Vista Ultimate looses user profile after domain join

Discussion in 'Windows Vista Administration' started by Christian Wirth, Mar 16, 2007.

  1. Dear newsgroup,

    strange thing about Vista Ultimate: After booking a Hewlett Packard TC 4400
    notebook to a domain it looses the user profile information after every
    restart.
    The domain user was booked into the local admin group but nothing changed.

    I tried this already some time ago with a Hewlett Packard NC 6400 notebook
    where exactly the same happend.

    This time I used a 100% fresh installation without any HP drivers with the
    same problem.

    Can anybody point in the right direction?

    I found a different thread in this newsgroup where the problem was but
    nobody could help here.

    Regards,

    Christian Wirth
     
    Christian Wirth, Mar 16, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. What user profile information, specifically? Do you mean the
    information in SAM?
     
    Justin Brown - SYNACS, Mar 16, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Vista does not remeber the user's settings. Outlook has to reconfigured at
    every start, favorites are missing, desktop symbols are gone....
     
    Christian Wirth, Mar 16, 2007
    #3
  4. It sounds like the user profile in question is either read only, or is
    a so-called mandatory user profile. Is there a hidden file called
    NTUSER.MAN in the "C:\documents and settings\username" path?
     
    Justin Brown - SYNACS, Mar 16, 2007
    #4
  5. It sounds like the user profile in question is either read only, or is

    No,the directory in which the user profile is stored is completly empty.
    There is not one single file stored in there although the user is domain
    admin and local workstation admin.

    Profiles are created like that:

    username
    username.domain
    username.000
    username.001
    ....
     
    Christian Wirth, Mar 17, 2007
    #5
  6. It sounds like there is something off kilter with file permissions on
    the Documents and Settings folder. If you right click that folder,
    select properties, and select the Security tab, what do you see listed
    there?
     
    Justin Brown - SYNACS, Mar 17, 2007
    #6
  7. Properties show everything OK (Full Permission vor User) . As I tried this
    on several PCs could it not be more related to the server?

    regards,

    Christian
     
    Christian Wirth, Mar 18, 2007
    #7
  8. Christian Wirth

    HS Guest

    when login to a vista machine, user profiles are not pulled from the regular
    profile folder. what happens is that a second profile folder is created on
    the server when logged in from a vista machine. the folder name should be
    'username V2', which means if your username is 'cwirth', it would be 'cwirth
    V2 for vista machine.
    you can copy the regular profile content to the new vista profile folder to
    get most things to work with vista. there are couple ways to copy it, ask
    your network admin to copy it on the server or transfer it with a stick from
    a xp box to vista box. good luck.
     
    HS, Mar 19, 2007
    #8
  9. I have exactly the same problem with nx7400 HP notebook, VISTA
    Bussines 64bit, i looked to the event viewer and there are
    informations about problems with winlogon and problems with write
    informations to registry.
    Users added locally works OK, all fom domain looses profile after
    logout.
    Wonder thing is that vista remeber user name and if i login and i
    delete something to the Recycle Bin, after next login profil is lost
    except contain of Recycle Bin :))))

    madness :)
    Did anyone resolve it??

    Greet Kris
     
    kris.krzysiek, Apr 23, 2007
    #9
  10. Christian Wirth

    Changedstate Guest

    i am having exactly the same problem..... i took delivery of a new machine
    with ultimate installed on thursday, spent all day setting it up adding
    software and copying files to my documents etc etc etc

    monday morning i turn on the machine to get a completely new profile... all
    my documents are empty, all the software settings and personalising is
    gone... outlook is as new again etc etc..

    i have done a complete re format, and reinstall and again the same
    happens.... i am also getting username.000 .001 .002 blah blah

    dell tell me a load of rubbish about solutions and how they dont support
    networking and so on... so far i have lost a pile of files, and spent 2 1/2
    days trying to set up a machine that should really take 1/2 a day!!

    HELPPP!!!!!
     
    Changedstate, Apr 23, 2007
    #10
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.