Vista offline sync deleted users offline files. Any suggestions?

Discussion in 'Windows Vista File Management' started by Mike, Jul 18, 2007.

  1. Mike

    Mike Guest

    Our My documents redirect server was setup improperly. The folder
    structure was chaotic and the permissions were all over the place.
    Some folders were viewable by any one and some were locked down so
    tight I couldn't back them up properly.

    I took the server offline, cleaned up the folder paths and
    permissions. Modified the gpo's to point to the updated paths. It
    was the same server, just different path. That is the only thing I
    changed in the GPO.

    We have several Vista users that worked offline during this time.
    When the server came back online their offline changes were deleted.
    This happened to several (maybe all) Vista users who modified files
    while offline.

    So,does anyone have any advice on correcting this? I just can't see
    why it would delete these files. That is just downright dangerous.

    -a little frustrated. Just had to tell 2 users they lost a weeks
    worth of work.
     
    Mike, Jul 18, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.