How do I make spacebar play/pause

Discussion in 'Windows Media Player' started by Mat Brady, Feb 24, 2006.

  1. Mat Brady

    Mat Brady Guest

    I'd like to use spacebar to play and pause in Mplayer10.

    Does Mplayer10 allow for keyboard shortcuts at all?

    If not, is there a plug-in that allows for it? Or a patch, update, (or even
    a crack) anywhwere that allows spacebar to play/pause?

    If not... If it is completely impossible to do this simple task, then please
    answer me this question- why is it that *ALL* other players have spacebar to
    play/pause yet Mplayer10 does not, nor does it even offer the people who've
    used every other player the option of spacebar play/pause? Really, why?
     
    Mat Brady, Feb 24, 2006
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Mat Brady

    JDMaddison Guest

    > Does Mplayer10 allow for keyboard shortcuts at all?

    Checking on the menu, the Play menu lists Play / Pause as Ctrl-P, so yes, it
    does. I see Eject is Ctrl-E and Ctrl-H is Shuffle as well, not that these are
    particularly useful.

    > If not, is there a plug-in that allows for it? Or a patch, update, (or even
    > a crack) anywhwere that allows spacebar to play/pause?


    You could use a macro utility to remap the spacebar to be Ctrl-P in WMP, but
    that would make other things inconvenient, such as editing the CD entries.

    > If not... If it is completely impossible to do this simple task, then please
    > answer me this question- why is it that *ALL* other players have spacebar to
    > play/pause yet Mplayer10 does not, nor does it even offer the people who've
    > used every other player the option of spacebar play/pause? Really, why?


    Because... Microsoft is the 800 lb gorilla here... because they would love
    to sell you an enhanced keyboard with dedicated controls for WMP (such as the
    Wireless Desktop Elite I'm using now)... or because WMP is free and they
    don't want to put much effort into it any more. Take your pick. Note that the
    dedicated keyboard control on the top still isn't as convenient as the
    spacebar would be ...

    Hope this helps,

    JDMaddison
    Minneapolis, MN
     
    JDMaddison, Feb 25, 2006
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Mat Brady

    zachd [MSFT] Guest

    "JDMaddison" <> wrote in message
    news:...
    >> If not... If it is completely impossible to do this simple task, then
    >> please
    >> answer me this question- why is it that *ALL* other players have spacebar
    >> to
    >> play/pause yet Mplayer10 does not, nor does it even offer the people
    >> who've
    >> used every other player the option of spacebar play/pause? Really, why?


    > Because... Microsoft is the 800 lb gorilla here... because they would love
    > to sell you an enhanced keyboard with dedicated controls for WMP (such as
    > the
    > Wireless Desktop Elite I'm using now)... or because WMP is free and they
    > don't want to put much effort into it any more. Take your pick. Note that
    > the
    > dedicated keyboard control on the top still isn't as convenient as the
    > spacebar would be ...


    JD often has good information. Happily, in this case this is something I
    had taken a personal interest in back when this changed over five years ago,
    and spoke with David (owner of the area about) about it.

    This changed because there's no way to get the spacebar sending a generic
    message when there's so many potential points of focus such as embedded UI
    elements. (WMP6's simple UI, of course, didn't have this problem.) There's
    enough points of focus in the player that catching the spacebar can get in
    the way of valid library options.

    So yeah, it's something that's thought about, but it's not something that
    works well in practice.

    WMP's free... but I did buy dinner for my teammates last night at 9,
    finished up work at 3am... I can't speak to others, but I give my best.
    ;-)

    -Zach
    --
    Windows Media Development Team (speaking for myself only)
    See http://zachd.com/pss/pss.html for some helpful WMP info.
    This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.
     
    zachd [MSFT], Feb 25, 2006
    #3
  4. Mat Brady

    JDMaddison Guest


    > There's enough points of focus in the player that catching the spacebar can get in
    > the way of valid library options.


    Then how can Ctrl-P be caught? Sorry, rhetorical question-- I'm sure there's
    a good technical reason or you would have figured it out. From your response,
    it does seem like WMP has gotten more complex than the typical user might
    need. Showing the album information and cover image is pretty cool, but
    embedded UI elements that might be grabbing focus -- what are they and why
    are they there? I just want to rip my CD's, label songs, listen to them and
    burn compilations for my "legacy" devices. Are the embedded UI elemements the
    sort of stuff that when I try to lookup album information, it sometimes tells
    me there was a problem on the [web] page and do I want scripting to continue
    for this page? Not knowing which page or how it is supposed to work, never
    mind what actually went wrong, I have no idea. If I had a choice, I'd disable
    all that stuff in favor of some programmable access keys when the library /
    now playing playlist was visible.

