Merging Users on Client Computers after server setup

Discussion in 'Windows Small Business Server' started by Indyguinnessgrl, Mar 21, 2007.

  1. I recently set up the server in our small business office. Everything went
    well until I noticed that the server created new profiles for the same user
    on the same client computer. I know that I can just copy all of the files
    over, but I would prefer to just merge the two clients together (original
    user + new client user, which is set up on the server).

    Can I get some help?
     
    Indyguinnessgrl, Mar 21, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Merv Porter [SBS-MVP], Mar 21, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Okay - here's a run down on what I did.

    Computer1 Client 1 (user name PW)- setup before the server. Has all the
    programs and documents on it. Currently setup with Outlook and such.
    I setup SBS and created Computer Client 1 on the server. I then mapped the
    drive to the server. The server created Cleint 2 on Computer 1. Because it
    is a new client, the files from Client 1 are not on Client 2. I cannot
    connect to the server using Client 1 only by using Client 2. Now there is a
    problem. In order to access documents, the user has to be logged in as
    Client 1. In order to access the network, the user has to be logged in to
    Client 2.

    Basically, I need to merge client 1 and client 2 together so that the user
    can access documents AND the server.

    Does this make sense to you?

     
    Indyguinnessgrl, Mar 21, 2007
    #3
  4. Hmmm... Have you joined Computer1 to the domain using the ConnectComputer
    utility? This feature easily allows you to create a "domain" profile for
    Client1 from the Client1 "peer-to-peer" profile on the workstation.

    Also, since you now have a server and you want to set up the esaiest method
    to protect all company data, you really should move the data files from the
    workstations to shared folders on the server. You can restrict or grant
    access per user or (groups of users) and your data files can be centrally
    backed up on a nightly basis by the server for disaster recovery. I'm
    assuming all your workstations are Windows XP Professional and not Home
    Edition.

    --
    Merv Porter [SBS-MVP]
    ============================

     
    Merv Porter [SBS-MVP], Mar 21, 2007
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.