Win2k8 install killed dns domain

Discussion in 'DNS Server' started by Bonno Bloksma, Jun 24, 2009.

  1. Hi,

    I had one tio.nl zone internaly with two sub domains for staff and student.
    The student part was not aWindows domain yet, the staff domain and tio.nl
    domain were already windows domains.

    Today I created the student.tio.nl Windows domain using dcpromo on a Windows
    2008 server. To my amazement the installation killed my student.tio.nl
    domain in the original tio.nl zone and created a link to a new
    student.tio.nl zone hosted on the new Windows 2008 server.

    Was this because I finally agreed the have the new server also becoming a
    dns server?
    I wanted this as I am going to transfer all dns servers to the new domein
    later this year.
    I don't even realy mind it being a new zone as it will be hosted on the same
    dns servers but... I have lost all information in the old student.tio.nl
    domain. :-( The new zone on the new dns server did NOT transfer the
    information so for instance all MX records etc are gone.

    As I am fully aware of what zones, domains, etc are both in dns and in
    Windows I was highly surprised when this happened. I have read every screen
    carefully before agreeing to the setup.
    I am a both a Win2k and 2k3 MCSE and studying for 2k8.
    Of course in my study/testing I did not have a 2/3 operational network with
    Windows 2003 servers where I needed to add one new domain with a Win2k8
    server. :-(

    1) Can I simply undo what was done and get the old dns zone information
    about the student.tio.nl domain in the original zone back?
    All zones are AD integrated. The are no files in the
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\dns\backup directory
    2) Which option did I select that made the Win2k8 dcpromo command kill the
    original zone?

    Bonno Bloksma
     
    Bonno Bloksma, Jun 24, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Hi,

    Does no one know what happened?
     
    Bonno Bloksma, Jul 1, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Bonno Bloksma

    Chris Dent Guest

    1. You would have to perform a restore on one of your domain controllers
    (of the DNS tree, depending on which replication scope you had set).

    No other record of it exists (allowing you to avoid the restore)?

    Setup creating the delegation would have done a good job of trashing it
    in the meantime.

    2. Hmm I forget if it even asks you. I was moderately sure there was an
    advanced / "leave DNS alone, I'll do it myself" option.

    If you have the DCPromo do it all for you it does tend to run roughshod
    over everything you might have put in place yourself.

    Chris
     
    Chris Dent, Jul 10, 2009
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.