PPC up to date, but Activesync will only let me combine or replace

Discussion in 'ActiveSync' started by Peteman222, Jul 7, 2004.

  1. Peteman222

    Peteman222 Guest

    I had my PPC syncing fine with all items except notes. Had to create a new pst file as per http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=KB;EN-US;q305544; copied all my data over and notes could sync.

    However, on first sync, Activesync noticed that the databases differed and prompted with "blah blah blah have not been syncronized before, do you want to:
    combine items
    replace items on device with items on the desktop
    do not sync these items at this time"

    I chose "replace items on device" since there were only a couple changes that were overwritten.
    When I synced with my desktop at work, I got the same message, only this time my work PC was up to date, and replacing the device was preferred.

    Now I'm at home again and faced with the same message! Ideally I would like to replace the items on the _desktop_ with those on the device.

    Any suggestions? I was thinking about deleting the partnership, but got burned once before when I had this problem. I deleted everything in Outlook to get the PPC to "combine" (basically overwrite) but ended up delteing everything on the PPC.

    Would this work?
    1. delete the partnership
    2. delete everything in Outlook
    3. sync & create new partnership, and chose "combine the items"

    Any other suggestions??
    Thanks!
     
    Peteman222, Jul 7, 2004
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Peteman222

    Raj Pillai Guest

    Hi,

    If you delete the partnership and then proceed to delete everything in
    Outlook, then you wouldn't have a problem getting the content on your PPC to
    the desktop. However, don't delete the Inbox contents on your computer if
    your Home PC is the one with which Inbox is being synchronized.

    The Inbox synchronization is one-way only (from desktop to PPC). Therefore,
    you would end up having a blank Inbox on your PPC if you delete the messages
    from Inbox of your computer thinking they would get synchronized from the
    PPC.

    After deleting the partnership, delete the other items that you want
    to be replaced.... e.g. Contacts, Calendar etc.. and then create a new
    partnership and choose "Combine the items on my device with the items on
    this computer". You should find all the latest PIM information transferred
    to your computer.

    The best thing to do before proceeding with the steps is to take a backup.
    Either use Activesync backup or the backup utility provided on the PPC
    itself (On the iPAQ its called iPAQ Backup). So that if anything goes
    wrong, then you can always restore the data back.

    Caution: To avoid losing data, be sure to delete the partnership before
    reconnecting your PPC to the computer after deleting the
    contents.
     
    Raj Pillai, Jul 7, 2004
    #2
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.