XP/Vista Folder Delete/Rename Conflicts

Discussion in 'Windows Vista File Management' started by 82 'Clone, Apr 17, 2007.

  1. 82 'Clone

    82 'Clone Guest

    I'm running two PCs, one with Win XP Pro and one with Vista. Both connect to
    my department's LAN.

    When I delete or rename a folder on a network drive, using Win XP Windows
    Explorer, the procedure appears to work correctly according to XP.

    When I view the same network drive using Vista's Windows Explorer, deleted
    folders reappear and renamed folders appear under both their original and new
    names.

    The phantom folders can't be deleted. Most files in the phantom folders
    can't be either opened or deleted, although some can.

    When I delete a "live" folder using Vista's Windows explorer, the folder
    doesn't reappear. The phantom reappearance only happens when I delete using
    XP.

    Any clues?
     
    82 'Clone, Apr 17, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. 82 'Clone

    ejm Guest

    No real help from me--just wanted to let you know you're not alone. I'm
    having the exact same problem...the deleted files appear on the Vista machine
    with an icon containing a gray X. The only thing I've managed to find is
    that, when I access the Vista drive using it's IP address, things are fine,
    except that I can't do any moving or copying between drives (permissions
    issues).
     
    ejm, Apr 19, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. 82 'Clone

    ejm Guest

    I found the answer! It's happening because Vista has Offline Files enabled by
    default, which means that Vista keeps a local copy of files on a network
    drive. Offline Files works in conjunction with the Sync Center to get the
    network files. On my machine, I discovered Offline Files and the Sync Center
    AFTER the machines had synchronized and turned both off. But, the Vista
    machine was keeping the old copy of Offline files.

    To solve the problem, I turned on Offline Files again and enabled the Sync
    Center, but I didn't sync. Instead, I deleted everything listed in the
    Offline Files folder, rebooted, and turned off Offline Files and the Sync
    Center again. Now things update properly.

    On the Windows Start menu, search for Offline Files--that opens the dialog
    where you can enable or disable Offline Files & the Sync Center.

    Hope this helps you.
     
    ejm, Apr 20, 2007
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.