Renaming a DFS target

Discussion in 'File Systems' started by jkf1024, Apr 22, 2008.

  1. jkf1024

    jkf1024 Guest

    We have a DFS between targets at 2 sites, call them \\server1.domain.com\d$
    and \\server2.domain.com\d$. There are several GB of data on d$.

    Server 2 needs to be renamed. Let’s call it Server 3. What are the
    implications regarding replication/synchronization? The data on server2\d$
    will stay the same, only the server name is changing. Can I rename the server
    then go to the DFS console and add the target \\server3.domain.com\d$ and
    then remove the target \\server2.domain.com\d$?

    Or do I need to completely recreate the DFS from scratch? If that is the
    case, will a full resynchronization occur? Will it generate a significant
    amount of traffic? Is there a better way to do this?

    Thanks for any advice here.
     
    jkf1024, Apr 22, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. jkf1024

    Rudolf Meier Guest

    Hi
    Well, I think you have to do it almost like you described it. But I'd
    recommend to first remove the old target and then rename the server and add
    the "new" target... and if you want to prevent that your replication set is
    deleted, you could stop the replication by not allowing replication at any
    time (timetable for replication), then add a share on a 3. server and at the
    end (after renaming and adding your first server again) remove this 3.
    server again.
    And the replication will then behave like if you added a new and until then
    unknown server. So, in a way there will be a "full resynchronization", but
    DFS-R is fast and does only compare the files instead of completely
    re-transfer them. So, it shouldn't take that long. When I moved files from
    one server to an other it didn't run very long for about 30k files and 80 GB
    (at least it took less than 5 hours, that's all I can say and ... well, it
    worked without problems).

    I hope this helps...

    Rudolf
     
    Rudolf Meier, Apr 24, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. jkf1024

    DaveMills Guest

    I think I would
    a) disable referral to server2
    b) remove the replication group
    c) wait for the message in event log saying that replication group had be
    removed and it was safe to delete server 2
    d) rename the server
    e) add the new link and enable replication.
    Let DFS replication resolve to duplication issues. Hopefully it will do this OK

    Test on a small data set.

    Above all do NOT delete the replication target folder content before the event
    log says it is safe to do so or you may find both replication partners do the
    delete and zip goes all the data.
     
    DaveMills, Apr 28, 2008
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.