Disconnecting File Share Sessions

Discussion in 'Windows Server' started by Chris, Feb 19, 2007.

  1. Chris

    Chris Guest

    Hi,

    I have a certain application that access data files on a file share on my
    Win 2003 server. Multiple users use this app from their desktops, accessing
    a common set of data files. The app runs it's own automated backup procedure
    on a schedule, but requires that it has exclusive access to the data files.

    Problem comes in when users forget to shut down the app on their desktops,
    which then causes the backup to fail.

    Is there a way to automatically disconnect all user sessions to this
    particular file share? Would need this disconnect to be scheduled just prior
    to the scheduled backup.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Regards

    Chris
     
    Chris, Feb 19, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Chris

    David Guest

    Well, you could write a script and schedule to run before the backup that
    would disconnect the shares, or you could even reboot the server, which that
    might not be the best way.

    Are you using the backup utility provided with Windows. If you have backup
    software such as Veritas, or CA Arcserve, etc, those apps will allow for an
    open file option.

    You may want to ensure that all users just shutdown or logoff their
    computers before leaving.

    I hope this helps

    David Whicker, MCSE
     
    David, Feb 20, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.