    > WMP's free... but I did buy dinner for my teammates last night at 9,
    > finished up work at 3am... I can't speak to others, but I give my best.
    > ;-)


    Sorry, I was bit hard on you guys. Last week, I ran into a wall burning
    playlists from WMP, right before a trip, wouldn't you know, and I tried to
    find out the answer from this newsgroup. I literally found messages from more
    than a year ago that were complaining about the "Inspecting" problem. Dozens
    of messages and the only suggestion was that it might be a codec problem or a
    burner incompatibility, or maybe something equally arcane, but ultimately
    incorrect.

    I didn't have much hope that I could discover the solution when it had been
    clearly bouncing up here for so long, but it bugged me enough, I spent a
    couple of hours messing around with it.

    I was happy to discover that there was an obvious cause and solution. Either
    I'm brilliant (maybe), lucky (I hope), or perhaps just nobody with the right
    toolset or mindset ever sat down with the source code (I just had an
    attitude, not the source) and said, hmm, let's see what might cause
    processing to stop with with this keyword "inspecting" the last thing
    displayed. Or maybe everyone figured it couldn't possibly be the program when
    it's working fine for everybody else?

    Sorry, I know that these are inflammatory questions and that I have no real
    idea of what the situation really is for you guys. I'm sure it's frustrating
    for everyone, and I'm sorry I was not respectful in my previous response.

    Thanks for listening,

    JDMaddison
    Minneapolis, MN
     
    JDMaddison, Mar 2, 2006
    #4
  5. Mat Brady

    MartenKL

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not very user oriented responses from Microsoft, most users prefer space for play/pause as proven popular by free media players.

    Link that is not a link to AutoHotKey installer
    Set your first script (AutoHotKey.ahk) to


    GroupAdd,mplayer,Windows Media Player
    GroupAdd,mplayer,WMPTransition
    GroupAdd,mplayer,Windows Media Center
    GroupAdd,mplayer,WMCTransition
    GroupAdd, wmp, Windows Media Player
    GroupAdd, wmp, ahk_class WMP Skin Host
    GroupAdd, wmp, ahk_class WMPTransition
    GroupAdd, wmp, FullScreenTopLayout
    #IfWinActive, ahk_group wmp
    Space::Send ^p
    Enter::Send !{Enter}
    #IfWinActive
    #IfWinActive,ahk_group mplayer
    Space::Send,{Media_Play_Pause}
    #Ifwinactive,
     
    MartenKL, Sep 22, 2011
    #5
  6. Mat Brady

    AMcG

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    It works!!!

    THANK YOU! I have been looking for a solution to this very irritating problem for years and assumed it could not be fixed. But yours works! You are an absolute STAR!
     
    AMcG, Jan 11, 2014
    #6
  7. Mat Brady

    lyle

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm a windows 10 and it worked for me, MartenKL! THANK YOUUU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
    lyle, Jan 15, 2017
    #7
  8. Mat Brady

    lyle

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    nevermind :( i know the script but i dont know where to put it :/
     
    lyle, Jan 15, 2017
    #8
  9. Mat Brady

    lyle

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    AGAIN, nevermind. It works!!!! All I had to do was run it :DDDDDDDDDDDD
     
    lyle, Jan 15, 2017
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. Jeff Johnson

    Spacebar

    Jeff Johnson, Jan 9, 2007, in forum: Windows Vista Mail
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    587
    Chris Cowles
    Feb 28, 2007
  2. periboob

    Spacebar reading newsfroups in Windows Mail

    periboob, Dec 5, 2007, in forum: Windows Vista Mail
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    558
    Frank Saunders MS-MVP IE,OE/WM
    Dec 10, 2007
  3. Amy!

    the menu that you get when you press alt+spacebar

    Amy!, Nov 1, 2007, in forum: Windows Vista General Discussion
    Replies:
    12
    Views:
    643
    Andre Da Costa[ActiveWin]
    Nov 1, 2007
  4. cumbiagermen

    spacebar not working

    cumbiagermen, Apr 29, 2008, in forum: Windows Vista Hardware
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    538
    cumbiagermen
    Apr 29, 2008
  5. Windows User Undefined

    How do I make the spacebar key the "Pause" key for MCE?

    Windows User Undefined, Aug 5, 2007, in forum: Windows Media Center
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    470
    Windows User Undefined
    Aug 6, 2007
  6. Swifty

    Using the "Pause" key to pause/resume

    Swifty, Aug 7, 2007, in forum: Windows Media Player
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    695
    zachd [MSFT]
    Aug 13, 2007
  7. Art Bunch

    Do i need windows 8 security updates???

    Art Bunch, Jul 9, 2016, in forum: General Windows Vista Discussion
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    1,417
    Art Bunch
    Jul 9, 2016
  8. codeDom
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    987
    codeDom
    Oct 13, 2016
Loading...