Windows Vista Tips

Windows Vista Tips > Newsgroups > Virtual PC > XP Mode Newb Questions

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

XP Mode Newb Questions

 
 
Karl E. Peterson
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      11-24-2009
Can you have more than one "XP Mode" VMs? Or are all other VMs of the
old-fasioned variety?

Can an application installed under "XP Mode" be set to startup at
login? (How?)

Can an association be made between a Windows 7-hosted filetype and an
application installed to run under "XP Mode"?

--
[.NET: It's About Trust!]


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Robert Comer
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      11-24-2009
>Can you have more than one "XP Mode" VMs? Or are all other VMs of the
>old-fasioned variety?


Yes, you can have more than one that act like XP Mode, but I think you
only get one license.

>Can an application installed under "XP Mode" be set to startup at
>login? (How?)


Drop the app icon into the startup folder? (I never tried that, but
it should work)

>Can an association be made between a Windows 7-hosted filetype and an
>application installed to run under "XP Mode"?


Kind of a reverse XP mode? (if type X, shell back to win 7 and open
it?) I don't think so.

--
Bob Comer


On Tue, 24 Nov 2009 09:24:00 -0800, Karl E. Peterson <>
wrote:

>Can you have more than one "XP Mode" VMs? Or are all other VMs of the
>old-fasioned variety?
>
>Can an application installed under "XP Mode" be set to startup at
>login? (How?)
>
>Can an association be made between a Windows 7-hosted filetype and an
>application installed to run under "XP Mode"?

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Karl E. Peterson
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      11-24-2009
Robert Comer submitted this idea :
>> Can you have more than one "XP Mode" VMs? Or are all other VMs of the
>> old-fasioned variety?

>
> Yes, you can have more than one that act like XP Mode, but I think you
> only get one license.


MSDN would seem to cover that. It's unclear how you might set them up,
though? I guess I should experiment more. (So much to learn!)

>> Can an application installed under "XP Mode" be set to startup at
>> login? (How?)

>
> Drop the app icon into the startup folder? (I never tried that, but
> it should work)


Huh. Okay, I'll try that, too.

>> Can an association be made between a Windows 7-hosted filetype and an
>> application installed to run under "XP Mode"?

>
> Kind of a reverse XP mode? (if type X, shell back to win 7 and open
> it?) I don't think so.


Yeah, this one's actually a proxy question. Someone was asking me if a
VBP file, as part of the host file system, could be associated with
VB6.EXE running in the guest.

--
[.NET: It's About Trust!]


 
Reply With Quote
 
Robert Comer
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      11-24-2009
>MSDN would seem to cover that.

Yepper.

>It's unclear how you might set them up,
>though? I guess I should experiment more. (So much to learn!)


Just set up a new Windows XP VM, install SP3, then the integration
components, log in with the integration components enabled and then
it's just the same.

>Yeah, this one's actually a proxy question. Someone was asking me if a
>VBP file, as part of the host file system, could be associated with
>VB6.EXE running in the guest.


Yes, you can do that, I though you meant the other way around. (data
file in VM, app on the host.) It should be automatic as long as you
get it to publish the icon into the "VMName - Applications folder".

--
Bob Comer



On Tue, 24 Nov 2009 10:16:53 -0800, Karl E. Peterson <>
wrote:

>Robert Comer submitted this idea :
>>> Can you have more than one "XP Mode" VMs? Or are all other VMs of the
>>> old-fasioned variety?

>>
>> Yes, you can have more than one that act like XP Mode, but I think you
>> only get one license.

>
>MSDN would seem to cover that. It's unclear how you might set them up,
>though? I guess I should experiment more. (So much to learn!)
>
>>> Can an application installed under "XP Mode" be set to startup at
>>> login? (How?)

>>
>> Drop the app icon into the startup folder? (I never tried that, but
>> it should work)

>
>Huh. Okay, I'll try that, too.
>
>>> Can an association be made between a Windows 7-hosted filetype and an
>>> application installed to run under "XP Mode"?

>>
>> Kind of a reverse XP mode? (if type X, shell back to win 7 and open
>> it?) I don't think so.

>
>Yeah, this one's actually a proxy question. Someone was asking me if a
>VBP file, as part of the host file system, could be associated with
>VB6.EXE running in the guest.

 
Reply With Quote
 
Karl E. Peterson
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      11-24-2009
After serious thinking Robert Comer wrote :
>> MSDN would seem to cover that.

>
> Yepper.
>
>> It's unclear how you might set them up,
>> though? I guess I should experiment more. (So much to learn!)

