can deleted items ALL just go into the main Deleted items folder?

Discussion in 'Windows Live Mail' started by Destin_FL, Aug 14, 2008.

  1. Destin_FL

    Destin_FL Guest

    Hi all, I am wondering if there is a way to delete an email, and have it
    just go straight to Deleted items in the main folders...?? As it is, with
    numerous email accounts in WMLD I have to manually go in to each account and
    moved the deleted items there to the main deleted items folder.
    Once I delete them, I need them all in one place.

    Thanks!

    Tim
     
    Destin_FL, Aug 14, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Destin_FL

    Ron Sommer Guest

    I don't see Desktop in Microsoft Windows Live Mail 12.0.1606.

    Why don't you create a 'Deleted but still want to keep' folder.
    Move messages to that folder.
    Deleted messages should be messages that you don't want to keep.
     
    Ron Sommer, Aug 14, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Destin_FL

    Destin_FL Guest

    Ronald thanks for the effort, but I guess you missed the meaning of my
    question. But you wanted to chime in anyway to sound important by pointing
    out that WLM and WLMD have essentially morphed into just WLM now. Good for
    you. Kudos also on knowing your own personal definition of "deleted
    messages."

    I was asking how to have all the messages that I delete go automatically
    into the Deleted Items folder.... I do not want to have to go through all
    the individual account Deleted items folders to drag deleted messages into
    the main Deleted items folder....

    Tim





    From: Ron Sommer
    Sent: Thursday, August 14, 2008 9:28 AM
    Newsgroups: microsoft.public.windows.live.mail.desktop
    Subject: Re: can deleted items ALL just go into the main Deleted items
    folder?


    I don't see Desktop in Microsoft Windows Live Mail 12.0.1606.

    Why don't you create a 'Deleted but still want to keep' folder.
    Move messages to that folder.
    Deleted messages should be messages that you don't want to keep.
    --
     
    Destin_FL, Aug 14, 2008
    #3
  4. Not sensible.

    I want to delete messages in SOME accounts and leave them in others.

    Don't DRAG them -- just delete them from the individual folders.

    Wake Up!

    Piece of cake.

    DSH
     
    D. Spencer Hines, Aug 14, 2008
    #4
  5. Destin_FL

    Ron Sommer Guest

    What is the reason for wanting to move deleted messages to one folder?
    Most of the time when I delete message, I use Shift + Delete. This bypasses
    the deleted folder.
    Why don't you create a message rule to move all email to the main Inbox?
    Then, when you delete it will be in the main deleted folder.
     
    Ron Sommer, Aug 14, 2008
    #5
  6. Your problem description is not very clear. What do you mean by
    "Deleted items in the main folders"?
    There is no so thing as a "main deleted items folder".
    If you don't want to go into the individual Deleted Items folders,
    simply set up a Quick View for all Deleted Items.
     
    Gary VanderMolen, Aug 14, 2008
    #6
  7. Destin_FL

    Destin_FL Guest

    Hey Ron,
    Here's the reason: I have 6 email accounts in WLM - if I delete an email,
    it goes to that account's individual deleted items folder. So over the
    course of 3 or 4 weeks, I will then have 6 different folders to look through
    to find a message I need. Yeah, I know, it has been deleted, blah blah
    blah..... but we all know all too well, that fortunately we get two bites at
    the deleted apple. I don't know how many times I have needed to retrieve a
    "deleted" email for whatever reasons, or check it for an address, phone
    number, etc.

    It also means that when I decide to delete past emails, I have to now go in
    to 6 separate deleted folders just to actually delete email. As opposed to
    Outlook Express where every email that got deleted ended up in the same big
    "global" deleted folder.

    If there were a Quick View for "ALL deleted mail," that would solve my
    problem, but there is not. So I have to open 6 separate accounts to either
    Find or Delete emails.

    T



    ________
     
    Destin_FL, Aug 14, 2008
    #7
  8. Destin_FL

    Destin_FL Guest

    In 12.0.1606 there is no option for an All Deleted Quick View; that would
    be great if there were. But even if there were I would still have open 6
    different Deleted folders just to delete email.

    secondly, I have a Deleted items folder in the same place it always was in
    OEx6; there on the left with Outbox Inbox - Sent Items - Junk Email -
    Drafts. Right over in that list is a main Deleted Items folder with a
    little trash can next to it.

    T




    ___________
     
    Destin_FL, Aug 14, 2008
    #8
  9. I stand corrected. "Quick views" doesn't have an option for
    All Deleted Items, a major omission in my opinion.

    Are you referring to the Deleted Items folder that is under
    "Storage folders"? That's only meant for holding deleted newsgroup
    messages and other items deleted from folders under Storage
    folders.
     
    Gary VanderMolen, Aug 14, 2008
    #9
  10. Destin_FL

    Ron Sommer Guest

    In OE, default folders should not be used for long term storage.
    Make a user created folder and move messages to that folder.

    You can do the same thing in WLM.
    After highlighting a message, right click, Move to folder.
     
    Ron Sommer, Aug 15, 2008
    #10
  11. Destin_FL

    ...winston Guest

    Regardless of how many accounts one manages in WLM or how often responses are not satisfactory, if not desiring to move messages to
    another folder(manually or via a rule), then accessing each accounts Deleted Items folder is the only remaining option.

    I have 9 accounts in WLM (3 Live ID, 6 Pop3)....I'm quite confident that when I delete something I will never need it again. So
    confident that I enable Empty Deleted Items on Exit in WLM to ensure that the Pop3 and Storage Folder Deleted items are emptied.
     
    ...winston, Aug 15, 2008
    #11
  12. It must be nice to be that confident about your deleted items. :)
    But as they say, sh*t happens! Quite a few times I have deleted an email, only to find out a few days later that some condition or aspect has changed, causing me to have to revisit the issue. For that reason I let emails in Deleted Items simmer for about one week, before the final emptying.

    --
    Gary VanderMolen, MS-MVP (Mail)


     
    Gary VanderMolen, Aug 15, 2008
    #12
  13. Destin_FL

    Destin_FL Guest

    hahahe yeah, exactly Gary, for me, I also let them simmer in there for a
    week or two before deleting the deleted items.

    Tim


    __________
     
    Destin_FL, Aug 16, 2008
    #13
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.