Windows Vista Tips

Windows Vista Tips > Newsgroups > Windows Vista General Discussion > Vista not wotking with "My Computer" or "Control Panel", "Screen Saver"

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

Vista not wotking with "My Computer" or "Control Panel", "Screen Saver"

 
 
Platebanger
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      02-05-2008
HI Folks, When I try to check contents of "My Computer", "Control Panel" the
screen does a 1 second display then disappears back the Start screen. It was
working a couple of days ago. Should I do a system restore ?

Also somehow changing Screen Savers is kimted to just a few. Most are
disabled. The computer was a floor model. How can I enable the other Screen
Savers ?

Thanks,
Dick

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Paul
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      02-05-2008
Hi, thanks for the quick response...
I am running Vista Home Premium and Tune-up 2008, both have all the latest
updates.
I am booting in "no gui" and I did run Tune-up as admin.

What I have noticed is when I run Styler2 and load a theme, I go to the
Appearance Settings in Appearance Properties and the theme will be in the
list (shows as Vista Basic, and has 5 or 6 of them, it showed these before
when it worked properly.) Then when I reboot, all the "vista basic" list as
gone except for the default one.

Vista does not keep the new boot screen or login screens that I changed with
Tune-up as well.
Actually Vista doesn't seem to keep many of my settings... window
placements, window sizes (not all but many), thumbnail sizes (not all but
many). My HP Ipaq 2490 doesn't sync with Outlook 2007 Ent.. and my Bluetooth
Dong works whenever it wants too (starts for 5 mins then won't for a day,
then will again)...strange!

I know that Tune-up should work because it did before. I had an issue with
my laptop and sent it back to HP for warranty repair. When I got it back it
was reformed so I had to reinstall everything. Since then the issue has
started.

Again,
Thank you very much for your help.
Cheers
Paul

--
HP Pavilion Entertainment Laptop dv9417ca
AMD Turion 64x2 Dual-Core 1.81GHz, 2GB DDR2, 160GB.
and Vista Premium
------------------------------------------------------------------
"Platebanger" <> wrote in message
news:VZYpj.3187$lr3.2523@trndny06...
> HI Folks, When I try to check contents of "My Computer", "Control Panel"
> the screen does a 1 second display then disappears back the Start screen.
> It was working a couple of days ago. Should I do a system restore ?
>
> Also somehow changing Screen Savers is kimted to just a few. Most are
> disabled. The computer was a floor model. How can I enable the other
> Screen Savers ?
>
> Thanks,
> Dick
>


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Paul
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      02-05-2008
OOPS!!
I responded to the wrong thread... hmm, how did that happen

sorry guys.

--
HP Pavilion Entertainment Laptop dv9417ca
AMD Turion 64x2 Dual-Core 1.81GHz, 2GB DDR2, 160GB.
and Vista Premium
------------------------------------------------------------------
"Platebanger" <> wrote in message
news:VZYpj.3187$lr3.2523@trndny06...
> HI Folks, When I try to check contents of "My Computer", "Control Panel"
> the screen does a 1 second display then disappears back the Start screen.
> It was working a couple of days ago. Should I do a system restore ?
>
> Also somehow changing Screen Savers is kimted to just a few. Most are
> disabled. The computer was a floor model. How can I enable the other
> Screen Savers ?
>
> Thanks,
> Dick
>


 
Reply With Quote
 
MICHAEL
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      02-05-2008
"Platebanger" <> wrote in message news:VZYpj.3187$lr3.2523@trndny06...
> HI Folks, When I try to check contents of "My Computer", "Control Panel" the
> screen does a 1 second display then disappears back the Start screen. It was
> working a couple of days ago. Should I do a system restore ?
>
> Also somehow changing Screen Savers is kimted to just a few. Most are
> disabled. The computer was a floor model. How can I enable the other Screen
> Savers ?


Type "services.msc" into Start Menu's search bar.
Right-click the result at the top, click "Run as administrator"

Find the Service "Software Licensing". If it is not running,
right-click it and click "Start". If it says it's running, Stop it,
then Start it again.

Check the properties of the service and make sure it is set
to "Automatic".