>
> Just set up a new Windows XP VM, install SP3, then the integration
> components, log in with the integration components enabled and then
> it's just the same.


Cool! So there's nothing special at all about the one that you
download, other than they give it to you?

Bonus round... What about getting a Win9x VM going? My first attempt
was very discouraging. But then, I got distracted with other stuff.
<g>

>> Yeah, this one's actually a proxy question. Someone was asking me if a
>> VBP file, as part of the host file system, could be associated with
>> VB6.EXE running in the guest.

>
> Yes, you can do that, I though you meant the other way around. (data
> file in VM, app on the host.) It should be automatic as long as you
> get it to publish the icon into the "VMName - Applications folder".


Ahhhh... Excellent! I'll pass that along to my friend.

--
[.NET: It's About Trust!]


 
Reply With Quote
 
Robert Comer
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      11-24-2009
>Cool! So there's nothing special at all about the one that you
>download, other than they give it to you?


It's kind of minimized a bit for space reasons, but that's it as far
as I know. I'll do some testing to make sure.

>Bonus round... What about getting a Win9x VM going? My first attempt
>was very discouraging. But then, I got distracted with other stuff.
><g>


I have one that works, but I brought it over from VPC 2007. Setup
might be a bit iffy because of the floppy. You actually need to use
VB script to attach a floppy image, and WVPC doesn't support floppies
with the UI.

--
Bob Comer




On Tue, 24 Nov 2009 12:10:11 -0800, Karl E. Peterson <>
wrote:

>After serious thinking Robert Comer wrote :
>>> MSDN would seem to cover that.

>>
>> Yepper.
>>
>>> It's unclear how you might set them up,
>>> though? I guess I should experiment more. (So much to learn!)

>>
>> Just set up a new Windows XP VM, install SP3, then the integration
>> components, log in with the integration components enabled and then
>> it's just the same.

>
>Cool! So there's nothing special at all about the one that you
>download, other than they give it to you?
>
>Bonus round... What about getting a Win9x VM going? My first attempt
>was very discouraging. But then, I got distracted with other stuff.
><g>
>
>>> Yeah, this one's actually a proxy question. Someone was asking me if a
>>> VBP file, as part of the host file system, could be associated with
>>> VB6.EXE running in the guest.

>>
>> Yes, you can do that, I though you meant the other way around. (data
>> file in VM, app on the host.) It should be automatic as long as you
>> get it to publish the icon into the "VMName - Applications folder".

>
>Ahhhh... Excellent! I'll pass that along to my friend.

 
Reply With Quote
 
Karl E. Peterson
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      11-24-2009
on 11/24/2009, Robert Comer supposed :
>> Cool! So there's nothing special at all about the one that you
>> download, other than they give it to you?

>
> It's kind of minimized a bit for space reasons, but that's it as far
> as I know. I'll do some testing to make sure.


So one could probably copy that VHD, create a new VM, and point at the
copy for the disk, huh? Hypothetically speaking, if one were to want
the "minimized for space reasons" type setup.

>> Bonus round... What about getting a Win9x VM going? My first attempt
>> was very discouraging. But then, I got distracted with other stuff.
>> <g>

>
> I have one that works, but I brought it over from VPC 2007. Setup
> might be a bit iffy because of the floppy. You actually need to use
> VB script to attach a floppy image, and WVPC doesn't support floppies
> with the UI.


Yeah, I miss the ability to just drag images onto the status bar. That
was cool. There seems to be no (easy) way to change them when the VM
is up and running?

I have one built, actually from back in VPC 2004, but when I tried
starting it in W7 it popped an ugly little error:

Error Message: Initializing Device IOS Windows Protection Error

Ugh! And the "fix" appears to be one I'll need to actually find a
spare afternoon to sort out:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/263466 :-(

--
[.NET: It's About Trust!]


 
Reply With Quote
 
Robert Comer
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      11-24-2009
>So one could probably copy that VHD, create a new VM, and point at the
>copy for the disk, huh? Hypothetically speaking, if one were to want
>the "minimized for space reasons" type setup.


Or just install XP Mode again, it wont name it the same. Might be
better...

>Yeah, I miss the ability to just drag images onto the status bar. That
>was cool. There seems to be no (easy) way to change them when the VM
>is up and running?


Unfortunately not. They went a different direction and for pretty
good reasons (RAIL), but they did lose some things too.

