Vista Blocking Shared System Drive when in WinXP (Dual Boot System)

Discussion in 'Windows Vista Security' started by ThommyG, Jul 21, 2006.

  1. ThommyG

    ThommyG Guest

    I installed Vista on my the E drive of my system, creating a dual boot with
    WinXP SP2 on the first partition (logical C drive) and Vista on the second
    partition (logical E drive). Prior to installing Vista, I used the E drive
    as my shared drive. Following Vista installation, I find the E drive can
    no longer be accessed.

    Looking at the Shared Folders/Shares from WinXP MMC, I find there is a new
    "user" S-1-5-956008885-..." which is shown under Users or Groups along
    with Administrator, Creator Owner, System, and Users (in Shares).

    Any ideas?

    ThommyG
     
    ThommyG, Jul 21, 2006
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. ThommyG

    Jo Guest

    I've found Vista doesn't allow access to parts of its drive from other os's,
    so I don't think it is a good idea to install it on a drive you want to share
    between two os's. Vista's security is pretty tight. I assume you meant you
    couldn't access the e drive from your other operating system.
     
    Jo, Jul 21, 2006
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. ThommyG

    ThommyG Guest

    Actually I can get to the drive from my console, but I can't get to it from
    other PCs on the network (as I had been doing). If I uninstall Vista, do you
    expect the drive access will be restored?

    ThommyG
     
    ThommyG, Jul 21, 2006
    #3
  4. ThommyG

    Fernando Guest

    Check the file and folder permissions, not the sharing permissions. May
    be Vista had changed some permissions and you need to re-enable the
    user's permissions on files and folders.

    Anyway, as Jo said, use a different drive or partition than the OS to
    use as shared.

    Fernando

    ThommyG escribió:
     
    Fernando, Jul 21, 2006
    #4
  5. I'm curious how you anticipate "uninstalling" Vista. The only way to
    uninstall an operating system that I am aware of is to either delete or
    reformat the partition. So, if that is your plan, yes, after reformatting
    the partition that currently is being used by Vista, you will have access to
    the partition from other parts of the network.
     
    Mark D. VandenBeg, Jul 22, 2006
    #5
  6. ThommyG

    pippin Guest

    I am curious too but don't seean option on forum 'watch this post'
     
    pippin, Jul 22, 2006
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.