-Michael
 
Reply With Quote
 
MICHAEL
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      02-05-2008
"MICHAEL" <> wrote in message news:eF3v75$...
> "Platebanger" <> wrote in message news:VZYpj.3187$lr3.2523@trndny06...
>> HI Folks, When I try to check contents of "My Computer", "Control Panel" the
>> screen does a 1 second display then disappears back the Start screen. It was
>> working a couple of days ago. Should I do a system restore ?
>>
>> Also somehow changing Screen Savers is kimted to just a few. Most are
>> disabled. The computer was a floor model. How can I enable the other Screen
>> Savers ?

>
> Type "services.msc" into Start Menu's search bar.
> Right-click the result at the top, click "Run as administrator"
>
> Find the Service "Software Licensing". If it is not running,
> right-click it and click "Start". If it says it's running, Stop it,
> then Start it again.
>
> Check the properties of the service and make sure it is set
> to "Automatic".


If that suggestion doesn't work, read this;
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/936686/en-us


-Michael
 
Reply With Quote
 
Platebanger
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      02-05-2008
Hi Michael, I did the "services.msc" option. The Software Licensing was
started, I stoped it then started again.

The display still will not let me use "My Computer,"Control Panel", ect. It
just flashes the screen then goes back to Start.

Any other Ideas ?

"MICHAEL" <> wrote in message
news:eF3v75$...
> "Platebanger" <> wrote in message
> news:VZYpj.3187$lr3.2523@trndny06...
>> HI Folks, When I try to check contents of "My Computer", "Control Panel"
>> the screen does a 1 second display then disappears back the Start screen.
>> It was working a couple of days ago. Should I do a system restore ?
>>
>> Also somehow changing Screen Savers is kimted to just a few. Most are
>> disabled. The computer was a floor model. How can I enable the other
>> Screen Savers ?

>
> Type "services.msc" into Start Menu's search bar.
> Right-click the result at the top, click "Run as administrator"
>
> Find the Service "Software Licensing". If it is not running,
> right-click it and click "Start". If it says it's running, Stop it,
> then Start it again.
>
> Check the properties of the service and make sure it is set
> to "Automatic".
>
>
> -Michael



 
Reply With Quote
 
MICHAEL
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      02-05-2008
Did you try restarting your computer?

Did you have a look at this link;
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/936686/en-us

That link will then lead you here;
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929637/

Then, to get the hotfix, you'll go here;
https://support.microsoft.com/contac....aspx?scid=sw;[LN];1414&from=KBHotfix&WS=hotfix

Where it says "Product and version affected"
Put in "KB929637"

They will send you an email with download instructions.


-Michael

"Platebanger" <> wrote in message news:%w_pj.3968$G94.31@trndny02...
> Hi Michael, I did the "services.msc" option. The Software Licensing was started, I stoped it
> then started again.
>
> The display still will not let me use "My Computer,"Control Panel", ect. It just flashes the
> screen then goes back to Start.
>
> Any other Ideas ?
>
> "MICHAEL" <> wrote in message news:eF3v75$...
>> "Platebanger" <> wrote in message news:VZYpj.3187$lr3.2523@trndny06...
>>> HI Folks, When I try to check contents of "My Computer", "Control Panel" the screen does a
>>> 1 second display then disappears back the Start screen. It was working a couple of days
>>> ago. Should I do a system restore ?
>>>
>>> Also somehow changing Screen Savers is kimted to just a few. Most are disabled. The
>>> computer was a floor model. How can I enable the other Screen Savers ?

>>
>> Type "services.msc" into Start Menu's search bar.
>> Right-click the result at the top, click "Run as administrator"
>>
>> Find the Service "Software Licensing". If it is not running,
>> right-click it and click "Start". If it says it's running, Stop it,
>> then Start it again.
>>
>> Check the properties of the service and make sure it is set
>> to "Automatic".
>>
>>
>> -Michael

>
>

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WMP Will Not RUN, Will Not UNINSTALL, and Will Not REINSTALL rcurrens Windows Media Player 18 03-11-2009 04:24 AM
WMP Will Not Run, Will Not Uninstall, and Will Not Reinstall rcurrens Windows Media Player 1 02-08-2009 08:01 AM
Re: Mail rule not wotking Windows Vista Mail 0 12-24-2008 02:16 AM
media center stopped wotking Will Schuitman Windows Vista Music, Pictures and Video 37 01-05-2007 07:19 PM