Windows Vista Tips

Windows Vista Tips > Newsgroups > Windows Server > Server Setup > WS08R2 Can't Activate or Update but can browse internet OK

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

WS08R2 Can't Activate or Update but can browse internet OK

 
 
gocat2005
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      10-05-2009
Hello

I have a new server machine and a new DVD of WS2008R2. Setup runs OK

On the Initial Cofiguration Page I click Activate but it cannot, I had to
activate over the phone. Then I click Download and Install updates but it
encouters an unkown error 80072F8F

I have not gotten as far as adding roles or features yet

Any ideas?
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Meinolf Weber [MVP-DS]
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      10-05-2009
Hello gocat2005,

Did tou configure the NIC or don't youhave internet access? Please be more
specific, never had problems to activate to MS. And if you can not update
it sounds for me a connection problem to the internet, so also describe how
your network is setup.

Best regards

Meinolf Weber
Disclaimer: This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers
no rights.
** Please do NOT email, only reply to Newsgroups
** HELP us help YOU!!! http://www.blakjak.demon.co.uk/mul_crss.htm


> Hello
>
> I have a new server machine and a new DVD of WS2008R2. Setup runs OK
>
> On the Initial Cofiguration Page I click Activate but it cannot, I had
> to activate over the phone. Then I click Download and Install updates
> but it encouters an unkown error 80072F8F
>
> I have not gotten as far as adding roles or features yet
>
> Any ideas?
>



 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
gocat2005
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      10-05-2009
Hi Meinolf

Yes I have configured the NIC and I can brwose the internet like it says in
the subject.

Regards
Graham


"Meinolf Weber [MVP-DS]" wrote:

> Hello gocat2005,
>
> Did tou configure the NIC or don't youhave internet access? Please be more
> specific, never had problems to activate to MS. And if you can not update
> it sounds for me a connection problem to the internet, so also describe how
> your network is setup.
>
> Best regards
>
> Meinolf Weber
> Disclaimer: This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers
> no rights.
> ** Please do NOT email, only reply to Newsgroups
> ** HELP us help YOU!!! http://www.blakjak.demon.co.uk/mul_crss.htm
>
>
> > Hello
> >
> > I have a new server machine and a new DVD of WS2008R2. Setup runs OK
> >
> > On the Initial Cofiguration Page I click Activate but it cannot, I had
> > to activate over the phone. Then I click Download and Install updates
> > but it encouters an unkown error 80072F8F
> >
> > I have not gotten as far as adding roles or features yet
> >
> > Any ideas?
> >

>
>
>

 
Reply With Quote
 
Meinolf Weber [MVP-DS]
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      10-05-2009
Hello gocat2005,

Check out:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929458

Best regards

Meinolf Weber
Disclaimer: This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers
no rights.
** Please do NOT email, only reply to Newsgroups
** HELP us help YOU!!! http://www.blakjak.demon.co.uk/mul_crss.htm


> Hi Meinolf
>
> Yes I have configured the NIC and I can brwose the internet like it
> says in the subject.
>
> Regards
> Graham
> "Meinolf Weber [MVP-DS]" wrote:
>
>> Hello gocat2005,
>>
>> Did tou configure the NIC or don't youhave internet access? Please be
>> more specific, never had problems to activate to MS. And if you can
>> not update it sounds for me a connection problem to the internet, so
>> also describe how your network is setup.
>>
>> Best regards
>>
>> Meinolf Weber
>> Disclaimer: This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and
>> confers
>> no rights.
>> ** Please do NOT email, only reply to Newsgroups
>> ** HELP us help YOU!!! http://www.blakjak.demon.co.uk/mul_crss.htm
>>> Hello
>>>
>>> I have a new server machine and a new DVD of WS2008R2. Setup runs OK
>>>
>>> On the Initial Cofiguration Page I click Activate but it cannot, I
>>> had to activate over the phone. Then I click Download and Install
>>> updates but it encouters an unkown error 80072F8F
>>>
>>> I have not gotten as far as adding roles or features yet
>>>
>>> Any ideas?
>>>



 
Reply With Quote
 
gocat2005
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      10-05-2009
Thank you very much - it was the computer clock way out.

Regards
Graham

"Meinolf Weber [MVP-DS]" wrote:

> Hello gocat2005,
>
> Did tou configure the NIC or don't youhave internet access? Please be more
> specific, never had problems to activate to MS. And if you can not update
> it sounds for me a connection problem to the internet, so also describe how
> your network is setup.
>
> Best regards
>
> Meinolf Weber
> Disclaimer: This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers
> no rights.
> ** Please do NOT email, only reply to Newsgroups
> ** HELP us help YOU!!! http://www.blakjak.demon.co.uk/mul_crss.htm
>
>
> > Hello
> >
> > I have a new server machine and a new DVD of WS2008R2. Setup runs OK
> >
> > On the Initial Cofiguration Page I click Activate but it cannot, I had
> > to activate over the phone. Then I click Download and Install updates
> > but it encouters an unkown error 80072F8F
> >
> > I have not gotten as far as adding roles or features yet
> >
> > Any ideas?
> >

>
>
>

 
Reply With Quote
 
Meinolf Weber [MVP-DS]
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      10-06-2009
Hello gocat2005,

Thanks for the feedback with your solution.

Best regards

Meinolf Weber
Disclaimer: This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers
no rights.
** Please do NOT email, only reply to Newsgroups
** HELP us help YOU!!! http://www.blakjak.demon.co.uk/mul_crss.htm


> Thank you very much - it was the computer clock way out.
>
> Regards
> Graham
> "Meinolf Weber [MVP-DS]" wrote:
>
>> Hello gocat2005,
>>
>> Did tou configure the NIC or don't youhave internet access? Please be
>> more specific, never had problems to activate to MS. And if you can
>> not update it sounds for me a connection problem to the internet, so
>> also describe how your network is setup.
>>
>> Best regards
>>
>> Meinolf Weber
>> Disclaimer: This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and
>> confers
>> no rights.
>> ** Please do NOT email, only reply to Newsgroups
>> ** HELP us help YOU!!! http://www.blakjak.demon.co.uk/mul_crss.htm
>>> Hello
>>>
>>> I have a new server machine and a new DVD of WS2008R2. Setup runs OK
>>>
>>> On the Initial Cofiguration Page I click Activate but it cannot, I
>>> had to activate over the phone. Then I click Download and Install
>>> updates but it encouters an unkown error 80072F8F
>>>
>>> I have not gotten as far as adding roles or features yet
>>>
>>> Any ideas?
>>>



 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
25 day(s) to activate. Activate Windows now. churin Windows Vista General Discussion 12 06-28-2008 10:56 PM
Re: Can't browse to a menu item, but can Open it and browse to it Leonard Grey Internet Explorer 2 12-28-2007 01:32 AM
IE6 Unable to Browse Intranet But Able to Browse Internet rudran Internet Explorer 0 10-26-2007 03:13 AM
Can't Activate - Clicking Activate Windows Does Nothing :( war59312 Windows Vista General Discussion 1 03-06-2007 07:31 AM
Cannot browse Internet Sites with IE7+ and Vista b2, Can browse LAN sites KG Windows Vista General Discussion 7 06-05-2006 04:46 PM