Windows Vista Tips

Windows Vista Tips > Newsgroups > Windows 64 Bit > Windows 8 and TPM (USB and pin)

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

Windows 8 and TPM (USB and pin)

 
 
joespam8@gmail.com
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      12-15-2012
Hi all.

I have just got a new computer and didn't know anything about TPM. Sadly mymotherboard (ASUS Maximus Gene V) doesn't support TPM :-( but I know of the possibility to setup TPM on USB. I have done so but I have a strange result.

What I really want is to utilize my USB plus have a password/pin just afterBIOS. When I sutdown my computer or restart, it actually do prompt me for a password, but if I go in to BIOS and exit again, it just boots up in to Windows! Either that is a fault in Windows or I have setup something.

So my question is - is it possible to setup/force a password/pin when my computer starts up!? And if so, how exactly to set it up?

I have looked a countless number of suggestions but still with no luck.
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Charlie Russel-MVP
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      12-20-2012
Switch motherboards to one that supports TPM?

Seriously, I think you're running up against the limitations of the USB
version of BitLocker. However, you might have a reasonable workaround -- use
the features of the BIOS to install a password. I'm pretty sure the Asus
BIOS supports a password requirement. You can add one to the BIOS as well.

--
Charlie.
http://blogs.msmvps.com/russel


<> wrote in message
news:b487a296-c065-448f-a68b-...
Hi all.

I have just got a new computer and didn't know anything about TPM. Sadly my
motherboard (ASUS Maximus Gene V) doesn't support TPM :-( but I know of the
possibility to setup TPM on USB. I have done so but I have a strange result.

What I really want is to utilize my USB plus have a password/pin just after
BIOS. When I sutdown my computer or restart, it actually do prompt me for a
password, but if I go in to BIOS and exit again, it just boots up in to
Windows! Either that is a fault in Windows or I have setup something.

So my question is - is it possible to setup/force a password/pin when my
computer starts up!? And if so, how exactly to set it up?

I have looked a countless number of suggestions but still with no luck.

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Re: Windows Vista and TPM Services PA Bear Windows Vista Security 6 01-03-2007 06:34 AM
TPM 1.2 error message: " the firmware does not support using TPM during a boot " Manuel Lopez Windows Vista Installation 3 06-02-2006 01:25 AM
TPM 1.2 error message: " the firmware does not support using TPM during a boot " Manuel Lopez Windows Vista Security 3 06-02-2006 01:25 AM
TPM 1.2 error message: " the firmware does not support using TPM during a boot " Manuel Lopez Windows Vista General Discussion 3 06-02-2006 01:25 AM
TPM 1.2 error message: " the firmware does not support using TPM during a boot " Manuel Lopez Windows Vista Hardware 3 06-02-2006 01:25 AM