHD, create a new VM, and point at
    >>> the copy for the disk, huh? Hypothetically speaking, if one were to
    >>> want the "minimized for space reasons" type setup.

    >>
    >> Or just install XP Mode again, it wont name it the same. Might be
    >> better...

    >
    > Jest tried that, but both pieces (WindowsXPMode_en-us.exe &
    > Windows6.1-KB958559-x64.msu) balked saying they were already installed.
    > Ah well...
    >
     
    Robert Comer, Dec 1, 2009
    #17
  18. Karl E. Peterson

    Robert Comer Guest

    Just make sure an icon doesn't get put in the "All Users" folder. (most apps
    have an option to install for yourself only or all users, take yourself only)

    --
    Bob Comer




    Karl E. Peterson wrote:
    > Another one:
    >
    > * Can an application be setup in a VM such that it does /not/ show up in
    > the XP Mode Applications folder on the start menu?
    >
     
    Robert Comer, Dec 1, 2009
    #18
  19. Robert Comer pretended :
    > Interesting. I meant only the exe, and I supposed you could copy the .vhd's
    > and the vmcx to another place temporarily, uninstall XP Mode in the programs
    > section of control panel, install the XP mode again with the exe again, then
    > copy them back.


    Yeah, but the EXE just says "you done already run me!" <g> Probably
    easiest to just replicate the machine the Olde Fashioned Way, huh?
    I'll have to see if I can wrap my head around your suggestion above,
    though. Sounds a bit devious. :)

    --
    [.NET: It's About Trust!]
     
    Karl E. Peterson, Dec 1, 2009
    #19
  20. Robert Comer formulated the question :
    > Just make sure an icon doesn't get put in the "All Users" folder. (most apps
    > have an option to install for yourself only or all users, take yourself only)


    Ahhh! But of course. That's gonna be a tough habit to break. :)

    --
    [.NET: It's About Trust!]
     
    Karl E. Peterson, Dec 1, 2009
    #20
    1. Advertising

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. drybones

    NewB to Vista Mail has question

    drybones, Apr 20, 2007, in forum: Windows Vista Mail
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    167
    drybones
    Apr 20, 2007
  2. drybones

    NewB to Vista Premium

    drybones, Apr 21, 2007, in forum: Windows Vista General Discussion
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    148
    John Inzer
    Apr 21, 2007
  3. Natalia DeBow

    NewB question regarding filter drivers

    Natalia DeBow, Aug 23, 2007, in forum: Windows Vista Drivers
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    184
    Walter Oney
    Aug 25, 2007
  4. Raistlin

    Newb to MCE, can I use it like XP?

    Raistlin, Jan 4, 2006, in forum: Windows Media Center
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    184
    Chris H.
    Jan 4, 2006
  5. cloned1

    Purely newb questions

    cloned1, Dec 19, 2005, in forum: Windows 64 Bit
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    126
    Andre Da Costa [Extended64]
    Dec 19, 2005
Loading...

Share This Page