Shortcuts to all user shares on one user's desktop

Discussion in 'Windows Small Business Server' started by Jim G, Jun 5, 2007.

  1. Jim G

    Jim G Guest

    I don't know what I did, but shortcuts to all user's shared folders
    (//servername/users/) now appears on the desktop of one user. All of these
    folders and files sync when this user logs on and off. This takes a bit of
    time. These are more than shortcuts. If I delete the shortcut icon from the
    desktop, the folder and files on the server are deleted. Very strange.

    About the only change I made was to add a Vista laptop to the domain and
    fool around with GPO folder redirection on the laptop as a workaround to the
    incompatibility of XP vs. Vista user profiles. I reset the GPO's but the
    user folders are still synch'd. I don't think the Vista GPO thing is the
    issue.

    I'm tempted to delete this user's (roaming) profile from all workstations
    and from the server. However, I'd prefer to first understand what's going on
    so I can fix this issue correctly and avoid it in the future.

    Jim G.
    SBS 2003 R2 SP2, ISA 2004, Trend Micro
     
    Jim G, Jun 5, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. This is more of a Vista Issue than SBS but,

    First I hope it's not Synchronizing ALL users Folders and only His?
    If all users folders are synchronized you have some permissions problems.

    Second if you open up synchronization Manager
    In run Put mobsync and it will bring up teh Syncronization Manager.
    Turn off Syncronization for that folder.


    You say these are more than Shortcuts?
    are they the Shortcut Icon?

    Anyway, be careful what you do
    Russ

    --

    Russell Grover
    SBITS.Biz
    Microsoft Certified Small Business Specialist.
    MCP, MCPS, MCNPS, (MCP-SBS)
    support @ SBITS.Biz
    Remote SBS2003 Support
    http://www.SBITS.Biz
     
    Russ Grover \(SBITS.Biz\), Jun 5, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Jim G

    Jim G Guest

    Thanks Russ,

    Yes. All user's folders/files appear on one user's desktop. Luckily there
    are only a handful of users!

    The shortcuts appear on her XP SP2 workstation, not on the Vista laptop. She
    did log onto the Vista laptop, but the same shortcuts that appear on the XP
    desktop do not appear on the Vista desktop.

    I can't access it right now, but I think the icons are the yellow folder
    icon with the link arrow in the lower corner. They look like normal
    shortcuts, but they sync, and if I delete an icon, it removes files from the
    server ... that I have to restore from backup.

    I'll look in the Sync Manager.

    Jim G.
     
    Jim G, Jun 5, 2007
    #3
  4. Well a user Should NOT! be able to access another Users Folder
    \\Server\users\User\UsersDocuments\

    Unless some Permissions have been changed.

    Removing a Sync Folder is a Pain, I can't remember how right now
    But Check the Sync Manager and turn off that folder from syncing.

    I'd probably want to do something about Permissions on users folders
    But If everyone knows about it, and they are ok about it,
    then it's ok I guess.

    Russ

    --

    Russell Grover
    SBITS.Biz
    Microsoft Certified Small Business Specialist.
    MCP, MCPS, MCNPS, (MCP-SBS)
    support @ SBITS.Biz
    Remote SBS2003 Support
    http://www.SBITS.Biz
     
    Russ Grover \(SBITS.Biz\), Jun 5, 2007
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.