Deleting icons on 1 account ,delete's same icon on every account.

Discussion in 'Windows Vista Administration' started by Sim...., Nov 9, 2007.

  1. Sim....

    Sim.... Guest

    Hi, people, I have Vista x64 premium installed on my machine with 2 accounts,
    1 for the kids that is limited & 1 for me ,Adminstrator, When i install
    something on my account , it places an icon on my desktop ,all well and good,
    however if i then switch to the kids 'limited' account, the icons are on
    their desktop, so i promptly delete them, which vista then asks me for the
    admin password before it can perform the operation, so i type my password in,
    then it delete's the icon from the kids account, however on returning to my
    account ,the icons have also been deleted from my desktop. How the heck can
    you stop this from happening. , other than that , i am quite happy with my
    Vista......
     
    Sim...., Nov 9, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Sim....

    P. Di Stolfo Guest

    Hello,

    can you check if the icons/shortcuts are in the folder
    C:\Users\ <Your account name> \Desktop
    ?
    Ensure that they are saved there as well before you delete them from your
    kids' account.

    Greetings,
    P. Di Stolfo
     
    P. Di Stolfo, Nov 9, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Sim

    To understand what is happening, you first need to understand the concept
    involved here.

    Many programs will ask, before they install, if you want the program to be
    available to all users on the system or just the user who is installing the
    program. Some programs don't ask and just install the program for all users.
    When this happens you get the result that you are seeing.

    There are 2 locations for the desktop in Vista.

    C:\Users\Public\Desktop is the location for All Users. Any shortcut icon in
    this folder will appear on every users desktop.

    C:\Users\user name\Desktop is the location for each individual user. Any
    shortcut icon in this folder will only appear on that invidual users
    desktop.

    To get the result you want, If a programs installation places an icon in the
    all users desktop folder, you can simply move that icon from that folder to
    your individual desktop folder.

    Note: The reason you are getting the administrator prompt when you delete
    the icon from the limited accounts desktop, is that this deletes the icon
    from the all users desktop folder and only an administrator can perform an
    action that affects all users on the system.
     
    Ronnie Vernon MVP, Nov 9, 2007
    #3
  4. Sim....

    Sim.... Guest

    ok, i understand that, but when i was using winxp, this did not happen as far
    as i can remember, Vista must be slightly different in this respect, that is
    why i was surprised this was happening.....Thanks for the replies.
     
    Sim...., Nov 9, 2007
    #4
  5. Sim

    Your welcome.
     
    Ronnie Vernon MVP, Nov 9, 2007
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.