D drive Recovery disk full

Discussion in 'Windows Vista Hardware' started by johnVista, Aug 7, 2007.

  1. johnVista

    johnVista Guest

    I made the mistake of backing up my system by letting the backed-up files go
    to the D drive, which was the default. I just let it back up all files, but
    it was running out of disk space before it could finish.
    Now, I keep getting the message "Low Disk Space" on Drive D at the bottom of
    my screen. It lets me 'X' away this message, but it keeps coming back. It
    said I could have it clean up this drive to make more space, but when I do,
    it then warns that this is the Recovery drive and I shouldn't do it.
    I even did a System Restore back to Factory Settings, and it did restore the
    C drive to Factory Settings, but the D drive remained full.
    At least if I could shut off this notification, I would be happy, but 'X'ing
    it just makes it come back.
    Any suggestions?
     
    johnVista, Aug 7, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. johnVista

    PvdG42 Guest


    You're going to have to look at the content of D: and figure out which files
    and folders were added by you, then delete them.
    If you have no idea which files and folders to keep, I'd suggest that you
    post the exact make and model of the computer in question, so that somebody
    with the same hardware can tell you which entries on D: must be kept. You
    can also contact the tech support for your computer and ask for the same
    information.
     
    PvdG42, Aug 7, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. johnVista

    Michael Guest

    The D drive is almost certainly the recovery partition from which you
    restored back to factory settings. You should not add stuff (i.e. backups)
    to this partition.

    Begin Soapbox
    The manufactures that leave the restore partition visable should be
    inundated with trouble calls till they stop that!
    End Soapbox

    Easiest thing is to hide the partition from Vista (not from the restore
    operation).

    Start orb
    type computer management
    select computer management from program area of list
    select storage/disk management

    for Disk 0 there should be multiple partitions showing one of which is D
    right click it, change drive letters and paths
    the D: entry should be highlited, click on Remove the partion will now have
    no drive letter and Vista will not see it.

    This change can be reversed, no damage to the data in the partition, and the
    partition is still available for restore if necessary.

    Because Vista no longer sees this partition you will no longer get warnings
    about it being full.

    As far as backups are concerned you will have to select somewhere else to
    backup your files.
    I backup to DVD /RW but that is a lot of DVD's. Others backup to external
    USB drives, pretty inexpensive nowdays.

    Michel
     
    Michael, Aug 7, 2007
    #3
  4. johnVista

    dxn Guest

    Michael, thank you for this posting. It addresses an issue I have--the
    drive almost full--and offers a solution. This neophyte appreciates your
    answer.

    dxn
     
    dxn, Sep 20, 2007
    #4
  5. johnVista

    DavidMoss Guest

    Hi

    I am also getting the 'low disc space' error for the recovery (D:)
    drive and can see that it is only 10 gig in size.

    Should I try to expand the size of this partition, or is this not
    possible?

    Also, I presume this is the default location for the system restore; I
    dont seem to be able to change the location to back up to the C: drive.
    (Only to an external drive or disc).

    Does the system restore automatically delete old back-ups to create
    room for new ones, and if so, why does this not happen before the D:
    drive is full?

    I am now receiving a message that the last back-up was not successful.

    Reading the previous discussions, I can see some suggestions are to
    stop system restore, which I dont really want to do, or to delete files
    stored on the drive, which again I don't want to do.

    What is the best thing to do?
     
    DavidMoss, Sep 24, 2007
    #5
  6. johnVista

    Cal Bear '66 Guest

    The D: drive is a partition set up by your computer manufacturer to enable you
    to restore your computer to a factory shipped condition. It has NOTHING to do
    with Vista's System Restore or Vista's backup features. Unless you made Restore
    DVD's from the partition and you think that some time in the future you will
    want to return to the factory condition, you should leave this partition alone
    and not use it for anything at all.

    If the low space warnings bother you, you can unassign a drive letter in
    Computer Management > Disk Management.


    I Bleed Blue and Gold
    GO BEARS!
     
    Cal Bear '66, Sep 24, 2007
    #6
  7. johnVista

    EE-Gene Guest

    Greetings Michael,

    I just posted (3/14) a question under Vista General related to the subject
    above and your response.
    Would you please look at my post and make comments?
    Thanks
     
    EE-Gene, Mar 15, 2008
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.