Remove Public directory after disable Public Folder Sharing

Discussion in 'Windows Vista Networking' started by Joel A, Feb 16, 2007.

  1. Joel A

    Joel A Guest

    I have disabled all sharing in Network and Sharing Center. How can I now
    remove the "Public" folder, now that it's not doing anything, in my Explorer
    directory tree?
     
    Joel A, Feb 16, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Joel A

    Steve Urbach Guest

    does it hurt anything if it is empty?
    do you have multiple users on a single machine?
     
    Steve Urbach, Feb 17, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Joel A

    Joel A Guest

    Does it hurt anything? Just my sense of neatness and order.
    No multiple users, just myself as local admin. (No, don't need lecture on
    why this is naughty : )
     
    Joel A, Feb 17, 2007
    #3
  4. Joel A

    Steve Urbach Guest

    It *is* your computer :)
    Do it your way (if B G will let you).

    IMHO, there may come a time where yo want to let someone else use your
    hardware but no get at personal files (like address book, bookmarks).
    Installing "public" stuff as "shared" and "personal" stuff as you
    only, allows a quick "guest account" activation.
    Way to many machines out there that still use W3x simple directory
    structure with little or no file privacy (tight permissions).
     
    Steve Urbach, Feb 17, 2007
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.