"Temporary User Profile" always loads!

Discussion in 'Windows Vista Administration' started by katie88, Apr 15, 2010.

  1. katie88

    katie88 Guest

    Please please can someone help me with this??

    The problem started when I decided to do a reboot after installing som
    programs.
    Since then whenever I log on it takes ages displaying the "welcome
    message, then comes up with the dreaded "preparing your desktop
    message. It then loads a "temporary user profile" and says that an
    changes made while logged on to this profile will be lost afterwards
    and to check the event log or contact the network administrator.

    I've read heaps about this problem happening to people with vista an
    windows 7 (I have vista home ed). It's supposed to be due to
    corrupted profile, and so if you delete the profile in the "regedit
    thing it's supposed to fix itself. Others have also suggested creatin
    a new account and transferring everything.

    I have tried countless restarts, restoring the system, deleting th
    user profile (all my stuff is now fully backed up) and creating ne
    accounts. None of it works - a temporary profile still loads from
    newly created account, and even in safe mode and from the built i
    administrator account.

    I'm at a total loss as to what to do!!
    I use my computer every day for work so you can hopefully imagine ho
    frustrating this is!

    I would be so grateful if someone had an answer!!
    Thank
     
    katie88, Apr 15, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Verify the permissions on the profile directory.

    John
     
    John John - MVP, Apr 17, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. katie88

    howard Guest

    katie88 wrote on 04/15/2010 10:47 ET
    I had the same, every time I logged into WINDOWS 7, it did a temporary profil
    and reload fresh everytime. Turns out my DOMAIN LOGIN included

    The MS support tech got back to us after we provided the login monitor trac
    info to him

    He shows that you are a member of a group named, “Domain Guests”.
    The logs show that when a member of this group the profile gets purged afte
    logging out

    Removed the group "Domain Guests" from my login and now i
    remember
    me
    Didn't happen on XP, just on Windows 7.
     
    howard, Feb 3, 2011
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.