Vista Complete Backup - First Complete Backup

Discussion in 'Windows Vista General Discussion' started by Tim, Mar 14, 2008.

  1. Tim

    Tim Guest

    Does anyone know how to reset the Vista backup routine in order to force it
    to do a fresh complete backup? My problem is detailed below...

    I've used Complete PC Backup to backup / restore various new customer
    installs. The way I understand it is that the first time it's run it backs
    up ALL the data on the selected partition(s) to the backup media, then
    subsequent backups are incremental and smaller in size.

    I've just finished rebuilding a Vista machine and want to make a complete
    (i.e. not incremental) backup of it. 52Gb of space has been used for data on
    the C: drive, but when I attempt to make a complete backup it says that
    previous backups have been detected and it will only backup the differences.
    The backup file created is only 26Gb.

    There are no other backups on the system as the backup device (ext USB2 HDD)
    has been reformatted. I'm guessing that if I attempted to restore, the
    routine would try to find a previous complete backup that no longer exists
    and fail. The only way I can test it would be to attempt a restore which I
    cannot risk.

    There must be a hidden file somewhere that records previous backups. If I
    can reset this I could make a full 52Gb backup.

    Any advice would be greaty appreciated.
     
    Tim, Mar 14, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Not sure you are saying what you have done. You open "Backup Status and
    Configuration", highlight "Complete PC Backup" and it doesn't tell you the
    location of the last successful backup, and where it is?
    There are setting available during a backup that let you set the interval
    between "Complete" backups.

    --
    Was this helpful? Then click the Ratings button. Voting helps the web
    interface.
    http://www.microsoft.com/wn3/locales/help/help_en-us.htm#RateAPostAsAnswer
    Mark L. Ferguson
    ..
     
    Mark L. Ferguson, Mar 14, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Tim

    Tim Guest

    Mark,

    Thanks for your prompt reply and my apologies for taking so long to get back
    to you.

    I open "Backup Status and Configuration", select "Complete PC Backup",
    select the external USB HDD as backup media, then the system says that a
    previous backup exists and "only the differences will be saved".

    The problem is that there is no previous backup (as the exernal USB HDD has
    been reformatted). I want everything on the C: partition to be backed up not
    just "the differences".

    You say that "There are setting available during a backup that let you set
    the interval between Complete backups", but I don't see any options. It
    just launches straight into the backup and creates a backup directory of 26Gb
    (clearly not a complete backup as 52Gb of space is used on the C: drive.

    I need to make a genuine "complete" backup.

    I'm using Vista Business.

    Thanks again,
    Tim
     
    Tim, Mar 14, 2008
    #3
  4. I think your problem is centered around the 'write caching' setting for this
    removable drive. (Disk Properties, Policies tab.) I would suspect this is
    set to use write caching to speed the drive, and the drive was removed
    without using the "Safely Remove hardware" icon in the Notifications area.

    --
    Was this helpful? Then click the Ratings button. Voting helps the web
    interface.
    http://www.microsoft.com/wn3/locales/help/help_en-us.htm#RateAPostAsAnswer
    Mark L. Ferguson
    ..
     
    Mark L. Ferguson, Mar 14, 2008
    #4
  5. Tim

    Tim Guest

    In "Properties" - "Policies" - "Write Caching and Removal", the option
    selected is "Optomize for quick removal" which apparently disables write
    caching on the disk.

    I suspect the only way to get to the bottom of this will be to get hold of
    another disk and attempt a restore. I'll update the post with the results as
    soon as I can get hold of another disk.

    Thanks for taking the time to advise.

    Tim
     
    Tim, Mar 15, 2008
    #5
  6. I'm out of suggestions. My only thought at this point is a wild hack,
    changing the date after disabling the online time setting. Move the date to
    the day more than 30 days from the last new backup, make a backup, Of
    course, if you restored, you would have to move the BIOS time up while
    restoring, but I think that might workaround this blank drive problem. I
    really don't know how a restored system would work with a date conflict like
    that. ( but a total system backup DOES let you pick partial data out of it.)

    --
    Was this helpful? Then click the Ratings button. Voting helps the web
    interface.
    http://www.microsoft.com/wn3/locales/help/help_en-us.htm#RateAPostAsAnswer
    Mark L. Ferguson
    ..
     
    Mark L. Ferguson, Mar 15, 2008
    #6
  7. Tim

    bp Guest

    The problem is a poorly written app. If you are telling it to do a new save
    then DAMN it it should do a new full save. I could understand it telling you
    it found a previous backup but it should then ask you if your sure you want
    to do a new backup . If you say yes then at that point it should delete old
    backup and make new...duh

    Who wrote that POS?
    It doesn't compress file either unless you are using DVD media. WTF?

    Do yourself a favor and pick up Acronis or Ghost 14 both work great and do
    what you tell them to do.
     
    bp, Mar 15, 2008
    #7
  8. Tim

    sushilbaid Guest

    Hi Tim,

    since the backup is deleted out of band - it is still recorded in the
    backup catalog. this is because the application still displays the text
    which is incorrect.

    first - it will be fall back to full backup if the previous version is
    not available on the backup location. it is only the ui giving wrong
    warning as i mentioned above.

    if you want application to forget *all* the old backups - you can
    launch an elevated command prompt. type commandline --
    wbadmin delete catalog
    ... this will clear the all the old backups data from the backup
    catalog. after that ui will not show the incorrect message.

    HTH,
    sushil baid [MSFT]
     
    sushilbaid, Mar 18, 2008
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.