Restore failure despite multiple restore points tried

Discussion in 'Windows Vista Performance' started by toni, Sep 28, 2007.

  1. toni

    toni Guest

    I bought my own laptop and wanted to transfer just my personal settings and
    favorites from my work laptop, so I did an Advanced Windows Easy Transfer,
    selecting only my personal settings. Somehow, it picked up at least a few
    corporate settings as well and installed them on my new personal laptop (like
    the initial corporate network disclaimer that you have to agree to before
    logging on). Since the Easy Transfer can't be undone, I backed up everything
    I wanted on a USB flashdrive and deleted everything else and tried to do a
    system restore. I've tried half a dozen times from every restore point
    (starting with the first - "Install: Norton Internet Security post
    configuration restore point"). It has failed every single time with the
    message: "System Restore did not complete successfully. Your system files and
    settings were not changed...Details: An unspecified error occurred during
    system restore." Anyone have any ideas on how to complete a system restore
    when it doesn't even give a reasonable explanation about what failed? Or how
    to eliminate the corporate shadows I accidentally Easy Transfer'd?
     
    toni, Sep 28, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. toni

    Malke Guest

    1. Do you have any Symantec products installed? If yes, see:
    http://bertk.mvps.org/html/symantecdoc1.html

    2. Other links for System Restore help:

    System Restore - Error Messages in Vista -
    http://bertk.mvps.org/html/eerrormsgsv.html
    System Restore forum on AumHa.net - http://aumha.net/viewforum.php?f=54

    3. When you transferred the settings from your domain user account, they
    came with all the restrictions applied to that account by the domain
    administrator. That was your mistake - you should have just copied over
    the data and Favorites, not the settings. Since this is a new laptop, I
    think the cleanest and most efficient thing to do would to be restore
    the laptop to factory condition and start over, this time giving the
    Easy Transfer a miss. Just use a USB thumb drive or a burned CD/DVD-R to
    copy over your data files and your Favorites from work. Of course, you
    may wish to try the System Restore route instead and that's your choice.
    In that case, I'd suggest posting to the AumHA forum.


    Malke
     
    Malke, Sep 28, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.