Moving old user profile to new sbs profile HELP

Discussion in 'Windows Small Business Server' started by kslowinski, Sep 8, 2005.

  1. kslowinski

    kslowinski Guest

    Hello,

    I have been banging my head all day... ok just upgraded to from p 2 p
    network to sbs, the clients all have user profiles on them..

    I am trying to move the older user profile to the new profile from sbs.

    I have loged in using the new profile then loged out and logged back in
    using the administrator account of the client computer .. I have tried to
    copy paste the documents seting files form the old profile to the new
    profile.. the computer tells me, sorry you don't have access, check to see if
    the files is write protected, or something like that.. I can actuall log into
    the old profile and move most of the files but some are missing like the
    outlook profile... I am so CRANKY cause of this..

    Have learning SBS ever caused a divorce, heart attack, stroke... I am pretty
    computer litterate but there are some quirkly issues with sbs... If there a
    place where I can get step by step instruction on how to figure things out..
    Next week I am planning to tackle RWW...can't wait is there any step by step
    instructions for that..

    Please help..

    Thanks
    GOING GREY!!!
     
    kslowinski, Sep 8, 2005
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. If you ran the http://server/connectcomputer wizard it should have given you
    an option to migrate the profile. This does not work if the workstation was
    previously on another domain.

    If the workstation/user was on a previous domain then you can follow these
    steps - they were posted by Harry Brelsford and saved us tons of time doing
    installs:

    User Profile Registry Way
    This method, while slightly more complex, has worked without fail. You can
    retain the complete profile customizations for a PC that was logged into one
    domain and now must be logged into a new one. The method works for both
    Windows 2000 and XP. It has also worked for upgrading SBS 2000 to SBS 2003,
    where it is happening on the same server, meaning that you have to reformat
    the SBS 2000 server and load “freshie,†as you would say, with SBS 2003.
    Here’s how it works:
    1. Once the SBS 2003 server is set up and the computers are set up on the
    server side, log into the client computer and run the http:\\<sbs2003 server
    name>\connectcomputer URL. When that step is completed, log in as the user.
    Then, immediately log off and log on as the domain administrator.
    2. Be sure the domain user account is in the Local Administrator’s group.
    Then open Registry Editor (run REGEDIT at the command line) and navigate to
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\WindowsNT\CurrentVersion\ProfileList.
    You will see a listing for each Security Identifier (SID). Within each SID
    key, you will see an, entry for ProfileImagePath with a path to the user’s
    profile in the form of %SystemDrive%\Documents and Settings\UserName.
    3. The trick is to find the new key that was set up at logon to the SBS 2003
    server and edit the path to refer back to the original profile path. So, for
    example, if you are migrating and changing domains, you want to have a path
    like %SystemDrive% \Documents and Settings\User Name.OldDomain. You then have
    a new SID key with a path like %SystemDrive%\Documents and Settings\User
    Name.NewDomain. You can edit this key and replace NewDomain with OldDomain to
    point to the old profile.

    4. In the case of a server migration within the same domain, you have a path
    to the effect of %SystemDrive%\Documents and Settings\User Name.Domain and
    %SystemDrive%\Documents and Settings\UserName.Domain.000. In this instance,
    you delete the .000 to point back to the original profile.
    However, just editing the registry path is not enough. User settings in the
    registry are stored in the user.dat file for each specific user. Only the
    original user has permissions to that file. You must give the new user
    permissions to the old user.dat. If you don’t do this, the default user
    profile will be used instead of the old one. To set appropriate permissions,
    you must do the following:
    1. Launch REGEDIT from the command line to launch the Registry Editor. From
    the Registry Editor, go to File, Load Hive.
    2. Navigate to the user.dat file of the old user. It’s located in that
    person’s folder under documents and settings. You need to make sure hidden
    files are visible (in Windows Explorer, select Folder Options, View, View
    hidden files and folders).
    3. Once you have loaded the user.dat file as a hive, go to Edit, Permissions
    in Windows XP (or go straight to the Permissions menu in Windows 2000).
    4. Give the new user full permissions to the registry key you have created.
    Once you are done, highlight the registry key and click File, Unload hive.
    5. That’s all there is to it. The new user now has full access to the
    user.dat file.
     
    KKI Technologies, Sep 8, 2005
    #2
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.