Files Marked as "Read Only"

Discussion in 'Windows Vista File Management' started by Charley911, Jun 22, 2006.

  1. Charley911

    Charley911 Guest

    When I upgraded my computer to Vista it marked all of my files in "My
    Documents" as "Read Only". I can access and save documents in these files
    from my computer as though they are not "Read Only", however when I attempt
    to access thes files from another computer (Running Windows XP) on my home
    network I am not able to save into these files and get a message on the other
    computer that they are "Read Only".

    When I attempt to remove the "Read Only" designation from the files Vista
    goes through the process of doing this, but when I reopen the files they are
    still designated as "Rean Only".

    Has anyone else seen this problem and do you have a solution?
     
    Charley911, Jun 22, 2006
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Charley911

    Jimmy Brush Guest

    Hello,

    In Control Panel -> Network and Internet -> Network File and Printer
    Sharing:

    Do you have the Network Access option set to "Anyone who can connect to my
    network"?

    - JB
     
    Jimmy Brush, Jun 30, 2006
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Charley911

    Charley911 Guest

    Yes, it is set to anyone who can connect to my computer. Any other
    suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
     
    Charley911, Jun 30, 2006
    #3
  4. Charley911

    Jimmy Brush Guest

    Try these steps to see if it helps ... this works for the Public folder, but
    I think it should also work in your case.

    If you set Network Access to "Anyone who can connect to my network" and have
    shared folders that allow write access, you must follow additional steps to
    get write access to work properly.

    *These steps are necessary due to bugs in Windows Vista Beta 2, and should
    not be necessary in the future.*

    Step 1:

    - Click start
    - Type: cmd
    - Right-click cmd when it appears under Programs
    - Click run as administrator
    - If prompted for permission, click Continue
    - Type: net localgroup users guest /add
    - Press enter

    Step 2:

    - Click Start
    - Click Computer
    - Double-click on the drive with the windows logo in it (should be first one
    listed)
    - Right-click the Users folder
    - Click Share...
    - Click Advanced Sharing
    - If prompted for permission, click Continue
    - Make sure there is a checkbox next to "Yes, share this folder"
    - Click Permissions
    - Click Add
    - Type: Everyone
    - Press enter
    - Click the checkbox next to Full Control under Allow
    - Press OK
    - Press OK
    - Press OK

    NOTE: If you were browsing your Vista computer when you made these changes,
    you may have to restart the computer you were browsing from to notice these
    changes.
     
    Jimmy Brush, Jun 30, 2006
    #4
  5. Charley911

    cf Guest

    When I upgraded my computer to Vista it marked all of my files in "My
    I have the same problem, and haven't found the solution yet.
     
    cf, Jul 1, 2006
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.