My MP3 Player deletes songs if I have deleted them from Windows.

Discussion in 'Windows Media Player' started by MarkHelvie, Jun 6, 2007.

  1. MarkHelvie

    MarkHelvie Guest

    I have a vast library of CDs and I put them all on my computer and then my
    MP3 player. I have to use Windows Media 10 for this specific MP3 player
    though. When I sync the two together, they are perfect, but if I go to
    delete a song off of my computer, it will then delete it off of the MP3
    player the next time I sync them. Is there a way to keep songs on the MP3
    but delete them off the Windows Media? I want to get rid of some of these.
    I have over 300 cd's on my computer right now and it is getting slow!!!!
    Thanks so much.
    Mark
     
    MarkHelvie, Jun 6, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Hi Mark,

    It sounds like you have "autosync" set up for that device. If you do, then
    this is the behavior that will occur. If you want to leave files on your
    device but take them off your computer, you need to disable autosync. To do
    this, right click the device node in WMP and select the "Advanced options"
    item.

    In the new dialog that appears, uncheck the "start sync when device
    connects" box and click OK.

    This will set the player to be in "manual sync" mode, which means you pick
    what comes off and what goes on.

    As a side note, external storage drives are coming way down in price. You
    can get a 250g external drive that connects through a USB port for less than
    $100, that way you don't have to remove content from your computer if you
    don't want to and have the money for the drive. Some online stores have
    them for even less when you figure in rebates.
     
    Mike Poz [MSFT], Jun 6, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.