>Error Message: Initializing Device IOS Windows Protection Error


The old too fast a computer problem. <g>

--
Bob Comer




On Tue, 24 Nov 2009 13:47:30 -0800, Karl E. Peterson <>
wrote:

>on 11/24/2009, Robert Comer supposed :
>>> Cool! So there's nothing special at all about the one that you
>>> download, other than they give it to you?

>>
>> It's kind of minimized a bit for space reasons, but that's it as far
>> as I know. I'll do some testing to make sure.

>
>So one could probably copy that VHD, create a new VM, and point at the
>copy for the disk, huh? Hypothetically speaking, if one were to want
>the "minimized for space reasons" type setup.
>
>>> Bonus round... What about getting a Win9x VM going? My first attempt
>>> was very discouraging. But then, I got distracted with other stuff.
>>> <g>

>>
>> I have one that works, but I brought it over from VPC 2007. Setup
>> might be a bit iffy because of the floppy. You actually need to use
>> VB script to attach a floppy image, and WVPC doesn't support floppies
>> with the UI.

>
>Yeah, I miss the ability to just drag images onto the status bar. That
>was cool. There seems to be no (easy) way to change them when the VM
>is up and running?
>
>I have one built, actually from back in VPC 2004, but when I tried
>starting it in W7 it popped an ugly little error:
>
>Error Message: Initializing Device IOS Windows Protection Error
>
>Ugh! And the "fix" appears to be one I'll need to actually find a
>spare afternoon to sort out:
>
>http://support.microsoft.com/kb/263466 :-(

 
Reply With Quote
 
Karl E. Peterson
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      11-24-2009
Robert Comer laid this down on his screen :
>> So one could probably copy that VHD, create a new VM, and point at the
>> copy for the disk, huh? Hypothetically speaking, if one were to want
>> the "minimized for space reasons" type setup.

>
> Or just install XP Mode again, it wont name it the same. Might be
> better...


So it'll just append one of those lovely (2)'s to the end?

Is renaming a machine the same as before, where you just rename all the
files, then hand edit the VMC?

>> Yeah, I miss the ability to just drag images onto the status bar. That
>> was cool. There seems to be no (easy) way to change them when the VM
>> is up and running?

>
> Unfortunately not. They went a different direction and for pretty
> good reasons (RAIL), but they did lose some things too.


WTH's a RAIL?

>> Error Message: Initializing Device IOS Windows Protection Error

>
> The old too fast a computer problem. <g>


Heh, crap. It was working just fine on the same computer when XP was
the host! Serious?

--
[.NET: It's About Trust!]


 
Reply With Quote
 
Robert Comer
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      11-25-2009
> So it'll just append one of those lovely (2)'s to the end?

Yep. The second one will be 1 though. <g>

> WTH's a RAIL?


I really don't know what it stands for but it's what gives you the seamless
app capability.

> Heh, crap. It was working just fine on the same computer when XP was
> the host! Serious?


Most likely, yep, performance is better. and you said it was VPC2004, that
didn't have hw virtualization capabilities.

--
Bob Comer




Karl E. Peterson wrote:
> Robert Comer laid this down on his screen :
>>> So one could probably copy that VHD, create a new VM, and point at
>>> the copy for the disk, huh? Hypothetically speaking, if one were to
>>> want the "minimized for space reasons" type setup.

>>
>> Or just install XP Mode again, it wont name it the same. Might be
>> better...

>
> So it'll just append one of those lovely (2)'s to the end?
>
> Is renaming a machine the same as before, where you just rename all the
> files, then hand edit the VMC?
>
>>> Yeah, I miss the ability to just drag images onto the status bar.
>>> That was cool. There seems to be no (easy) way to change them when
>>> the VM is up and running?

>>
>> Unfortunately not. They went a different direction and for pretty
>> good reasons (RAIL), but they did lose some things too.

>
> WTH's a RAIL?
>
>>> Error Message: Initializing Device IOS Windows Protection Error

>>
>> The old too fast a computer problem. <g>

>
> Heh, crap. It was working just fine on the same computer when XP was
> the host! Serious?
>

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NewB question regarding filter drivers Natalia DeBow Windows Vista Drivers 2 08-25-2007 10:21 PM
NewB to Vista Premium drybones Windows Vista General Discussion 2 04-21-2007 01:42 PM
NewB to Vista Mail has question drybones Windows Vista Mail 2 04-20-2007 09:00 AM
Newb to MCE, can I use it like XP? Raistlin Windows Media Center 5 01-04-2006 09:59 PM
Purely newb questions cloned1 Windows 64 Bit 6 12-19-2005 03:33 AM