Inplace upgarde from NT4 to 2003, concern about PD4 emulator setting

Discussion in 'Active Directory' started by Newbie, Apr 27, 2006.

  1. Newbie

    Newbie Guest

    Hi,

    I currently replicating our environment in MS Virtual Server consisting:

    a) NT4 PDC
    b) NT4 BDC
    c) member computers including XP, W2K, 98

    So far I've done the in-place upgrade of NT4 PDC to Windows 2003 R2 AD. I
    applied the NT4Emulator registry key prior the Windows 2003 upgrade. I've
    confirmed NT4 BDC can still talk to new AD.

    Now I have just installed a new Windows 2003 R2 and set it up as a Domain
    Controller, but I'm not sure if I still need to apply the "NT4Emulator"
    registry key? Or that's only required when upgrading BDC from NT4.

    On a different note, so far the member computers are still using NETBIOS
    domain name (i.e. COMPANY) instead of "domain.com". Is it because of the
    NT4 Emulator key still in effect?

    Appreciate your help,
     
    Newbie, Apr 27, 2006
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. on each new DC you need implement the NT4emulator key if you want the DCs
    NOT to be found for kerberos authentication by w2k/wxp/w2k3 clients and
    servers. remember the domain behaves as an NT4 domain with that key until it
    is removed form the DCs

    --

    Cheers,
    (HOPEFULLY THIS INFORMATION HELPS YOU!)

    # Jorge de Almeida Pinto # MVP Windows Server - Directory Services

    BLOG --> http://blogs.dirteam.com/blogs/jorge/default.aspx
     
    Jorge de Almeida Pinto [MVP], Apr 27, 2006
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Newbie

    Newbie Guest

    I run into a problem when I setup a second DC in the existing domain, this
    is the error I get:

    An Active Directory domain controller for the domain company.com could not
    be contacted.

    DNS was successfully queried for the service location (SRV) resource record
    used to locate a domain controller for domain company.com:

    The query was for the SRV record for _ldap._tcp.dc_msdcs.company.com

    The following domain controllers were identified by the query:

    dc1.company.com

    Common causes of this error include:

    - Host (A) records that map the name of the domain controller to its IP
    addresses are missing or contain incorrect addresses.
    - Domain controllers registered in DNS are not connected to the network or
    are not running.

    I have AD integrated DNS running on dc1.company.com.

    Thanks for your help,




    "Jorge de Almeida Pinto [MVP]"
     
    Newbie, Apr 28, 2006
    #3
  4. Newbie

    Newbie Guest

    Or I can only add a second DC once I raise the domain functionality from
    2003 Interm to 2003 native?
     
    Newbie, Apr 28, 2006
    #4
  5. The mode of the domain or forest won't stop you from adding a 2003 server.
    You probably have a name-resolution issue. Have you implemented
    NeautralizeNT4Emulator?

    See this article for a description of both keys and their uses:
    -- http://www.msresource.net/content/view/48/46/
     
    Paul Williams [MVP], Apr 29, 2006
    #5
  6. Newbie

    Newbie Guest

    Got it, it was the NeutralizeNT4Emulator!

    Thanks Paul.
     
    Newbie, May 1, 2006
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.